Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forester Elementary School 4

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Forester is a great school. It's very large but overall everyone is very friendly. The office staff seem very rude at times. Also the Principal is unapproachable if you have a concern and need assistance ask for the Vice Principal, Nicole Guzman she is always helpful

Forester Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Ms Guzman is great she is always available abs willing to help when there is a need. She has been there for a while she is great


Forester Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I would love to thank a few teachers but my main teacher is Mrs. Hawkins kindergarten teacher!!! Both my girls were lucky to have her as their kindergarten teacher. She is AMAZING with her students and always kept the parents involved as much as possible. My pre-k student this year even loves her and hasn't even been in her class as a student. My girls look forward to seeing her for hugs as they move up in grades. My second grader was so scared the beginning of the week this year, Mrs. Hawkins knows that my daughter has attachment issues and went out of her way to take my girl by the hand, comfort her and walk her to her class area in the gym. Since parents are not allowed to do that anymore, which is so stupid in my opinion! Thank you Mrs. Hawkins for being the best teacher I have got to know at this school! I wish more teachers were like you! Its obvious how much you make things enjoyable there because the kids love you so much! Keep up the awesome job!!

Forester Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
So far we were blessed with amazing teachers. I know that my daughter's teacher had a baby and she was out for a good while. The substitute that was put on didn't know how to manage a first grade class but with parents helping we got things managed

Forester Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I have three children in Forester and I loved this school. It was always family friendly and my kids enjoyed all the activities they did throughout the year. We lost the BEST principle when they removed Mr. Davenport as principal for something not true! The district put in this new principle who wanted to change things and made this school feel like we are dropping our babies off to a prison! We are not allowed to have lunch with the kids, we can't go in for drop off in the mornings and talk with the teacher about any thing, can't comfort your child when they are having a bad morning, after school pick-up...don't even get me started on!! The district was contacted and she had to change things back to pick up in the front of school but things are still all screwed up..my kids are still all over, many children can not be found. They have little second graders (6-7 yr olds) outside in portables and we can't even walk our children out there!!! This school used to be rated a 9 but now a 7. That should tell everyone and NISD ADMINISTRATION something just isn't right at that school. Think things would have been better giving Ms. Guzman the VP, the principal position and school!


Forester Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Stay away from this school. The principal is unprofessional late to her own meeting set by her. A little on the rude side when speaking to others. If you are trying to get answers from the office don't hold your breath. They walk around like they are doing important things..which is not the case. Don't get me started on dismissal. Traffic pile up is ridiculous as well. It sad because this school is in a great neighborhood but ran by people that are dragging the school down. Plus a handful of amazing teachers but are missed by the mess the rest of the school is. If your concerned about your child well being and expect the teacher to be as well..they won't. Just a heads up from personal experience.

Forester Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are amazing and deserve more credit while others just skate by the skin of their teeth.

Forester Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I was disrespected by the teacher as well as principal. The staff in the office truly are there for show.


Forester Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I feel the students feelings are put into consideration in many situations or they are told to wait, never gets what they needed. Sad!!

Forester Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
My child has attended for 3rd, 4th and 5th grade. Her teachers have been absolutely wonderful. The school has a great variety of clubs and programs for the students. A few of the fun school events have been stopped since the new principal took over at the end of last year, but that hasn't seemed to change the great spirit of most teachers and staff. You will be one of the lucky ones if your child is assigned to this school.

Nearby schools

Forester Elementary School
10726 Rousseau, San Antonio, TX  78245
(210) 397-0200
Last modified Forester Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top