Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert G Cole Middle/High School

Public | 6-12 | 722 students

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2013

I absolutely love this school. I am an 8th grade student that has been going here since 6th grade. I love the fact that it is only a 2A school, which means we have a close-knit student body. The teachers are very good at what they do, and how they teach. Our school recently started an athletics program for 7th and 8th graders. Our coaches are fantastic. The Middle School administration is very caring about the students. I love that this is a school for military children, so that everyone is going through the same toubles as everyone else in regards to deploying family members and moving every few years. The only thing I, personally, do not like is the library. The new Librarians have new rules which I don't like. We have to pay $.10 a day for overdue book, which is why I don't use the library. This year we have a brand new cafeteria which is gorgeous. I personally, being a student of this school for 3 years, would highly recommend this school to any Military child, and hope they have the best possible year in their new school.


Posted May 8, 2012

I have heard nothing but bad things about this school. For one, the faculty, specifically the main office, is very disorganized. My daughter has had a rough year and needed some doctor's visits frequently. Considering the school only allows 9 days unexcused absences, we asked the office what we could do to turn those into excused absences so she wouldn't have to worry about losing credit. So, we called and said "Can we just bring in any note with my signature on it? That way it's excused?" The office replied with a yes and we were able to move one with my daughter's doctor appointments with ease. However, last week, she was sent to the attendance office and was told she must make up 16 HOURS worth of detention because she went over the limit. I couldn't believe this. Next, I'd also like to think that a tiny sparkle on my daughter's nose isn't more important than her classes. I want to point a finger at "Suzy" Hawkinson, who wouldn't let my daughter leave the office til her nose ring was out of her nose. Keep in mind, my daughter had a huge math test to get to. Her nose was infected at the time and was medically not able to remove it. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

I really like the school. Kids have many extra curricular activities and sports opportunities and are very important Kids are able to take AP Classes. Teachers and administration are reachable and available. School is small. GREAT SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

Phone calls to administration aren't returned -- it's been a week now. Admin and teachers are contemptuous and often condescending to parents and students. Emails to 8th grade teachers are sometimes ignored with no return reply. If a student is struggling, s(he) is regarded with suspicion (esp. if there's a 504). We're concerned and involved parents and the treatment we, and our daughter, receive is the worst that we've ever had in any district. She is regarded with hostility and contempt - is asked, after struggling with tests and homework, if she's manipulating the situation to obtain more help -- or she's asked, by one teacher, isn't my homework important enough? Stay away! No encouragement here. Our poor experience suggests why the state of education in TX is so dire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Great High School I had one graduate from this school and I like the high school!!!! The middle school needs help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I think the school should have more activities for the middle school. we dont have sports or clubs.(just 2) it feels more like a prison than a school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2010

This school is the worst schools for my children for both academics and treatment of students/parents in my 20 years of being in the military. I would suggest home school or private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Cole Middle School will go on and on telling you about how they are a ISD school BUT only the Military Children are allowed to attend. Do they care how they treat the Military Child? Absolutely not! As a spouse of a soldier who is currently on his 4th deployment, this is the worst school for support of any kind, including special needs, in our 24 years in the military. Things that aren't important are HUGE, things that are important are over looked ever single day. I only wish we had either sent them off post to a private school or home-schooled. Ft. Sam Houston is a wonderful place to be stationed... just don't let your children attend their schools.... unless you love stress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The school is small, but they have tons of programs available for the students. A large portion of the faculty graduated from R.G. Cole, so school pride is strong. We came from a 5A school to here and are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

Going to have to disagree with 'blah'. The youth have plenty of oppurtunity if they seek it. When we moved here, the Principal and Vice (2006-7) took my troubled son under their wings and embraced him right away. He flourished at first but made other choices. However, if you choose to communicate and not be negative, an awesome school. Cannot say the same for teachers at Ft Sam Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Cole's great. Everyone knows everyone. They students and staff are very supportive. Its also nice since we are a small school everyone can participate in a sport if they want to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I was not impressed with the school. The campus is nice, but the lack of communication with staff, poor testing results, and the reading materials, located in the media center, are inappropriate for 7th graders. Books are shared with high school students and many have sexual content complete with profanity. Vice principle aware, but head librarian did not remove books rather she defended the books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

this is a awesome school. i went there. i love the teachers. they r so nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

Cole awesome! lol Track team is amazing of course. Wish our colors were red and black but it is what it is. Don't really have a school so don't be shocked if you come here and your in a portable.lol
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

If you like walking around,alot, you will definatly love this school. Haha but seriously it's a good school,you get alot of opertunities here in sports and academics. Its not as cool as other schools but it's ok lol
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

I absolutely detest this school. Sure the 'pupil to teacher ratio' is great, but is that really what makes a good school? I spend most of my classes doing idiotic childish things like coloring in a 9th grade pre-AP class. To a parent or a teacher this school's credentials may be perfect, but I suggest you spend a day there before you decide if they are true!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

Cole struggles mightily to offer more than most 2A schools. We do not treat children like kindergarteners, our ROAPS is a research based discipline approach to make the school safer and more orderly. We ask kids to walk to the right to relieve congestion in our narrow halls, especially when kids are at lockers. Our parent club works concessions for baseball, so they do know there is a team. I just didnt want this parent's inaccurate view to stand unopposed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 7, 2007

I love that the teachers are nice and very helpful towards the students and the parents and other adults
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2007

quality~ this school lacks much of the needed requirements for academic success. they treat young adults as if they were kindergarden students with their 'ROAPS' concept. 'walk on the RIGHT side of the hallway only!' availability of extracurricular activities~ 'we have a baseball team?' only male dominant sports are paid any attention to: football & basketball. no one cares about swim team or soccer. parent involvement~ the parent club president doesn't even know there is a baseball team, and that is the only parent involved with the school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

This school was a huge dissapointment. We are a military family and my child has attended several schools, all of which have been very different but at the same time all have been willing to at least try to serve my child at her functioning level. The administration and staff at this school were more concerned with creating a false sense of achievement for the school as a whole than they were with providing opportunities for true success.My child is in this schools 'gifted' program, after waiting half the year to be identified for this special program, it finally began in February!On the first day, with hopes that she would soon be challenged with a specialized curriculum , she was told by the teacher that 'they don't really do anything, It's more or less a place for the gifted kids to hang out and be with others like themselves'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

101 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

101 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
66%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
84%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education56%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female73%
Male68%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education20%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female89%
Male83%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education71%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female95%
Male75%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education57%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female84%
Male67%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education14%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education78%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female81%
Male86%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education56%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education33%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students68%
Female60%
Male75%
Black or African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education38%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students76%
Female81%
Male69%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education22%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education67%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education22%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students67%
Female74%
Male59%
Black or African American58%
Asian60%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education10%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education20%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students71%
Female71%
Male71%
Black or African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education0%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students83%
Female92%
Male75%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education50%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
Black or African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students82%
Female81%
Male84%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education33%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students74%
Female67%
Male79%
Black or African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education20%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male92%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male90%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 29%
Hispanic 25% 52%
Black 23% 13%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 Winans Rd
San Antonio, TX 78234
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 368-8774

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


George Gervin Academy
San Antonio, TX


Cedar Creek School
San Antonio, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT