Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mission Academy 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Mission Academy is a school that has come along way. I look forward to this school continuing to grow as the years progress. This school is small and I feel my child gets a lot of one on one interaction. A number of parents have tattoos and/or colored hair etc, no one is singled out or treated differently bases on this because they are adults not children. In such a diverse community it seems wrong to criticize another adult over the color of their hair.

Mission Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
for all their hard work, they do providing fun things like cowboy breakfast, movie nights, literacy night etc.


Mission Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
The school has a few slacks but the majority are really good. I can't think of a campus where everyone is perfect.

Mission Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
I feel homework packets should be sent home during the breaks, to keep the information fresh in kids heads.

Mission Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Yes, I believe student are pushed to their potential. I even believe more should be expected of them. I want my kids to get the best education.


Mission Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
I feel not all the teachers treat student with the best respect but it is getting there. For the most part they are professional.

Mission Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Students are treated fairly and on an individual bases just as it should be. As every child and situation is different.

Mission Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
If you need help just ask someone always calls me back and assist me with whatever I need. I always feel welcome


Mission Academy 1

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
This by far has to be the worst school I have ever encountered. It is not parent friendly at all. The majority of the staff needs a serious attitude adjustment. Most are too old and grouchy to be dealing with young children. Especially the heavy set old man who acts as the crossguard and the rest of the volunteers that are at the entrance in the mornings. The principal does not seem to want to be bothered with any of the parents concerns. In the mornings I am expected to just drop my 4 YEAR OLD daughter off at the crosswalk and just pray that she finds her way to her classroom safely. I was told there would be someone to guide her every morning but have come to find through a family friend who works there that this is not true. I have seen several other parents share my same concern for their children but the principal does not want to hear it. She wants to enforce the same policies on 4-5 year olds as she does on 8th grade students. Which in my opinion is truly ridiculous. Children that young can get lost and easily walk out through one of the many exits, especially since there is not enough supervision in the hallways. In the afternoons, pick up is terribly chaotic. On top of taking nearly half an hour just to be able to get my daughter, I have had my child handed to the wrong parent twice in less than a week. They don't even look back, they just bring the child out the gate and go back in without taking a second glance. They have so many volunteers in the morning and afternoon making sure parents don't park in certain areas. Instead of focusing so much on parking, they should focus on organization and safety of the students. This whole school is a joke, it is such a shame being that the building itself is very nice. Needless to say I am actively searching for a new school for my daughter.

Mission Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
It is the 2nd week of school and there still has not been any homework.

Nearby schools

Mission Academy
9210 South Presa Street, San Antonio, TX  78223
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (210) 633-2546
Last modified Mission Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top