Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 2810 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

I go to EC and it's fantastic! I love that school every teacher is a great help and every one is very friendly!


Posted December 16, 2013

If you are an involved parent, my children have succeeded in every way, the AP and Early College programs are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I go to East Central. I am going to be a Sophomore this year.This school good my opinion POINT BLANK.My only complaint is the food.Don't get me wrong its good its just that I've been in this district since first grade and don't want to go anywhere else.


Posted July 16, 2013

East Central is a great school that is on the more. Your child can get an outstanding education here at ECHS if he or she is willing to do the things that it takes. Teacher quality is excellent, Principal leadership is outstanding, Parent involvement is on the rise. Every school in the city have problems but that is a very small part of all schools. Everyone need to focus on the great things that are happening at EC, a public high school, Every students at EC can take Pre AP and AP classes if they want too, there no barriers stopping students from taking advance courses. The leadership at EC is always looking for ways to make sure that students are college and workforce ready when they graduate. School can only do so much, parents are the real teachers, it all start at home. Yes, you focus on the negatives or you can get on board with the rest of us and continue to take ECHS to greater heights.. In closing checkout our agrculture program, JROTC, the mighty band , culinary arts, the art department just to name a few extra curriculum programs that your child could be involved with.


Posted September 18, 2012

My children attend this school and I was a substitute teacher for two years. The administrative staff spends more time attending to the disobedient kids and therefore they don't have time to devote any attention to the good kids. Their funds also go to programs for the bad kids so gifted kids do not have programs to help challenge them. Also, if your child becomes a victum of one of the bad kids, don't expect any help from the staff. Even if its violence, they will not do anything about it except suggesting you should home school because they can't guarantee your childs safety. The breakfast and lunch menu is one of the worst in the nation. Again, I worked there for two years and in the mornings you can expect donuts, coco puffs, brused apples or packaged pastries. The lunch room always runs out of food before the second lunch so the kids are stuck eating pizza or watered down speghetti saunce with stale noodles everyday. And thats only if your kids are lucky enough to even get lunch. They lines are so long that by the time the kids sit down with their lunch, they only have about 2 minutes to eat. This school is huge but way over populated and not recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

I am currently a student at East Central and believe it is a great school. The deversity of students wonderful, for the most part the teachers are very easy to get along with and truely care about their students. As far as the GT program is concerned, it is true there is no GT in middle school, however the GT program offered in Elementry, Intermediate, and High School is wonderful. The Colloqlium classes for GT kids requires muc effort and teaches kids a great deal. I love my school and many of my teachers, the different groups of kids there is very benificial for me, I think, because in the real world, that's what is out there. Placing your child in a bubble with only similar kids may benefit them now, but later, perhaps not so much. As long as you teach your child values, goals, and how important grades are, they will do great and have amazing experiences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2011

If you have a gifted child, do not expect much from this district. There is not a GT Program in the middle schools. Even the small amount of time that is spent in "GT" during the Elementary years was just not enough to stimulate a gifted child. They refused to move my child ahead even though my child was ridiculously bored with the same repetitive curriculum. The chief complaint from the teachers was the budget. Many teachers claimed they simply did not have enough to work with. It's quite embarrassing walking into some of these classrooms and seeing outdated computers or worse no computers at all. As a parent and a former staff member, I can see this district taking a serious nose dive in the future as far as academics goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

it is a great school i think it could use a little bit more funding from the district
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

East Central is not a very good school. It has a poor Leadership Base to go with its poor exterior. I am a former student and my kids go there. I had trouble, but did fine in college. I am trying to move out of the district. From the Surperintendent to the rest, they only want to help a select few. If you are not in the Selected Few, your chances there are slim to none. Avoid this school at all cost. I am trying to get me kids into Private Schoo. I can't afford it, but I must find a way. My kids can't afford me not to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

The vice principals in this high school leave much to be desired. They are not interested in children, much less parents. It's a shame that the calibur of the vice principals does not equat that of the staff surrounding them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

One of my children graduated from East Central High School with a great education. He was amply prepared for college and does quite well. My other child is still attending East Central and is also receiving a fine education. I have been very pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

I am a former East Cenral student. I had a wonderful high school experience and always felt safe. I am now a mother of four and I would not want my kids to go to any other high school. I made sure to buy a home in the district. 'Go Hornets'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

