Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Briscoe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1263 students

We are best known for providing quality programs in all facets of a public schoo

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $198,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

My son attended Briscoe MS two years ago. I absolutely loved the school, the administration, and the staff; all of which remain at the campus. The foundation that my son built, with the support of the amazing staff, could not have been sturdier. Every teacher he had at Briscoe, challenged him to be the best he could be; they taught him work ethic in a developmentally appropriate manner for a child in MS. He has been very successful in HS as a result of the level of education he received during those years at Briscoe. The band program prepared my son for the rigors of a HS band program. Briscoe is a school worth moving in to the neighborhood for. NISD is frequently referred to as the destination district in San Antonio; Briscoe MS is the destination middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

The administration is very helpful, Mr. Martinez is so involved with the students. My kids wish they can go back to Briscoe. It's the best school they have been too. Always brought home honor roll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

My child has attended this school for the last two years-6th and 7th grade. It has been okay-not great. The Science department can use better qualified teachers. My child has had terrible science teachers both years. Also, too much public displays of affection in the hallways by the students. The administration needs to get a little more tough on enforcing the rules. Plus, unless you read the Briscoe web page, you will have no idea what is going on in the school. A big change from elementary where you receive communication weekly to almost never. Hopefully next year will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

As a student teacher, I was fortunate enough to complete my observation hours at Briscoe. I learned the best teaching practices from knowledgeable teachers who genuinely care about the well-being of their students. The teachers and IA work together to do what is best for the class and individual students.


Posted January 13, 2014

We are a military family and last year my daughter entered 6th grade at Briscoe MS after 4 years in foreign schools. The staff, teachers and administration at Briscoe made her transition unbelievably smooth. She is doing well, working hard, and very happy due to the diligence of all Briscoe's staff. The policies such as 'no-bullying' etc. have given her the confidence needed to learn. I have spent time at the school, and I am amazed with how harmonious a population of middle schoolers can be! The learning atmosphere is superb and the relationship with parents very open and welcoming. In addition to the academics, the activities at Briscoe are very well done and inspiring to the children. The Theatre Arts program has been wonderful for both my child's public speaking skills and creativity. I am particularly impressed with the athletics program that encourages young people to stay healthy, work hard, and be all they can be. In short, my husband and I have nothing but positive things to say about Briscoe Middle School. The leadership, caring for our young people, and quality of education is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I have a 6th grader that transitioned beautifully to Briscoe due to the outstanding support and guidance received by ALL staff members at the school. Everyone we have met along the way seems genuinely concerned about the students and go the extra mile to make sure they are given the opportunity to succeed. As a parent, I could not ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My son is in the 6th grade he is in Pre AP classes and an A honor roll student. During orientation, the principal told the parents to let him know if our children did not have the best first day of school ever. My son came home the first day, so we asked him, and he stated that it was the best first day of school he had experienced! To this day, our son is still having a great time and looks forward to going to school each day. The staff at Briscoe seem to genuinely care about their students and families! The level of communication at Briscoe is by far the best of any school we have dealt with. The overall atmosphere of the school is great, and this is a direct reflection of the staff and it's leadership. These are just a few reasons that we moved to be zoned for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I have been involved with four different school districts over the course of the last four years and I am so amazed at the level of service and accountability that I see form the staff at Briscoe Middle school. I currently have children enrolled in two other schools in the district and Briscoe is by far the best school of the three both for teaching staff and communication with the parents. I also want to mention that they have a very high level of professionalism while still maintaining the best customer service when caring for parents needs as well as student services they seem to always go above and beyond in ensuring that the students needs are met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

My daughters started Briscoe last year as 7th graders. We have were very impressed with the school from the start. The teachers are intelligent, fair, and challenging. They truly want the best for their students. The administration is strong and fair. My son started at Briscoe this year and I have been equally impressed with the 6th grade faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We moved to Texas last year and my daughter began her middle school education at Briscoe Middle School. We were so pleased with the faculty at Briscoe this past year. My daughter was challenged with strong academics under the leadership of qualified and caring faculty members. As a parent, I was very impressed with the concern and involvement of her teachers. It was clear to me that they knew my quiet, more introverted daughter very well. This personal touch made her first year in middle school a good one. We have also been very impressed with the Band program. I am so pleased with the band faculty and the outside "master teachers" that bring their expertise into the band classroom. I am so pleased with the instruction my daughter has received at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This school is great! My son started at this school when he was in 7th grade, when the school first opened. From the start he was challenged every day. My daughter will be starting her 8th grade year this year and has also been challenged every year. She is now in all Pre-AP core classes. The teachers are wonderful and very involved with the students as well as the parents. That also carries over to the Principal Mr. Martinez as well as the PTA. This school is miles above the school my son started with when we first moved here. I would recommend this school to anyone considering where their child should go for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

As a parent, I know that my child is in great hand! As a 6th grader she was challenged and taken care of. She had amazing teachers that were truly experts in their field. Administration was always visible and Counseling staff always helpful. We are excited about 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

This school has great student and parent involvement. The PTA is awesome! They help with dances and field day. They also donated picnic tables for outside eating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Briscoe Middle School is an "awesome" place to work....from the students who attend and have attended to the individuals who take it upon themselves to make sure our school is at it's best...the custodians. As a social studies teacher and firm believer that our duty as a teacher is to not only educate our young adults but to also help them evolve into productive citizens. To go out into the world and make a difference. Teachers, administration, and staff all work diligently to ensure that all students are given the opportunity to be the best they can be! At Briscoe MS students come first....what is in the best interest of our "bengals" that is what our Principal, Mr. Javier Martinez is all about. He is clearly a good leader and role model for our campus and our district.....Northside ISD. A quality that Mr. Martinez has that is so distinctive in a good leader is eye contact....he truly listens.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2013

This school is great! :) i was here for all 3 years, and this is just an amazing school. Great teachers, Good respectable students, and even a great education awaits the students... i loved this school, and im sad i had to leave! The only problem was though, even if it was hot, school dress codes still required PANTS, it's like 102 degress and im still wearing pants? That was the only part that was bad, and the vice principal mr benavidez always looked at the students, like he knew them as a troublemaker. but im pretty sure those are the only problems i ever saw, the rest of the school is great, a great facility, and awesome kids that will show friendliness and respect to you, even if you are new. Overall i would recommend this school to many parents and many kids tat live in the alamo ranch region and yeah. :)


Posted August 12, 2012

My 6th grader's experience at Briscoe M.S. was great, and he said his teachers were excellent :) I have to agree. Their instruction was challenging, and they did not let him off the hook when he wanted to slough off. They were willing to work with me when looking for ways to motivate him to do his part. The principal is well balanced, strong, and a great leader. I'm only sorry that we had to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

For a school that's been in existence for only one year, Briscoe is off to a superior start in establishing itself as a school that thrives on academic excellence and promotes character develpoment. It offers an outstanding curriculum. The principal, Mr. Martinez, is a hands-on dedicated leader who can be seen regularly walking the campus grounds. Prior to relocating to San Antonio, I communicated with the Academic Dean, the school registrar and my child's assigned guidance counselor. These individuals were highly professional and well versed in providing me all the information I needed to ensure my child was placed in the most challenging classes. I am pleased to say my child has experienced a seamless transition from elementary school into a middle school. The Alamo Ranch area has several great subdivisions. Since individual expectations vary, I encourage anyone considering relocating to this area check to personally check out the location. Once a school is chosen, I humbly recommend that parent(s)/guardian(s), get to know the staff and volunteer in any way possible. Not only will you make a difference but you will notice a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

289 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

284 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

252 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

251 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

244 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

249 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

249 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

250 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

249 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education67%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education92%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education88%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male93%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education63%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education86%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education78%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education56%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students83%
Female79%
Male88%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education70%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

7 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black or African American88%
Asian90%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education59%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male92%
Black or African American95%
Asian89%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education70%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black or African American86%
Asian80%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education72%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Black or African American78%
Asian88%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education59%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Black or African American83%
Asian80%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education47%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education83%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education75%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female84%
Male89%
Black or African American80%
Asian83%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education59%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
Female81%
Male87%
Black or African American90%
Asian92%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education70%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 52%
White 26% 29%
Black 10% 13%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
School Leader's name
  • JAVIER MARTINEZ
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (210) 674-0220

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • bus
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • watchdogs, Veterans Day, booster organiz
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
1300
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
1300
Students typically come from these schools
Hoffman Elementary
Mireles Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Taft HIgh School
Brennan High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4265 Lone Star Parkway
San Antonio, TX 78253
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 398-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Vale Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Luna Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Zachry Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Jefferson Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Jordan Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Folks Middle
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT