Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
San Angelo, TX
Students enrolled: 72
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ambleside School of San Angelo 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
after many inpropriaties we realized this school was not a good choice when responses were lacking in many regards. using greatschools reviews in choosing this school, we didnt realize only recommended reviews were posted or rather biased for only the better. seems misleading or rather deceptive to hide honest experiences.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a teacher
Ambleside School of San Angelo has an amazing Christian atmosphere that feels like home for the students. Children want to come to school because they love the learning and take joy in discovering great ideas through living books. The kind and caring staff walk hand-in-hand with parents to cooperatively bring up a child in the way that they should go. Call us for a tour today...make the choice for a decidedly different education for your child.


Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
Ambleside School of San Angelo is truly unique in its philosophy and methodology. I had all but given up on primary education until I saw what was happening at this amazing school. The Charlotte Mason philosophy is based in every child being seen as a person, deserving a rich education filled with living ideas, art, music, Bible, language, field study, strings, and a strong core curriculum in literature, history, math and science. The goal is to have students love learning and Ambleside students do just that. They also build real and lasting relationships with each other. Most of these things cannot be found in the public school system anymore, and are a priceless commodity for any parent. The twice yearly, teacher designed essay style examinations are a true reflection of the great ideas the students have learned in a semester. The field studies (trips) are designed for student learning in the curriculum they are studying. Children at Ambleside truly love to learn the great ideas placed before them in a safe Christian environment.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Ambleside is the BEST private school available to students in the San Angelo area. The teachers are of the highest quality and utilize the advanced curriculum to the students' benefit. My children are loved and will be prepared for anything the future holds.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a teacher
Ambleside School of San Angelo is a fully accredited, Christian school that uses the Charlotte Mason philosophy of education. Parents are actively involved in a partnership with teachers in connecting their children to timeless ideas through the use of great texts in a broad, deep curriculum. The school's peaceful atmosphere is conducive to children's learning, and a mutual respect between students and staff ensure a healthy caring environment. The school is evaluated annually by Ambleside Schools International, and its students' lowest average national test scores (Stanford Intermediate Testing) at the end of sixth grade are 3.5 grade levels above grade level (over the past 4 years). If you are looking for a unique Christ-centered school that has not taken the arts and music out of a rigorous and meaningful education for your child, Ambleside school is the only place in San Angelo for you. Deep concentration on the core subjects with the added benefits of foreign language, music, strings, art, artist study, composer study, poet study, nature study, handwork, community service, and field studies for all grade levels, Ambleside School of San Angelo is worth checking out.


Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
I consider myself extremely lucky to be the parent of an Ambleside student. The environment encourages the love of learning. I know that my son is in the best possible place every day. He has developed a positive attitude towards learning and truly misses school on the weekends. I know that my son's teacher cares about him as an individual. The entire staff, including the principal, are remarkable human beings. Academically, you won't find higher standards. I work in the public school system and see my son far exceeding the public school students in all subject areas. The attention that Ambleside pays to the arts is amazing. Many public schools have neglected art and music with the increased focus on standardized testing. Each month I make a sacrifice to pay his tuition. You do not have to be wealthy to be accepted and loved at Ambleside. If you are looking for a better option, go see them. The difference is obvious.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
Ambleside School of San Angelo, Texas is a school where students are able to be themselves, to achieve their highest aspirations and to still be able to study in a Godly environment. I would recommend this school for anyone that would like an excellent education for their children and not be influenced by the world.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
The first day of 7th grade my son said, " That was actually the best day ever. I actually liked it and it was fun." On the fifth day of school he said, "My brain is tired from trying to get all of the knowledge." We have been here at Ambleside since Kindergarten. We love this school, the teachers, and the administration. Teaching to my child's heart.....what could be better? He is growing as a whole person, in which one day will serve him quite well. He will be ready for college both academically and socially.


Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
We love the Ambleside of San Angelo. It is a wonderful school full of great teachers who truly care for students. They teach the whole child and while the challenging academics are important, so is instructing children in habits of kindness and respect. The school strives to instill positive character habits which is something all children must master in order to succeed. They read classic literature. It is NOT just reading books for points. Children fall in love with reading because of rich characters and compelling story lines of the books chosen. The school has an outstanding arts program and children learn violin. Please stop by, tour it, and see! Once you do, you won't want your child anywhere else.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
A superb education with character molding- Ambleside School is like homeschooling only not in Your Home. I especially enjoy ready the rich literature in their original works along with my children San Angelo is blessed to have this SUPERB EDUCATION offered in this town. I encourage Everyone to just go visit the school and you will see for yourself !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ambleside School of San Angelo
511 West Harris Avenue, San Angelo, TX  76903
(325) 659-1654
Last modified Ambleside School of San Angelo is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Ambleside School of San Angelo Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top