Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian School San Antonio

Private | 1-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2013

I was a little concerned about transferring my son to Corner Stone Christian, I was afraid it would not challenge him and offer him what the honors programs in public school could. I was so wrong. He is so well rounded now. He did very well in college and has an awesome out look on life thanks to the biblical principles he learned in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

CCS is awesome. My son has enjoyed so much of what the school has to offer. The teachers have been great, the office staff is always friendly and the principal is wonderful. We regret not having sent our son earlier. If we had, we might have been able to trade adequate, or mediocre school years for something special. Our son enjoys getting to school early and likes to stay late as well. Often the campus is filled with kids that seem just happy to be there. When your 16-year old jumps out of the car each morning happy to be there, you know it's right! We have seen so many kids smiling and embracing each other. My husband and I always laugh and say that it is the 'huggiest' campus we have ever been on. My son claims that the kids treat each other well and with a level of respect not common among teenagers. This is the first year in all his years of school he has made friends in multiple activities. In other words, kids still form groups around their favored activies, but their consideration and kindness for eachother makes them all feel accepted by all. A great administration, a kind and thoughtful student body and awesome coaches...who needs more than that?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

My son has only been there 2 years, and we are not members of the big Cornerstone church. I have never seen or heard of bullying incidents. He was accepted as if he had always gone there. I had some concerns at first about the grading and had a great parent teacher conference to resolve issues. The teachers really care about these kids. Alot of work in the honor classes but that is to be expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I unfortunately would have to say that if you are looking for a great private scholl for your child CCS is not the one. My child was enrolled there for almost 2 years before we had to pull her out due to constant bullying. After many times bringing this issue to the Principle nothnig was ever done because the students involved parent's were memmbers of the church and huge financial supporters of the school. The education was lacking as well. After moving our child to another school we found that they were way behind. So again if you are looking for a great private school for your child please reconsider CCS if you considering it. Unless you want to have you child's self esteem diminished, and have them under educated. On top of that all you have to pay for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

CCS is an amazing school.If you are lookinf for a school where Christ and Education are key than attend CCS


Posted May 18, 2009

As a teacher at Cornerstone Christian Schools, I have to say that the changes being made in all areas of the school are amazing. The school is definitely headed in the right direction. Specifically, fantastic changes are being made in the academic programs. The school will soon implement a version of S.T.E.M., and special education and technology coordinators have been hired. The special education program will serve minor learning disabilities for the first year, and then it will be reevaluated to see what else can be included. The boarding program will house only international students whose sole priority is a quality christian education. All in all, choosing Cornerstone is a fantastic choice for families. I am proud to be a member of the CCS family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4802 Vance Jackson
San Antonio, TX 78230
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 979-9203

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT