Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alamo Heights J High School

Public | 6-8 | 1137 students

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $279,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

My daughter entered the 8th grade in Alamo Heights Middle School. Meeting the teachers during the first weeks of school was a great opportunity for us parents. I was impressed with the quality of the teachers! I loved the fact I met all the teacher, knew their expectations, and their contact information. My daughters averages in all the subjects were above previous years due to the fact she enjoyed her teaches. The principal is AWESOME. He personally came to introduce himself the day we registered! and lastly, I went to one PTO meeting to see if they needed parent volunteers but to my surprise there was more parents than they needed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Alamo Heights Junior School works hard to make sure ALL students are successful. Whether you are a high achiever and participating in our academic UIL programs or a struggling student trying to hide in the shadows...you will be noticed by a teacher or administrator and they will do their best to engage with you. The academic standards are continuing to rise as students are prepared for ever more challenging work at the next level. Social struggles that are common at this age are aggressively addressed, not ignored. Parents are engaged and are asked to help be a part of the solution. I am far more impressed with our public school than I am with the regional private schools. I just wish our government supported public education fully. Please use your influence to support public education that is already paid for by tax dollars without diverting funds to charter schools or vouchers. Public school works and is an essential part of a democratic society!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Alamo heights junior school is a creative, exciting place to learn. They have the most caring, well educated teachers. The atmosphere is fun and very inclusive. They do a great job with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Hurray for a great Junior School experience! This will be our son's 8th grade year and so far he has had excellent classroom instruction in his GT classes and well-rounded opportunities with school athletics, the strings program and student service clubs, such as NJSH and the Tutor Outreach Program (TOP). He will be prepared to be a High School student by the end of this school year, thanks to the leadership of the strong administration, teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Alamo Heights is a great school district. The parents are very involved in all of the schools and work very well with the faculty and staff. This is made possible by the leaders of the school that are committed to making our experiences the best that they can be. Parents and students fill out reviews of the classes and teachers each year and I have personally seen changes made for the better from our feedback. The teachers are really committed to our students and want them to succeed. All in all we have had a great experience in Alamo Heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

AHJS has awesome teachers and staff. They work closely with all the students to ensure the best education around. Over thirty percent of our district is on the free and reduced lunch plan provided by the state, however we have an extremely high graduation rate with over 95% of our graduating seniors attending college. Lives are changed at AH. It is truly a great school. Dr. Jones our principal is very in touch with the student body and is a true leader on campus. The parental involvement at AH is what makes our district unique. WE truly are one of a kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

It was ok. I used to go to school here. Its really hard to fit in if you're new unless you know people. There's a big bullying problem and most of the kids here are very elitist and rude. I didn't like it because of the bullying and some of the teachers were awful. Its all about looks and money there. If you don't dress nice you'd be bullied and be an outcast. The regular classes are terrible and only the GT classes offer quality education. I would NOT recomend AHJS. -Former Student


Posted November 3, 2012

AHJS was good for someone who likes easy classes and a big student body. It seemed that most people who "fit in" were pretentious and snooty. Anyone who was not rich or white, was an immediate outcast. In order to make the sports teams, your family had to be connected to the school financially. I was amazed at how excluding the students could be. I would not recommend this school, I left last year.


Posted October 22, 2012

i been transferred to this school and i love it. Everyone is so helpful, kind and polite. The school has lots of stuff to get involved with. Dr jones the principal is so nice, i really like him. I love this school and recomed to take your child to this junior school. GO MULES - 6th grade student


Posted October 12, 2012

As a parent of a student who transferred mid-year from out-of-state, I am mostly pleased with the atmosphere and academics of this school. To be honest, I had reservations about moving to this affluent district, but overall the students and families are down-to-earth. Yes, there are groups of students who my child says make a display of their wealth in an attempt to make others feel inadequate, it's true. Fortunately, the norm seems to be students who are focused on education and are polite and kind. The teachers, with the exception of one, have all been great. When we had a problem with a demeaning and demoralizing math teacher, we followed protocol, talked with the counselor, and got our child out of that class. The counselor and the teachers are open to communication and have helped our child transition to this school. Academically, the advanced courses are on par with our previous district. The band is superior. There are many opportunities at AHJS for those who choose to take them. Given the options in San Antonio, AHISD is a good place to offer your child a solid education. My child is happy, eager to go to school and to learn; her response is the best endorsement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2011

I currently attend this school, and the GT classes are great. In the advanced and grade level classes, there are a lot more disruptions. There is a LOT OF peer pressure, cliques, prejudice, and bullying on anything from race, affluency, intelligence, and your definitely ostracized if your not a rich, blond haired, blue eyed anglo girl, and the administration does nothing about it. The social environment is terrible, and the academic environment is only good if your in GT classes. -Current 7th Grade Student


Posted December 14, 2011

Horrible principal. She is a total snob and she gossips about the kids. She is friends with some of the parents and tries to fit in socially. A total social climber that does not care to resolve the issues she is causing. PRINCIPAL KERSHNER HAS TO GO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

Wow, as a parent, taxpayer and additional financial supporter of the district and specifically AHJS, I happen to stumble on this site. I think all the schools in our district do an amazing job. The negative remarks regarding ahjs are obviously from a bitter and hurt parent. Maybe they could pull themselves up by the bootstraps and teach their children how to over come instead of sit UNDER CIRCUMSTANCES, no matter what they may be. America and our own community is about forging new solutions when times get you down. Stop complaining and look at the bright side. YOU HAVE AN EXCELLENT FREE EDUCATION no matter where you go to school. There are always ways to improve, so why not llook into being a part of that instead of part of the "whining"!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Not a very positive environment. They have tons of great technology, but not much time to use it, too many clowns. The teachers are pretty good, but they don't do anything about the misbehavior in the halls and stuff. There is a lot of snobbiness, and racism. You can't participate in any of the extracurricular stuff unless you have money. If you don't they offer scholarships that EVERY body ends up knowing about, and teasing about. The principal seems to be snob too, only talks to the wealthy white kids, which there are ALOT of here. They have a councelor that is totally lame and awkward, she cries everytime she talks about kids, and she gossips about the kids who have problems with the other kids! You should consider going somewhere else if you aren't rich and white.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

I went to this school and I was pretty satisfied. The coaches are good. The teachers are pretty good. I guess it was fun, because you could get by with doing anything there. They kind of let you break the rules, like the dress code, and cell phones in class. The teachers are laid back, they don't jump down your throat if u cuss sometimes. It probably isn't so good if you are not white. You can really get picked on, if your not. My advice to them would be stay out of the poor line in the cafeteria and you'll probably not get noticed or picked on. I liked this school. But not as much as the High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2009

The school district should replace the administration at this school. The other schools in the district easily out perform this school in TEA scores, for no apparent reason other than poor discipline, and weak leadership. The children are the same kids that ranked well at the elementary schools and HS, but they are lost, uninspired or too anxious about this junior school environment to do well here. This is a smart and savvy district. I'm not quite sure why they have given up on AHJS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I personally loved this school, and the english and art departments are amazing. The GT/PreAP department was great for me, too. But I will agree that socially some kids are picked on endlessly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2009

I am so disappointed in this school. Students are rude and unruly, the administation is weak to non-existent, and teachers teach to the lowest common denominator. Disuptive kids in classes ruin learning for good kids. Technology is unavailable. The few good teachers are so outnumbered they might as well not be there. We are going to St. Lukes until high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

the teachers fall short of expectations and so to the councilers. Out of all the administration, i'm most let down by the principal and councilers. The students are racist and the teachers do nothing to stop them..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

For those of us who have been around awhile, the change has beem heartbreaking. 5 years ago the school was full of dedicated, caring, experienced teachers. The massive exodus of these teachers since the arrival of the new administration has left the school with teachers who are there just for the paycheck, who have no classroom management skills, who are more concerned about being cool and popular with the kids than actually having the kids actually learn anything. There are notable exeptions of course, but they are few and far between.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

378 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

340 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

340 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

337 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

334 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

334 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

332 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

332 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education50%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black or African American60%
Asian91%
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education33%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education50%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian89%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education56%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian89%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education78%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education67%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education67%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian86%
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education38%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education67%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female90%
Male82%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education57%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingual45%

Math

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education29%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingual30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black or African American50%
Asian88%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education56%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingual38%

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black or African American45%
Asian75%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education22%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingual43%

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male72%
Black or African American42%
Asian88%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education20%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingual13%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education36%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education40%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education36%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female80%
Male81%
Black or African American83%
Asian90%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education30%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 29%
Hispanic 41% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 4%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7607 North New Braunfels Avenue
San Antonio, TX 78209
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 824-3231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North East J J A E P
San Antonio, TX


Homebound
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT