Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School of Science and Technology

Charter | 6-12 | 444 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I have the privilege to be able to say that whomever had this dream to make it come true thru this type of school deserves my utmost respect. I have been blessed to raise another child since one is 21yrs and the other is 8yrs. My son began his 3rd grade year here at the School of Science and Technology, and I couldn't be more proud of his success compared to NSISD. He now can finally be the outstanding child with his most beautiful minf that this school has brought out and complements him in his everyday life experiences, in which I can only imagine where his future will lead him due to the entire structure of this school. I am ecstatic that my son was picked and we will do whatever it takes to help the school help him reached for the stars. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

I currently have a 10th grader and a 7th grader at SST and my daughter will be starting as a 6th grader in the Fall. Both of my boys have done very well at SST and have been at SST since they were each in the 6th grade. I appreciate the hard work and diligence of all the teaching staff. I choose to drive my children almost an hour each way to SST because I know it is the best school for them. SST focuses on academics and preparing for college. There is never a question that they will go to college - the only question is What college will they attend? I do think that the administrative aspect of the school is somewhat lacking but the superior education and dedication of the teachers makes putting up with the office chaos worth it in my opinion. I have 3 very intelligent children, we live in NISD-supposedly one of the best school districts - and I still choose to send them to SST year after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My granddaughter is new to SST. After three days there she has only glowing reviews for the educational atmosphere and the teachers and student who sre there to learn. I have a very good feeling about her next five years at this school and look forward to her weekly reports.


Posted August 22, 2013

There are many concerns with the post from August 21, 2013. We acknowledge that there may have been some issues with the school this particular student attended yesterday; however, we do not believe this comment is about the School of Science and Technology (SST) for various reasons. First of all, our uniform shirts are not sold for $15. Secondly, we cannot kick out a student (although we do expel students from time to time as a result of discipline issues). Most importantly, our faculty and staff go above and beyond to make sure that the needs of all of our students are met and we do have a contracted Counselor who works with our students. And to address the last concern, we do have a nurse s office and have had one since our school opened in 2005. We kindly ask that these comments be addressed with the correct school, as there are several schools with very similar names.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 15, 2013

I have three students in the School of Science and Technology (SST) now. I have a child who graduated last year after attending SST from 6th thru 12th grades. My child just finished the freshman year at a local university with a 3.53 GPA. SST is a great school and I cannot believe the comments by some parents and one student. The parent who states that SST "has no clue" has been rating the school the same way for 5 or 6 years since her son could not make it at SST. She is the one without a clue about the school. The writer who says he/she is an ex-teacher could not have taught at SST or he/she would not have rated it the way he/she did. He/she is probably an ex many things because he/she cannot succeed in any position. Please note that the raters who are uneducated (cannot write well or spell correctly) are the ones who rated the school other than the excellent learning facility it is. The "student" who rated it did not attend SST or attended it for a short time. SST students write much better than that. If any student or parent is considering attendance at SST, then please ignore the negative and untrue comments. SST is an excellent school with ouystanding afculty and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

As a graduate of SST in 2012, there are many flaws within the school, especially in the administration. They focus more on having their school look amazing, rather than focusing on having their students excel. During my high school years there,due to the numerous mock TAKS, and now STAAR testing they implement, those who took an AP Class(es) suffered the most for losing class time to participate in mock testing. However, the teacher staff is superb. I can not say though its the same for all the staff, however the teachers I had were amazing in wanting us to excel and do well in school, and life. There is is a strong language/cultural barrier, and I wasn't too exposed to it due to having mostly teachers that were native English speakers. However, because of them it made the last four years worth going to the school.


Posted May 2, 2013

Minus the several glaring flaws in the administration and educational options, this school has one thing going for it and that is the teachers. The vast majority of all the teachers, can't say all of them, are absolutely wonderful. My child has come home many times praising several of his teachers. Because of the disorganization of the administration I asked my son if he ever wanted to leave his school. He told me he didn't want to leave because of his teachers and his friends (as most kids feel). I've visited the school multiple times and was able to talk to most of my son's teachers. They were wonderful and I can see that they work hard to give their students the best education that they can offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

B4 dis skewl i was dum. i started frm d botm nao im here we space now mayne. we space now


Posted February 20, 2013

I have kids that attend this school. My daughter has had three teacher changes and school is not even in summer. First let me say that if you move your child will suffer because you can not register or move themto another SST. Which I think is a stupid idea. Now I drive almost 50 minutes both ways because I cant transfer them. Lunch is 3.50 like really what are they eating? My daughter is very active and was told they only provide learning for quiet non active students, who says that? My son was told that American kids are not smart and being turkish was better, shaking my head, really? Overall I think its just a nice break for them and a rip off. My kids learn but the sacrifices are crazy. Not to mention the aftet school care does nothing it says it will provide. False Advertisment. They don't even have counslors so how are you able to help kids whose loved one may pass? I would rather have put them in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2012

As a former teacher (among a list of MANY), I have seen what happens behind the scenes in the SST system. They do not value their teachers as professionals and treat them as workers in an assembly line to build their "reputation" as a great school. They try to get as much work out of their teachers as they can so they can get their money's worth; it is not uncommon for at least one or two teachers to resign mid-year. The overall teacher turnover rate has always been high for this reason. The favoritism and nepotism that goes on is disgusting. Kids don't get the wonderful education they need, especially when they have teachers whom the kids literally cannot understand because of language/culture issues, so they fail their class or grades are falsified. Just look at standardized test scores for the school--low scores in science & math. Ironic. Girls and boys are treated very differently by the all-male administration, with boys getting the more preferable treatment. Parents may love this school, but are really kept in the dark about the realities of how things truly work. Just look at how often administration and teaching staff changes every year--that should be a clue.


Posted September 17, 2012

My eldest child graduated from SST in 2011 and is now at UT Austin in an honors program. My middle child is still at SST and is a high school student. I feel that SST prepared them well for the SAT and AP exams. Now that the school is more established, there are more experienced teachers and I feel the quality of teaching has improved every year. So too has the organization and the communication. SST is a close knit school with teachers who know the students. It's a very friendly campus, and socially, an easy place for kids to make friends and be involved. The school does an excellent job of encouraging every kid to apply to a 4 year college. The 2011 graduating class sent kids to MIT, Columbia, Rice, Univ. of Pennsylvania, UT Austin, A&M, the U.S. Naval Academy, and other colleges. Having had kids at SST for many years now, I'm very proud of how this school has improved over time, and how it has grown into one of the best schools in the area. It's very safe, and students are welcoming of newcomers. As a parent, I've loved our experience with SST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

This school has no clue what it is doing. I am sorely disappointed as I am the only one involved in my child's education. The academics are not as fantastic as some of the other reviews would suggest. I just think some people have absolutely no standards or point of reference when writing a review. From a parent that does have standards, this place tanks. They talk up a good game and fail on delivery. This place is a dumping ground for kids who have been expelled from surrounding public schools, bullied out of public schools and teachers that are not licensed to teach and would not be hired by a traditional public or private school. Those are the questions I would ask before enrolling your child, unless of course the only reason you are here is because you have no other choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

All around good. the kids were well behaved, the teachers were nice. As I said just all around good!


Posted March 5, 2011

It's really great school. It meets standards as a public charter school serving with very dedicated staff and administration. I would recommend this school to every parent who wants their child to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Great environment for middle school/high school kids. The teachers are committed and engaging. I disagree with the poster that complained about the intermingling of High Schoolers with the younger students. My child enjoyed this aspect completely. The older children are respectful and friendly. We have never experienced any bullying or tormenting of any kind. SST is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

As a middle school I say that the school is great, the classes, the atmosphere, the teachers; they all contribute to the great learning environment. It is great for education, but if your child is not focused on learning, and was looking forward to band or other electives that might be offered at another middle school, well SST just doesn't do too good a job with those. Every person will have a different school experience... There is also a slight problem (in my opinion) with getting credits ahead of time. I received an algebra1 credit, while some people I knew from different schools received more credits for different things which I felt I could have received as well. How well you did in the class is of course a different matter... The teachers are great, the classes are great, and you learn well.


Posted March 24, 2010

We are very excited and happy with SST. Our children was behind in the Public School System and they could not offer any help to design a learning program to fit my childrens needs, they were just too busy. At SST, the environment is less busy, small classrooms and each student has time to meet with their teacher. And the teacher has time to understand each individuals needs. Since our children has been enrolled in this program, their confidence increased as well as their performance. SST has a lot to offer a child who wants to learn and to be understood as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

This is a great school. The teachers care about the kids, the administration takes some getting use to, but they do a great job keeping the atmosphere at the school friendly. This school actually teaches character education, that didn't happen in the Junior school in the 78209 area. They wear uniforms, which is a great stress reducer. My kid always knows what to wear! I disagree with the comment about the kids not being social. As a parent I can walk in at anytime, see my child at anytime, and be allowed to walk around the campus if I want to. These kids are friendly, spirited in a good way, and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

Horrible school. the academics are fantastic and the teachers keep in constant contact with the parents on student progress. The issues we had there are the fact that they let the 6th graders intermingle with the high school students. There are things high schoolers do and talk about that arent appropriate for younger children...like an 11yr old 6th grader. On the dicipline side, this school seems like a dumping ground for children who dont have the social skills to get along in a public school setting. My son told me that there were fights all the time...in the bathrooms and the gym locker room. The children fight there because there are no cameras. There is no audio on the security cameras so verbal threats and bullying cant be caught. My son was tormented for months by other boys in his class. Not a safe place for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

Still loving SST. In our second year with two kids at this school. My high school student (along with several others) is doing science research with a professor at UTSA. This was arranged by one of the SST administrators. My daughter would not have gotten this opportunity at any other school. Also, the National Honor Society students took a trip to New York and Boston to visit Ivy League colleges this fall. Also love this school for no bullying and high % of nerd students means that kids tend to be nice and even the socially awkward kids have friends. BTW, the Great Schools info is incorrect. This school serves 6-12th grade. SST is graduating it's first high school class spring of 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

72 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
82%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female84%
Male61%
Black or African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female96%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education50%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students59%
Female67%
Male56%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special education43%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female92%
Male63%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education17%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female86%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education67%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students71%
Female57%
Male82%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education0%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female71%
Male93%
Black or African American100%
Asian80%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education50%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female63%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education50%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American69%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students57%
Female62%
Male55%
Black or African American56%
Asian80%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students62%
Female67%
Male59%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students92%
Female81%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 50%
White 25% 31%
Black 12% 13%
Asian 9% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Atila Akyurek
Fax number
  • (210) 822-3422

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 NE Loop 410
San Antonio, TX 78209
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 804-0222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garner Middle School
San Antonio, TX





Saint Mary's Hall
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT