Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Meadow Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
This our first year and we love it!! (1st grade). Very attentive to any needs.

Oak Meadow Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
We adore this school! Kids are happy, thriving and truly demonstrate respect and leadership. The principal connects monthly with parents during coffee chats on important topics. There is a healthy attitude towards state tests that reduces anxiety among staff and kids. The focus is clearly on learning and meeting the needs of every child. The Gifted/Talented program has been a great fit and also hosts a MIndfest team event for the entire school. PTA is active and welcoming and funds a wonderful art teacher and a garden program. The bilingual preschool and integrated sign language magnet school make it a very unique campus. (Sign club is very popular with all the students and their performances will move you to tears!) Enrollment is much smaller than other area schools, making it a close-knit, peaceful campus with nicely balanced diversity (ethnic, economic, religion). The music program is getting stronger thanks to an energetic new teacher. We have been very happy with all our teachers--they all communicate well in different styles (text, email, notes). The campus is well equipped with smart boards, computers, tablets, etc. We will be sad to leave this very special school.


Oak Meadow Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attened OME school since Kindergarden, and I must say, this is one of the best schools! They are extremely Parent Teacher oriented, and involve the students in whatever they can! This is like a private school with the exception of teaching the Word. - OME shows leadership and other schools should attempt to be more like them!

Oak Meadow Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends to this school, this is her first year and I love it, out of all the schools around the area this is my favorite one, the teachers are so nice and they dedicate their time to the students, she has learned so much and she is just in P-K

Oak Meadow Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2011
- a parent
I currently have 1 child in this school and so far have been very pleased. I love how they great every kid @ the door and know 99% of all names. It's very "family" oriented, so far everyone seems very involved and caring and all are focused on learning which reflect in test scores. Some PTA members are very "Blah" and monotone. I love how kids art work is displayed for all to see. Sign language is huge there and I appreciate that as well. Seems very safe as well. I wish there were more technology used there. (Texting teachers, more emails, video etc) Overall I am happy I picked Oak Meadow over where she was "suppose" to go and even over school located Huebner which never called me back to set up an appointment to walk the school. Oak Meadow allows me to sleep at night that my child is in good hands.


Oak Meadow Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
I have had two children in this school, and I have been very pleased. They are both in the GT classes and have found it to be challenging and rewarding. The school has been very responsive when my children had difficulties related to family issues. The sign-language classes are particularly good.

Oak Meadow Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
when is graduation for the 5th gragers

Oak Meadow Elementary School 1

Posted December 22, 2008
- a parent
My son entered kindergarten at this school and I was extremely disappointed. I had heard good things about this school and had researched it before he started. However, what I read and what I found personally were extremely disjointed. The teacher was more concerned with whether my son would behave in class than what he was going to be learning. I also found the office staff to be very unfriendly.


Oak Meadow Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and staff are wonderful, very caring and concern about the children. Specially Ms. White. She's the Special Education Teacher.

Oak Meadow Elementary School 3

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
Good reading program, but trying to deal with administration outside of the teacher is very frustrating. Communication, coordination is bad and there is no follow through. This is a good school if your child does not require assisstance outside of the classroom. If your child requires additional help, look elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Meadow Elementary School
2800 Green Run Lane, San Antonio, TX  78231
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (210) 407-5800
Last modified Oak Meadow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top