I'm a former student of E.C.H.S and graduated in 07 I graduated form another school but I missed EC it was a great place people were friendly the teacher were cool and very concerned if you needed help and were failing oh special prompts to Mrs.Horsby she was awesome she spoke to you as an adult and treated you like one that is the most important way to reach out to students, cause we are no longer kids but young adults and that's how she treated you. I don't think they concentrate to much on the football team they are not that great it's more the students that concentrate on the sport an lose track on school work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2007

I am parent who has two daughters who graduated from this school, and a son who is a current freshmen. I can't speak to the experience of parents whose students are not involved in extracurricular activities or advanced placement, GT/Honors classes. However, I can speak to the wonderful experiences my family has encountered during the past nine years. My children participated in athletics (volleyball, baketball, cheerleading, & football) and they were required to attend tutoring as a part of their practice schedule. Coaches and administrators provided numerous opportunities for parent involvement. I have only encountered an 'open door' policy and any time I had questions, they were generally addressed within 48 hours. Both my daughters earned college credits before they graduated (one w/18 hours) & if you are interested in being a part of your child's educational experience this is the district to choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

Vastly over-rated. Far too much emphasis on football and not on education. No goals set by teachers theyre just going through the motion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I think that east central is a really good place to send your kids and learn and you can trust me I go there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

It is disappointing to see how far ECHS has fallen. The achievement gaps for students who are other language speakres are huge. This campus was a recognized high school not too long ago. Now it is a mess, and could be easily considered an embarrassment. There is no vision for the students or the future. They need an energetic principal who will stay for long enough to make a statement about the school and its direction. This school needs a total extreme makeover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I have a daughter who graduated in 2000, and a son who just graduated in 2007. Over the 11 years that I was a parent at ECHS, I saw a great deal of change, and not for the better. Under the leadership of Mr. Eckhart and Ms. Russell-Heinsohn, the school was safe, orderly, and achievement was top-notch. ECHS won many awards, and not just on the playing fields. The principals knew the students by name, and they were very visible. Students knew they were respected and held to a high standard. Now, management by reactionary petty rules seems the norm. Upper level courses are taught by outstanding teachers, but average and lower students don't get the same quality. Since 1999, there have been 6 principals!! The school needs stability, consistency, and a gigantic turnaround. I am sad for the future students at ECHS, but glad my children have graduated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I am currently a senior at East Central High School. I believe that the school needs to be worked on. When I go to the restroom there is no toilet paper, soap or paper towels. The only good bathrooms are in the Math and Science building. Also the rules are not enforced. There is too much focus being put on the football team, even though they do not perform well. I believe the focus should be on the choir, band, ROTC and various organizations, who are doing well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2006

I am currently a student at East Central and have been utterly dissatisfied with my 4 years at this school. The campus is old. Around campus there is a lack of real leadership and at times common sense, especially by the administration.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

678 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

666 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

641 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

631 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

635 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

639 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

590 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

590 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

594 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

592 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male84%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

632 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

788 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

635 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

832 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

911 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
49%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

678 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

676 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
49%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

659 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

837 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

649 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students63%
Female66%
Male61%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special education36%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)52%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingual88%

Algebra II

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education47%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingual100%

Chemistry

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education47%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingual100%

English I Reading

All Students58%
Female64%
Male51%
Black or African American51%
Asian83%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education12%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingual46%

English I Writing

All Students38%
Female46%
Male30%
Black or African American28%
Asian67%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special education5%
Not special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted35%
Bilingual64%

English II Reading

All Students74%
Female79%
Male69%
Black or African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education19%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingual79%

English II Writing

All Students46%
Female54%
Male38%
Black or African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special education6%
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted41%
Bilingual58%

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education38%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingual100%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students74%
Female73%
Male74%
Black or African American64%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education22%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingual90%

World History

All Students65%
Female63%
Male67%
Black or African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education28%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingual67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 52%
White 22% 29%
Black 9% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ROLAND TOSCANO
Fax number
  • (210) 649-2752

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7173 Farm-To-Market 1628
San Antonio, TX 78263
Phone: (210) 649-2951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Central At-Large
San Antonio, TX



Bexar Co J J A E P
San Antonio, TX


Wilson County Boot Camp
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT