Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ott Elementary School 1

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
Difficult Principal. Has a reputation for lying. Daughter's one and only recess was the last 20 min of the school day. Staff constantly had the kids partake in "silent" lunches. And the teachers put way too much stress on the children throughout the year regarding state testing. Ott cares more about the test scores than it does about he children. Disappointed.

Ott Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
Both my daughters have attended this school from k-5 and we have love it since the first day we attended the Kinder round up many years ago. Teachers are great and they genuinely care about their students. No complaints here.


Ott Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Ott Elementary School has been a fantastic start to our children's education. The teachers not only care about education for our children but about our children's success and well-being. The administration supports the teachers and parents throughout the entire 6 year experience (K-5). Unfortunately, not enough happy parents are leaving reviews for Ott, so you might only read some of the bad reviews from upset parents. Upset parents usually try and find a way to voice their concern while happy/satisfied parents don't express their gratitude enough. Thank you Ott ES!

Ott Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Ott is a fantastic school! Great teachers! Involved and super administration! Parents are friendly and helpful!

Ott Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
My children have been going to Ott for 5 years now. We really love it. I have not had problems with bullying although have heard of friends who have. They have a strong anti-bullying campaign and spread awareness to the kids. The teachers are great and communicate frequently with parents through email and conferences. There is a new principal this year (2014) and I love what she has done. Their test scores in the past rate above district average and probably will this year too. The teachers and all faculty have a lot of energy and make learning fun for the kids. NISD is a great district too.


Ott Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Ott for two years. I really love the school. I don't understand some of the other reviews as we've never had any issues that weren't quickly resolved with simple communication. All the teachers and staff are extremely nice and have always made me, a parent, feel welcome in the school. Both years my child has had FABULOUS, caring teachers. The only down side to Ott is some of the parents. The parking lot can be a nightmare with immature parents honking and cussing at each other. Seriously...great example to set for your children!

Ott Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
being a parent , I am disturbed that people give more credit to test scores, then life values. The teachers are not the best, dont seem to care or care so much that some teachers let students call them "mom" . That is over stepping boundaries in a big way and just as bad if not worse as not to care at all. If parents would feel that their input would have value, maybe there would be more input- as it is parents tend to be "too busy" ... We are looking to move out of this district and away from this school

Ott Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Paul Ott elem is a bad scholl when it come down too it.. Lots of bullies and teachers just don`t seem to care that much


Ott Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
My family also moved to the area this year, and I have to say that I am very impressed with Ott. I have three children in the school; a kindergartener, a 4th grader, and a 5th grader. I volunteer at the school as well. I'm surprised to read the previous negative comments. Have you checked out the school's TAKS scores? They are significantly higher than the State average in every area. The teachers are great. They are accomodating and pleasant. They are fair. I can't help but believe that many of the parents that have responded to this review are mostly parents that have had problems. I'm thinking that when parents are happy with the school, they tend not to respond to these reviews. I want to be the exception. Thank you, Ott....you communicate well and we've had a great experience with you...

Ott Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
My family moved to the area mid year this year and I will have to say I am very disappointed in Ott. My son hasn't learned a thing...he brings home homework that they haven't even touched on in class. Basically I pick him up from school and we homeschool all afternoon because he didn't learn anything that day. His class is large and there are several bullies that aren't being punished accourdingly . Our son is very bright and was rising over his fellow classmates in our previous school out of state and I feel this school is holding him back. Also, I recently brought up a very disturbing problem that I observed in the hallway to the administration and they did absolutely nothing. Hopefully this school will make some changes in the near future. Needless to say, my son will be going to private school this next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ott Elementary School
100 North Grosenbacher Road, San Antonio, TX  78253
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (210) 397-5550
Last modified Ott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top