Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
85 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ambleside School of San Angelo
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
To Mr. Chris Sloan, Head of School. Thank you for your countless hours of hard work, sweat and tears. Your leadership and support has greatly benefited our school and its students.

Ambleside School of San Angelo
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
Homework is developmentally appropriate based on the age of the students. Kids are given ample play time in the early grades.


Ambleside School of San Angelo
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
Student learn to recite bible passages, poems and other literary pieces on a weekly basis. If a student does not succeed on their first attempt they are given a couple of days more to practice before another attempt. In this way, failure is not an option. Persistence and determination are valued over the initial results.

Ambleside School of San Angelo
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
One of the habits of virtue pursued at Ambleside is: Respect & Reverence -For parents -For teachers -For the elderly -For those in authority. This begins with a focus on language—words both written and spoken. Children learn from varied classical literary sources — Plutarch, the King James Bible, Shakespeare, Pilgrims’s Progress — as well as poetry, art, and music. Children are taught to narrate school lessons, in an educational method rooted in classical rhetoric and prescribed by Erasmus.

Ambleside School of San Angelo
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
Below is a partial list of some habits that Charlotte Mason thought should be encouraged in children. Ambleside School's teachers place daily focus on developing these habits in students: Cleanliness (face, hands, clothes, & belongings) Courtesy/Good Manners/Politeness (in speech, in different situations, etc.) Kindness/Respect Candor Courage (“True courage-daring to do and defend right”) Diligence Fortitude Generosity Gentleness Meekness Patience Temperance Thrift Attention Memorizing Observation Perfect Execution/Thoroughness Remembering Accuracy Concentration Integrity (priorities, finishing, use of time, borrowed property) Obedience Personal Initiative Self-Control Sweet, Even Temper Truthfulness Health Managing One’s Own Body Music Outdoor Life Self-Control in Emergencies Self-Discipline in Habits Self-Restraint in Indulgences Regularity in Devotions (prayer, reading the Bible, praise) Reverent Attitude Sunday-Keeping Thanksgiving


Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted March 17, 2016
- a community member
I have two children attending Ambleside School of San Angelo. I never imagined sending my kids to a private school. However, after attending kinder in a public school it became my mission to find a better alternative for my oldest son. At Ambleside, my kids are coming to love to learning while receiving a rich and rigorous curriculum. A big focus in early grades is the development of lifelong healthy habits that support learning and success later in life. The atmosphere supports real growth rather than fostering stress, while the teachers and school center on Christ. Among private schools, Ambleside is priced below many competitors while providing superior teacher-student ratios. Parent participation is expected, but fundraisers are only held twice a year - not every few weeks like at other schools. School administration also does a good job communicating with parents on a weekly basis; in addition to the typical parent teacher interactions. Charlotte Mason was an English author, philosopher and educator. Her educational philosophy is the basis for the instructional method at Ambleside. This school focuses on her educational principles which are best summarized as, "Children are born Persons and Education is an Atmosphere, a Discipline, and a Life."

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a community member
I attended Ambleside from 2003-2007 and it was one of the most enriching educational experiences of my life. The small class size and analytical evaluation of the written word fosters a love of learning that is rare in today's society. The teachers constantly encourage students to take a hold of their education and make it an experience of their own in order to foster their own dreams for the future. The curriculum embraced the classics and made scholarly writing second nature for students. In fact, there was rarely a piece of literature assigned in high school or college that I had not read during my time at Ambleside. Most importantly, the environment at Ambleside engendered the development of the student-citizen in the truest sense of the phrase--an informed, well-rounded member of society determined leave his or her community in a better state than he or she found it. I recently completed my first semester at one of the nation's top law schools and much of my success is a consequence of my experiences at Ambleside. I would highly recommend the Charlotte Mason philosophy to anyone who asked.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
after many inpropriaties we realized this school was not a good choice when responses were lacking in many regards. using greatschools reviews in choosing this school, we didnt realize only recommended reviews were posted or rather biased for only the better. seems misleading or rather deceptive to hide honest experiences.


Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a teacher
Ambleside School of San Angelo has an amazing Christian atmosphere that feels like home for the students. Children want to come to school because they love the learning and take joy in discovering great ideas through living books. The kind and caring staff walk hand-in-hand with parents to cooperatively bring up a child in the way that they should go. Call us for a tour today...make the choice for a decidedly different education for your child.

Ambleside School of San Angelo 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
Ambleside School of San Angelo is truly unique in its philosophy and methodology. I had all but given up on primary education until I saw what was happening at this amazing school. The Charlotte Mason philosophy is based in every child being seen as a person, deserving a rich education filled with living ideas, art, music, Bible, language, field study, strings, and a strong core curriculum in literature, history, math and science. The goal is to have students love learning and Ambleside students do just that. They also build real and lasting relationships with each other. Most of these things cannot be found in the public school system anymore, and are a priceless commodity for any parent. The twice yearly, teacher designed essay style examinations are a true reflection of the great ideas the students have learned in a semester. The field studies (trips) are designed for student learning in the curriculum they are studying. Children at Ambleside truly love to learn the great ideas placed before them in a safe Christian environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ambleside School of San Angelo
511 West Harris Avenue, San Angelo, TX  76903
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (325) 659-1654
Last modified Ambleside School of San Angelo is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top