Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cambridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Cambridge is an amazing school. IT has a small town feel and teachers are constantly striving to engage students and creating live long relationships. Children are happy and the faculty carries a smile in their face

Cambridge Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
I attended Cambridge from 2006-2010 and I had a fairly good education. Although I was bullied throughout my education was excellent- except 4th grade. I had good teachers and Ms. Reese was probably the best I had and Mrs. Alexander who has since retired. I was well prepared for middle school, and I loved my experience at Cambridge minus the bullying problems.


Cambridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
This school has taken my daughter to an all new level of academic accomplishments and self awareness. She has a high self esteem and loves school. I have to give the credit to her first grade teacher, Mrs. Harney. Mrs. Harney is my daughters other "mom", and my daughter professes her love daily for her teacher. This is a great school with great teachers!

Cambridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
My children are in 1st and 3rd grade and are doing very well in their studies. I do agree that there are some teachers who are pushing green agendas, but I think that is a direct influence by the Department of Education, and a travesty for public schools in general. That said, the class sizes are relatively small, parents are actively engaged and to paraphrase the superintendent - teachers are encouraged to teach according to their lesson plans rather than teach to pass a test. While AHISD gets a bad rap for being elitist, I think the atmosphere is fairly balanced and the children especially integrate well regardless of their economic backgrounds, cultural differences and ethnicities. It really is sad that this distinction has to be made, but since other posts alluded to it, I wanted to make sure I addressed it and confirmed that Cambridge is a school designed to ensure all children thrive in their academic careers. There are an abundance of enrichment courses and physical education courses available, it is worth the extra property taxes we pay to ensure our children receive the best education possible.

Cambridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
Cambridge is an excellent elementary school and worth every penny we pay in Alamo Heights property taxes. Our son is in the Spanish Immersion program and Strings. His teachers have high academic standards and consistently teach with enthusiasm and creativity. While AH may be perceived as elitist, our son has a diverse group of friends both in and outside of Spanish Immersion. Parents are highly involved and Cambridge administration is focused on preparing children for academic excellence.


Cambridge Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 20, 2010
- a parent
Change is a part of life, when I had a concern regarding my child the principal he set aside time (from I am sure a very busy schedule) to let me discuss the situation. A plan of accountability was established and he asked me to follow up with him. I felt his genuine concern not only for my child but all the children at Cambridge. This is my 3rd child at Cambridge, first time in Spanish Immersion, her teacher is great! They encouraged more participation, by urging her to test for G/T, entering in the Technology Showcase, not just to be satisfied for just showing up at school. The music program is great ,as a parent who son started in Strings and is now in HS Band. The HS Band fosters a family atmosphere which I know the Band/music directors from elementary to Jr High to High School strive for.

Cambridge Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
I'm frustrated with the revolving door of principals. The campus is definitely not what it used to be. Too many traditional teachers, or too many green teachers. The spanish immersion program is too elitist. Also too many discipline problems.

Cambridge Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
Cambridge is an amazing school. Our son came here for 3rd grade from an ISAS private school and this school is light-years ahead than anything his old school had. Wonderful, caring teachers. Outstanding fine art department - the annual family art night is an amazing event & the afterschool music program is just fabulous. The librarians worked up a summer reading list for our son tailored to his interest & needs. The dyslexia program is 5++ stars - Mrs. Dolan you are a treasure! There is limited teaching to TAKS needed because the students know the work already. Students are happy at this school and it shows.


Cambridge Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 22, 2008
- a parent
Cambridge has seen an enrollment increase due in part to its emphasis on enrichment opportunities including a four year Spanish immersion program, strong after school opportunities including gymnastics, cooking, chess, pottery etc, and an emphasis on technology integration. Over half the teaching staff have a Masters degree and the partnership between parents, administration, teachers and students is terrific. It has a small town feel in an urban setting. The new principal is doing a great job of bringing in the best talent and maintaining excellence as many veteran teachers approach retirement.

Cambridge Elementary School 2

Posted September 18, 2007
- a parent
Have several kids enrolled here for years. It is not as good as it use to be. The few old teachers that remain are pulling the load for the weak green teachers that have been recently added. This use to be the best school in SA, no now. My child TAKS scores dropped last year even though she made all 'A's.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cambridge Elementary School
1001 Townsend Avenue, San Antonio, TX  78209
(210) 822-3611
Last modified Cambridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cambridge Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top