Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thousand Oaks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 755 students

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

This is the first year my daughter has been at Thousand Oaks and we just love the school and the staff. It seems like alot of thought has been put into the operation of the school and the programs work well. The nurse is as great (maybe better than) any pediatrician we have ever used, the school staff is welcoming, our daughters teacher, Ms Cox, is energetic & caring--just the right balance of fun and rules, the principal is kind & is constantly making pleasant chit chat with the kids, the cafeteria is clean & our daughter likes the meals--in fact the whole school is really clean. The only thing that is not great: the playground. Definitely a "5" overall, so glad my child is at Thousand Oaks :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

had 2 simple questions to ask cause they were not on the internet i got a ugly attitude from a lady. & it took them 7 times for them to answet the phone. i really wanted my kids to attendthis school because i am moving in the area but now im thinking twice to keep them in nsisd change your staff please! :/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

This year Thousand Oaks worked very well with extra curriculum classes like drama, music and fitness. They had plays and musicals and my kids had a lot of fun at school. All the kids had a chance to be part of these activities. I'm very pleased with the "Accelerate Reading Program" . My kids are reading above their age level now thanks to all the support that the teachers gave to the students. Great Job Thousand Oaks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

Outstanding school! Mr. Keller, Mrs. Moore, Principal Mai, and the entire faculty/staff are superb! The teaching staff is knowledgeable and well-defined within their scope of learning and instruction. A TOP NOTCH INSTITUTE OF LEARNING/GROWTH! Now in regards to all the negative posts about "petty acts" or "stout disciplinary actions these are obviously from parents (more than likely teenage parents) or pseudo-parental figures that practice this new-age of entitlement. Today s educator is severely underpaid, overworked, and underappreciated! Therefore, place yourself within their shoes and environment. These are highly educated and trained (certified) individuals that go through rigorous phases of background checks and preparation. This does not include the counseling, specialty, or principal staff which requires a Masters degree or higher from a regionally accredited university. Bottom line YOU CAN BE A PART OF THE PROBLEM OR ASSIST THIS STAFF IN A SOUND SOLUTION TOWARDS IMPROVEMENT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

I don't understand all the negative comments about the school, my daughter had attended since kinder. and she will start 4th grade this year, she is a happy and well behave child. Her first teacher was Mrs. Moore and I never had any problem on the way she treated my child on the contrary we only has good thing to say about every single teacher my daughter had through the years on TO. My Child is an A honor roll student and I believe her achivement are part our resposability as parent but also the great teachers she had have every year on TO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

Both my boys love school this year. We have new administration, Mrs. Mai and Mrs. Pearce, who are wonderful and always out and visible to parents, and communicate with each parent effectively. This year, my boys have Mrs. Hinders and Ms. Wood who really care about them not just teaching them. They are both outstanding teachers. When we get there in the morning, they are greeted by name by the coaches, Mr. Keller, both Ms. Shaws and everyone else says good morning. So far it has been a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

Very unsatisfactory school. Mrs. Moore, you should be ashamed of yourself and the way you expect young children to behave. They are KIDS, not mini adults. The principal is not much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

This school is a great school, I have three children enrolled at Thousand Oaks and have been involved in many of the programs that the school offers. The teachers have been good, and although I have noticed some "nit-picking" notes sent home from the teachers, I have determined that usually it is the children who are at fault and should be reprimanded. I would like to see more after-school programs offered (ones of a physical fitness emphasis), but that is my only complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

My daughter has been at Thousand Oaks since Kinder. She just finished first grade. And she has been very successful at thousand oaks. Before she went to this school her reading level was very low. And with the help of Ms. Rubacalba and Mrs. Ritchie. She is ready for second grade. She is at the second grade reading level. I really love Thousand Oaks and I wouldnt have her go annywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

My daughter is a kindergartener and she really enjoyed this school. Her teacher is Mrs.Rubalcaba and she is a wonderful teacher. Very caring and communicates well with the parents.. The only problem I have is; I NEVER saw the principal, I couldnt even tell you what she looked like.. At first I thought this school had no principal, sad but true... I even tried to make an appointment w/ her just to say, 'Hello were new to Texas and I would just like to just introduce myself and see who my childs principal is... No Luck! So my 4 Stars is for the teacher...Mrs. Rubalcaba- Thank you for being such an amazing teacher to my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I unfortunately have to agree with a lot of these negative comments. Coming from another school in NEISD, TO was a huge disappointment. My son's teacher constantly sent home lame notes of how he was twirling around in the line or blowing air in another child's face...just quite petty to say the least. His academics were outstanding, however it was the nit-picking that was pretty frustrating. He was in the first grade at the time, I would not recommend this school to anyone at all! Parents do your homework first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

My son had a great time at this school. This is a great school. My son enjoyed being a kindergartener at this school. Teachers were very helpful and loving. He was in Mrs. Conn's class. He just loved his teacher. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My children attended Thousand Oaks last year and are now in a different school. TO is an Exemplary School but that does not mean it's a good school. Most of the teachers are overwhelmed by the class size, the ill-mannered children who curse at their teachers, and the uninvolved and uninterested parents. The principal was seldom visible, whereas in our new school, the principal is seen every day as he greets the children upon their arrival at school, and is also present for PTA meetings, school social events, etc. The class size at TO hits the maximum number legally allowed, causing the teacher to spend an excessive amount of time and energy to discipline, rather than teaching and encouraging creative thought. One good thing during our time at TO was the PTA, which was made up of some very devoted and incredible parents - they are the saving grace of TO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Please go to the school's website and read the principal's webpage and newsletter. That will give you a pretty good picture of the leadership at Thousand Oaks. Check-out the teacher webpages too. No afterschool enrichment programs sponsored by the school. Teachers are wonderful but the over all morale of the staff is very low. TAKS driven curriculum used to reach high test scores. The principal leads by poor example. Not visable!


Posted August 4, 2008

This school boasts many outstanding teachers and a handful who are punitive and belittling. The principal promotes a family-unfriendly environment. Involvement in the PTA is one way to get around that. Parents are generally friendly. It is outrageous that the school does not allow after-school activities or provide art. I never got a straight answer to explain these situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

I am really impressed by the achievement of Thousand Oaks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I have to say that if the other parents problem is with the rigorous curriculum and lack of arts, then you need to take your child out of Texas or put them in a private school- rather than blaming it on teachers who can only do what the state and their districts tells them to. My son has had wonderful, caring teachers who make school as fun and interesting as possible. I agree about the principal, but if you feel that way about her stay away from Roan Forest!!!! Above all we love it here and have never felt discouraged to participate in our child's education! They are also getting younger teachers which I think will help morale for teachers and students! Office staff is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

Parents, please listen: I will NEVER recommend this school to any parent I meet. Energies are poured into high test scores and fundraising. If I was financially able to do so, I would have placed my child elsewhere. We spent 2 long, sad, horribly disappointing years here The ONLY positive experience (from 3rd-5th grade) were 5th grade teachers (MD, KB). They teach by motivating, not intimidating, and they aren't afraid to be generously kind. If not for these two, I could say absolutely NOTHING good about this place. The principal chooses to ignore parents like me who expect more from education than good test scores. A successful school would inspire children to learn, but it takes a wise leader to create that environment. The principal should be ashamed of herself. NEISD owes our children an apology. I agree with every negative comment written on this site, especially 1/23/06.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

This school has been a big disappointment. The principal is very cold and the teacher morale is low. The special education department needs more training. When I had a meeting with the Principal and staff to discuss my concerns the unfortunate result was poor treatment of my son. When I used the ISD's greivance system, it made the situation even worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

This is a wonderful school. My son is doing very well and loves his teacher. I have to agree with the principal being a bit cold.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

135 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

135 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

131 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

155 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

155 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

154 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female89%
Male96%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education83%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education83%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male99%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education88%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students95%
Female93%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female70%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education25%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female91%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian80%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education58%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female88%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education55%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education60%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female87%
Male94%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education43%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female75%
Male91%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 52%
White 39% 29%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16080 Henderson Pass
San Antonio, TX 78232
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 407-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Coker Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


Harvest Schools
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT