Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saginaw High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 05, 2016
- a student
See my previous answer. No, they do not, and do not know how to. Too populated and under-staffed in members with knowledge of nuanced symptoms in demonstration.

Saginaw High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 05, 2016
- a student
Too populated, and the staff don't know enough about their students on an individual level, and do not know how get through to their students other than spewing platitudes all over the walls and bouncing empty rhetoric from and into their heads.


Saginaw High School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a student
I play sports and attend this school and i believe that this school is clean and cares about the students there. The students that attend this school have so much support of their school. You will see a lot of students in one section cheering on their team. I love it there and so does everyone else

Saginaw High School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
The faculty care about the students' success. The principal knows his staff and makes every effort to get to know the students. There are few indications of "cliques" within the student body. There is something for everyone. My son loves it there and he has done far better here than at any other school I've had him in.

Saginaw High School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
The faculty shows enthusiasm toward learning and are very adept at instructing the students. The principal (Dr. Priddy) allows students the freedom to express themselves. It's a great learning environment. Parental involvement seems good but could be better.


Saginaw High School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
The principal (Dr. Priddy) allows the students to express themselves which is refreshing given the strict "stay-in-the-box" philosophy of the administration of Highland Middle School. Students at Saginaw High are expected to conduct themselves more as adults than children and those expectations appear to go a long way toward that goal. Academically, SHS challenges my Honor Society student, but also offers courses more suited for those who plan on a career straight out of highs school and who have no intention of heading off to college. The student body is diverse which allows each student to interact and learn about cultures that differ from his/her own. This is a major reason why I find public schools superior to any private school where student bodies generally share similar traits such as ethnicity and/or income. SHS offers an abundance of extracurricular activities, including a two-time state champion gymnastics program. There is something for everyone so there is no reason for a student to feel excluded from being a part of the school. The staff genuinely care about the students' welfare and academic progress.

Saginaw High School 4

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
I have/had two children attend SHS. My daughter had several issues that needed attention and I have very little complaint about how they were handled except that I wish they had a system in place for kids who are very far behind in their studies (she had moved back to live with us after a long stay with her other parent). The staff tried very hard to help her in other ways and went out of their way several times. My son has had a very positive experience thus far (just completed 9th grade). He's on the football team and I have rave reviews for how the coaches push them to do their best while helping them to be the best young men they can be. He liked most of his teachers and almost all were very good at what they do (isn't that the same everywhere?). :)

Saginaw High School 1

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
Unsafe campus. Students do not learn anything well,. They throw too much information at the students at once and do not thoroughly teach them anything...thanks to standardized testing! Students not involved in band or athletics are completely disenfranchised.


Saginaw High School 3

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
My son attended Saginaw High School and was a member of the band. He thoroughly enjoyed his time there. He received good grades and I was happy with the level of communication with his teachers.

Saginaw High School 4

Posted July 06, 2011
- a community member
I have attended functions at this school for Band and other activities. I found found this school to be exceptionally clean and welcoming. I think their cirriculum is very broad and offers a vast amount of extra school activities.

Nearby schools

Saginaw High School
800 North Blue Mound Road, Saginaw, TX  76131
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (817) 306-0914
Last modified Saginaw High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top