Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison High School

Public | 9-12 | 3317 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Madison high school is one of the best schools in the NEISD. I am glad my child is attending the school. There's great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2012

My daughter graduated from Madison in 2006 and my son is now a junior. I have experienced Madison from the perspective of a parent of a special ed student (my daughter) and a student in advanced and AP courses (my son). I have to say that I am impressed with the education my daughter received and my son is receiving. The special ed teachers were supportive of our daughter and communicated well with us and the Pre-Ap and AP teachers have challenged my son and encourage learning. The administration seem to be on top of things and the campus is a safe environment for the kids. Another reviewer has mentioned the focus on football, but I think this is true for most Texas high schools and I feel that at Madison, education is also greatly emphasized. There are also other many extracurricular activities that are offered which appeal to kids of all levels and talents. (My daughter was in culinary arts and my son was in the band for his freshman and sophomore years.) Overall, I believe Madison has a great atmosphere for learning anfd also strives to foster students interests and talents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

We moved from out of state and I love this school. My daughter started the ninth grade and Madison had all the programs and activities she wanted to do. We are happy we choose Madison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

I hated this school when I attend there it was awful students around you ignore , the teachers were okay I don't know about the principal I never met him I want to be in a environment where I am accepted for who I am Madison just ain't it.


Posted June 25, 2011

As a student who hosted a show critiquing the everyday workings of the school, I can tell you that this school has its moments at both the positive and negative spectrums . The teachers are phenomenal, that is 4 out of 5 of them are. There is that 1 out of 5, however, that are completely abysmal. The main problem with this school, though, is the administration that is out of touch with the education experience and is likely to cut the extra-curriculum program your child loves most and feels at home with provided that program isn't football. I'm not saying this due to resentment, but as a simple truth. Also, the quality of students has diminished over the years as students have become more rambunctious and have brought down the curve for education. If you're child tends to be at the top of his/her class this may be a problem. If you're child tends to be a troubled one, make sure (s)he is deeply involved in a good afterschool program as tempting hoodlum activity can occur across the street at the delinquents' haven Taco Express.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2010

My daughter attend this program called AMP and she was doing so bad because teachers would not help her and the children are a disappointment. But now she attends TR in a program called ETA which is a huge and better improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My daughter is in her 9th grade year here at Madison and I am so happy we got her into this school. The teachers are wonderful and are willing to help the students in any way. The security is very good and I have met allot of great people here at the school. I have 3 children that will also be attending Madison and I am excited for them. GO MAVS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

My son currently attends Madison and I could not ask for more. Madison has excellent teachers that take a vested interest in the children and the J.R.O.T.C. program is second to none! Responsible parents that take an active role in the education and discipline of their children make this school safe and academically appealing. Madison turns out responsible, hard-working, and productive members of society. We are one big family that takes great pride in all we do! Go Mavericks!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Top notch academics, dedicated teachers, spirited student-body, responsible parents, competitive athletics, and a family atmosphere and warmth as soon as you walk in the door. Best school in SA, hands-down!


Posted March 10, 2009

i love madison. i have excelled in academics and sports. the adminstrative staff along with the teachers truly want the best for the students. it's amazing the bonds i have with my teachersa and principals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

Madison is a great school, with excellent administrative leadership. The teachers are top drawer who care about the students, offering tutoring most weekdays. Their music program (both choir and band) are tops, academic teams win awards, and dance and sports teams are competitive and very successful. These extra-curricular groups consistently win awards. I'm proud to have my senior daughter graduating from Madison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

I believe Madison is a great school but more dicipline is needed. Sports programs and educational support is fantastic. However, the High School is overcrowded and more staff support is needed on the female sports side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Both of my children attended Madison High School. The school is very over crowded, but does the best it can with the facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

My twins attended Madison. It's a great school with caring teachers, staff and a strong academic program. And, more's the miracle, the coaching staff supports the faculty and keeps athletes in line academically! It's over crowded, but you won't find a more caring faculty anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

Academic programs are honorable mentions with very well trained teachers. Music dept. is very big also includes a brand new music building which is two stories tall. Sports especailly football are very well known in the state and across the city of San Antonio. Excellent Army JROTC program, one of the top 5 ROTC programs in the city with many national events. Parent involvement is very high and is a very down to earth school. Great diversity.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 7, 2004

Overall a good school. High ratio of minorities due to new housing and re-zoning. Overall administration is very good. Strong emphasis on academics big plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

856 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

836 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

855 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

811 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

823 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

830 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

692 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

691 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

693 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

688 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American99%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
Black or African American91%
Asian92%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

538 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

807 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

676 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

842 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

900 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

754 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

753 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
53%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

744 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

828 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

745 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education65%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education81%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education75%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Black or African American72%
Asian83%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education28%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students52%
Female64%
Male40%
Black or African American47%
Asian88%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special education13%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant52%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male80%
Black or African American82%
Asian73%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education42%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students54%
Female59%
Male49%
Black or African American48%
Asian53%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special education12%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant54%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American90%
Asian94%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education58%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education58%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students85%
Female82%
Male88%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education63%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 52%
White 30% 29%
Black 10% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5005 Stahl Road
San Antonio, TX 78247
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 356-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Judson Learning Academy
San Antonio, TX



Center School
San Antonio, TX


Homebased Comp Ed
San Antonio, TX


Academy Of Creative Ed
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT