Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thousand Oaks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 755 students

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2008

The school needs a new principal. The one that is there now has been there too long! She is not a people person. The principal's webpage on the school's webpage tells the whole story. It's blank! Great teachers stay for a few years or transfer to other schools. Teacher moral seems to be very low. This is our daughter's last year at this school. She will be going to Corner Stone School for 4th and 5th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Our only child has been at Thousand Oaks since K. We moved to this schools attendance area because of the good things we heard about the school. My brother's kids attend Redland School near by. There is a big difference in parent involvement and student activites at these two neighboring scools in the same district. We have been satisfied with the teachers but disappointed with the lack of student activites during and afterschool. The principal's focus is on test scores and not a very friendly person. If we could have affored to move to a different school attendance area, my husband and I would have done so. Our mistake was not asking more questions when we moved to the Thousand Oaks school area. Many portables, no restrooms or water in portables. Parking is terrible. Scale of1-10 = 5. The school's PTA activities out number the school's planned activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

Great School. 1 child attend 1-5 grades, other same but in 5th now. 3rd in kinder. After observing for many, it's easy to see that the kids whose parents are involved, excel the most. Very active PTA, many activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Private schools, here we come! If you want your children to be good test takers, send them to T-Oaks. If you want your child to wake up each morning eager and ready for school, then don't punish him by making him attend T-Oaks. Most of our children's homework is TAKS practice. TAKS assessments are give frequently during the day to target weak test takers. Teachers work hard to get low performing students up to speed. That leaves your average and above average students sitting at their desks doing busy work/reading. The principal does a good job of keep parents out of the school and out of the loop. The principal has to go!!! You seldon see her at school functions and some students don't even know who she is. She does not return calls and seldom available to meet with parents. We are not happy campers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

We left this school after kindergarten. At our parent/teacher conference at the end of the year I found out that my son's teacher didn't even know he could read. He was reading on a second grade level. He was also not allowed to make choices all year long. He sat at the same table with the same students in the classroom all year long. He was forced to sit next to the same students in assigned seats at lunch time all year long. If our students don't learn how to make choices at school, how can they learn anything else? The principal was awful and for some reason felt threatened by me. She targeted me for intimidation at every opportunity. How can this school still have 4 stars????? continue reading the reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

On a positive note, I would like to say that the teachers and staff are caring and nurturing individuals. Our three children love their teachers! The teachers at the school try their best to make the school environment fun and exciting; unfortunately, the school's leadership is blind to what's best for the students and focuses on test scores and the cleanliness of the school. As a parent who likes to be involved with my kid's education, I do not feel welcome at the school. I believe the principal uses the tight security policy to keep parents out of the loop. She is not friendly or visible. Keeping shirts tucked-in, the carpet clean, and posting 'quiet zones' give the school an atmosphere of a reform school. We have put our home on the market and anticipate moving closer to a nearby school . Many friends and neighbors are contemplating moving also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

A teacher is what completely drove us away from this school. Instead of helping our child, she chastised and belittled. He went on to another school and now is in the gifted program and thriving. The principal is of no help. This is a mini boot camp. There are a few good things. PE coach is wonderful, and they have great fundraising, but that is ab out it. I will never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My two children just started at Thousand Oaks this semester. So far I am very impressed from the decor and cleanliness of the school to the teachers and office personell. Very organized and the kids love their teachers. Computers everywhere! Kids love the cafeteria as well. richard zephro
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Best school in the city? I'm not sure if we are talking about the same school here. I agree with all the parents about the principal especially. She is hard nosed and nonchalant. This is not one of the best schools. The school is only as good as its principal. I pulled my son out after first semester because I didn't want m to feel like school couldbnt be fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

Cannot disagree more with parents who say that the staff is uncaring. My special needs child has thrived at T. Oaks, as have my other children. Children are enthusiastically greeted each morning, are held to high expecations academically and ethically, and are encouraged to be involved in the community. Arts programs are not as plentiful as I'd like, but that seems to be agenda of No Child Left Behind, not the school itself. Parental involvement is key to school success, and parents are encouraged to be involved in the classroom by participating in classroom activities, having lunch with children, emailing and talking with teachers, etc. Overall one of the best schools in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

On a good note first: They do stress academics here. Most parents want their kids to learn, and Thousand Oaks supplies tough yet exceptional academics. That being said, this is about the only praise I can give this school. They stress academics to the point to where the kids are stressed, and it is mainly to be able to get the highest TAKS scores in the district. The principal has to be one of the most uncaring and aloof principals I have ever came across in my life as a elementary school principal. Scores mean more to her than getting involved with parents or having a good relationship with students. Because of this, I feel the teachers bear down harder on the children than they should. I wish I could write more but I am at my limit on word count, but I hope this can help some!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

My two kids are thriving academically. We have had super good luck with their teachers. We would like to see more music and art programs made available. The biggest gripe is the massive traffic congestion given the undersized parking and drop-off areas. Somehow, the school's safety procedures have kept this at a manageable level. Expanded music and art programs and a longer track season would be especially welcomed by our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

Thousand Oaks Elementary is a wonderful school in a safe neighborhood, with caring, interested teachers and administration. Amy Cardwell, one of the kindergarten teachers, is absolutely fabulous. My son is autistic and was placed in her class, and despite the difficulties his disability created, she not only coped but excelled. She (with the support of the administration) worked with us extensively to create a structure and environment he was comfortable with and handled his needs superbly. She was able to integrate him into a regular classroom setting with typically developing peers to such a seamless extent that he actually had many friends and enjoyed going to school. He even said he wanted to be a teacher when he grew up! In conclusion, you will not go wrong sending your child to Thousand Oaks. They care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

If academics are your priority, then you'll like this school. We are sorely disappointed in the staff and the curriculum. There is no formal arts or music program/teacher...kids learn certain songs for certain 'events', a parent volunteer comes once a month to teach art. Kids test highly here, and no wonder--they teach to the test (TAKS); sad to see little kids so stressed out. After almost a year, we have yet to hear/see a single positive, supportive word from our teacher to our child directly. This is not a very family-friendly place; parent involvement is very, very limited and almost seems discouraged. The principal seems completely disinterested in feedback when it doesn't suit the 'reputation' of the school. We'll be looking elsewhere for a school that encourages not only academics, but arts and music and laughter and compassion for others, not just academics and discipline. No balance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 22, 2006

Excellent school with a very active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Nice but tough! This is a good thing. Great teachers, good parent involvement. Don't like the 'portables' for 4th and 5th graders. Principal is not very open or receptive to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

So far so good. I am an elementary school teacher and my child seems ready for school. Her teacher is nice and helpful. The school has good communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

I love this school and so do my children. I have three children that attend this school and in the five years I have dealt with school staff I have had nothing but positive interactions. The staff is supurb and caring. I love their motto of 'nice matters'. I think that for a 'public' school you get alot of value for your tax dollar. The only objective I have to the school is it's size. It's huge--but it works! Parental involvement is high and not 'clique-ish'. Everyone is welcome. The art a la carte program is great. The PE program make sports fun and the kids justlove their coaches. The music teachers leave a little to be desired and the principal does seem out of touch. Yet the school works, probably due to the high parent involvemnet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Teachers are competent and caring. Facility updates are nice. Principal seems superficial, disinterested, and out of touch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

Most teachers are very involved wih their parents. Students thrive with support and high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

135 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

135 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

131 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

155 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

155 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

154 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female89%
Male96%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education83%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education83%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male99%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education88%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students95%
Female93%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female70%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education25%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female91%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian80%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education58%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female88%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education55%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education60%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female87%
Male94%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education43%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female75%
Male91%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 52%
White 39% 29%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16080 Henderson Pass
San Antonio, TX 78232
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 407-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Coker Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


Harvest Schools
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT