Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

International School of the Americas

Public | 9-12 | 472 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2013

Great school, but....Why are there so few African American students? This school has the LOWEST percentage (1.7%) of African American students in NEISD. No other high school has numbers anywhere near this low. This is particularly problematic given that ISA is a top magnet school that draws from the entire district (and beyond). Diversity and excellence go hand and hand (something I think ISA & NEISD leadership would agree on) so I'm hoping that in the future there will be more serious efforts to recruit and retain African American students at ISA. In my opinion this will result in a student body that is even more prepared to deal with the realities of our city, our state, our country and (perhaps most importantly) the broader WORLD we live in.


Posted November 15, 2011

All three of my children graduated from ISA....two went to the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, the other is at Mills College in Oakland. ISA DEFINITELY prepared my children to succeed in college and life. Small classes, engaged teacher who WANT to be at school, and lots of life lessons for all students...especially in the good citizen category.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

ISA has taught me a lot about being a good citizen and person in general. It has given me many opportunities I wouldn't have been able to have at any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2010

ISA is such a wonderful school. I am currently a junior and have been at ISA since my freshman year. This school does so much to challenge you, make you look at the bigger picture, look at different perspectives, and to continually make a difference no matter how big or how small. We, the juniors, just recently got back from the Alabama Civil Rights Trip. I can honestly say that it has changed me for the better. Being able to talk with people whom were alive during the Civil Rights Movement was amazing. ISA is one big family, including all grades, the teachers and the faculty. You could go to them about anything, and they actually care. This is a wonderful school and I would definitely recommended applying here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

Great Teachers, wonderful travel experiences
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I have a child who has tested gifted or in the 99 percentile in any standardized test she has taken. Much of the work she was given in Alamo Heights did not challenge her. It killed me to watch her spend precious time on this type of homework, because she already mastered the subject matter. At ISA she has never been involved in a project where she wasn t challenging herself. She has absolutely blossomed, loving the educational experience. She is very happy there, and learning the important lessons of life. I can t say enough good things about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

I have two children who attend ISA, my son is a senior and my daughter is a sophmore. I couldn't be happier, because I've never seen them happier. The teachers and administration are completely approachable, no matter what the issue is. I have two of the world's worst procrastinaters, but somehow the teachers have taught them time management skills that will be extremely helpful in college. Their experiences while in ISA will, I'm sure, serve them well for the rest of their lives. Academics beyond compare, caring teachers and staff, unbelievable learning through travel, and friendships to last a lifetime, what can I say? ISA is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

this is such an amazing school. My oldest child is a junior this year, and she has never been happier or more successful than she is at ISA. She is involved with the MUN program, and is surrounded by kids who love to learn and teachers who love to teach.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 13, 2005

This is a school that offers experiances you can't find anywhere else. The administration is great and friendly, and the enviornment is always laid-back and welcoming. If you are selected to go to this school you are in for a great four years.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2005

I am an alumni of 2001. Throughout my four years at ISA, there was at least one community service project going on every week and plenty during the summer. Most students and parents were familiar with each other by participating in countless school projects and events. Lee High School proudly accepted us in their athletic programs. Quite a few students also attended the nearby art school, NESA. I rated the safety and discipline high, even though I used to breakdance in the hallways when they always told me not to. I used to be unsure what I wanted to do in life. It was recommended by Mrs. Ozuna that I join the military. Now I am an E-3 Navy Corpman, and I love my job.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 25, 2004

We are current students of ISA and we love it. It shows us responsibility and ways to improve the community around us. We take pride in our school and would recommend anyone to come here if they are ready to prepare for their future. Dr. Albright, our principal, is the best principal ever and we couldn't love her more. We are more than just a number, with only 480 students in our school, and she knows each of us by name. We can talk to her about anything and she is helpful and understanding. ISA challenges us to challenge ourselves. -Jess and Mari
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2004

Mt son is a sophomore at ISA, taking 7 solids and Art this year, as well as participating in Model United Nations, one of the strengths of the school. Additionally, the whole sophomore class just returned from Zacatecas, Mexico, a study trip they have been preparing for since August. For our son, ISA couldn't be beat even by the elite schools, for there each student is taught the subject matter a variety of ways, so each type of learner can master the material. Students are confident, becasue at ISA, students do everything, even make proposals to foundations (in person, dressed appropriately!) to fund some of the special programs, like Model U.N. The kids feel like they own the school, and are very proprietary, keeping it decorated, clean, productive and happy. It is not the school for the student who cannot be self-directed, however. Although the staff is incredibly available to help students, or to just listen to them, they do not nag students to produce.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
82%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
85%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students92%
Female96%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education83%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education71%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students87%
Female94%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education57%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students90%
Female91%
Male87%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students93%
Female92%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 50%
White 34% 31%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Jackson Keller Rd
San Antonio, TX 78213
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 356-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lee High School
San Antonio, TX



Homebased Comp Ed
San Antonio, TX


Alternative High School
San Antonio, TX


Rick Hawkins High School
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT