Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Idea Carver Academy 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
Everyone associated with this school from grounds maintenance to security have constantly demonstrated a very professional approach. Your staff cares about the future of these young minds. As a grandparent, I thank you for your service.

Idea Carver Academy 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
First let me say this school is not for everyone. But this school is excellent for my child. The rotating schedule and the fact that they are taught in groups based off of how well they grasp the material is an excellent approach and prevents children from being left behind. Depending upon the subject my child has been in both the lower level class and advanced class and by the end of the year she is always on target or higher. Everyone that I have ever dealt with has been friendly and all my calls and texts have been returned in a timely manner. My daughter has even called her teachers and they have assisted her with her homework. The school does have strict policies and they follow each rule no matter how minor which can drive a parent crazy but at the end of the day it is our responsibility to make sure our kids follow the rules.


Idea Carver Academy 1

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
This is the absolute WORST IDEA school ever! My family moved here from the Valley. My niece graduated from IDEA Donna & my older daughter attended an IDEA McAllen which is why we chose this school thinking they were all great. WRONG!!! Maybe the IDEA school at South Flores is good but not Carver. Terrible leadership from Ms. Arismendi who replaced Mr. Mason. She fired some teachers, but kept others who should have never been hired in the first place. How can this school get kids into college without highly qualified, certified teachers who actually like children & know how to speak to & treat them with respect? The teachers must take direct notes from Ms. Arismendi and now Ms. Diaz the latest principal. I have seen them both totally dismiss parents who have tried to speak with them about their kids. The school has no relationship with parents & needs to take some lessons on how to communicate better with families besides sending home a weekly newsletter.

Idea Carver Academy 1

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
in regards to the 2013-14 year.There is not enough room here to disclose all the negative, sickening disappointment this JOKE of a school and system really is.. they would be better off closing the place and just let the kids run wild in the streets as they are allowed to do in the classroom . I wished it would let me rate it at NO stars because even one is too much. The administrators are about a joke and would not work for me.. period !! The Faculty spends most of their time with unruly/ problem kids which takes away from teaching (their Jobs) without any support from the administrators in dealing with problem kids ( their job ) . Lunchtime is like watching Wild Kingdom with some of the animals who attend there. very disgusted with IDEA Carver, but a great place for aspiring inmates !!!

Idea Carver Academy 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
Idea Carver is one of the worst schools in SA if not THE worst. My son attended 1st & 2nd grade there in 2012-2014. 1st, children are allowed to bully without any punishment. My son was violently choked, kicked, punched, & slapped in the face - all 4 acts were separate incidents by different bullies! 2nd, kids are allowed to misbehave & disrupt class continuously. The teachers have no support from the administrative or the San Antonio Exective Director Rolando Pasado. I personally spoke with Mr. Pasado about my concerns with the continued disruption & bullying. His response in summary was that it's the teachers' fault if the kids misbehave. Although when the teacher would send a misbehaving or bullying student to the office, nothing would happen. I am aware of a first year teacher who was suppose to be co-teaching & she was put alone to teach. She asked for help from the high school principal ref kids' disruptive behavior, the principal told her if she couldn't handle it on her own then she shouldn't be teaching. 3rd, this school is so unorganized. Minimum communication between the school & parents. 4th, teacher turnover was just heartbreaking. This school is horrible.


Idea Carver Academy 1

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
This is the 3rd and most likely last year we will have our children at this school. At first, it was great. But it would appear the school has taken on more children than the teacher or facilities can handle. There are too many children per teacher and there is an extremely high rate of teacher turn over. There are almost no teachers left from 3 years ago. Additionally, 700 students are currently sharing 12 bathroom stalls. Its unacceptable. I will definitely be moving my children from this school.

Idea Carver Academy 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
It has been a disappointment having my 3 kids here. One of my kids has a learning disability in reading and is 3 grades below her grade level but I was told that she can t attend tutoring because she s not as low as the other kids. This has greatly affected her self-esteem and now she doesn't even want to go to school. My other daughter on the other hand is 1 years above grade level but the school does nothing to challenge or engage her. The bullying is out of control and she's often teased and called a nerd & teacher's pet because she reads a lot & has manners. Even though she tells the teachers and academic counselor no one does anything. My oldest son is just above grade level but the kids in his overcrowded class are so rude & disruptive that he can barely focus on learning & the teachers can hardly control the behaviors. We have had 4 principals in 2 years and this year alone my son has had 4 different teachers quit! The administration keeps asking families to bear with them until the new building comes and things get better. Even if they have to go to 3 different schools, I have to do whatever it takes so my kids' education doesn't suffer any longer at this zoo!

Idea Carver Academy 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
My nieces were Carver Christian students before this school changed to IDEA. There were less behavior problems & professional, experienced, kind teachers who cared about the students. EVERYTHING is different. Neither of my nieces like school anymore & one has headaches caused by all the chaos & changes at school. From the rude students & rampant bullying to the 5+ teachers who have quit since school started in August. In the past 3 years alone the school has had 4 different principals including the most recent one who says anything to pacify parents. Carver was once a really good school that taught morals & values but has changed into a school that talks a good talk about high expectations & college prep when actually it s the complete opposite! Classes are over-crowded; teachers yell to manage the class, one of my nieces receives extra HW as punishment because of some disruptive kids in her class & my other niece gets minimal to no HW which is hardly ever even graded! The principals have been saying the school is in transition but my sister has finally decided that enough is enough & is putting them in private school. This is a better idea for the success of my nieces!


Idea Carver Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Excellent Staff, Excellent academics. The best thing about this school is the dedication to actual learning and not a standardized test.

Idea Carver Academy 4

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Honestly I always thought a PTA was a glorified way for stay at home moms to compete with each other for best mom title. Seeing our PTA in action & seeing how a PTA is supposed to be run completely changed not only my view of PTAs in general but also my overall view of this school. Communication is the biggest problem with this school & I feel slowly but surely our PTA is closing the gap. You know what I love about a lot of the activities our PTA has brought is that they really are family activities where everyone has to put down their technology & spend time together. Between the chess club & sets, the Witte sleepover, & the symphony 4pk of tickets, I have had more relationship bonding time with my daughter doing really memorable activities that I wouldn't have had the opportunity to do if it hadn't been brought by the PTA. I don't know if this school would be as awesome without our PTA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Idea Carver Academy
217 Robinson Place, San Antonio, TX  78202
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (210) 223-8885
Last modified Idea Carver Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top