Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Locke Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Incredible teachers who care about my son. The GT teachers goes above and beyond to help her students learn. Caring and warm environment!

Locke Hill Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The best way to describe Locke Hill Elementary and their staff, is THEY ARE AWESOME!!! Academically they are top notch and all the staff are caring people, that love and protect the children. A big thank you to Locke Hill Elementary.


Locke Hill Elementary School 1

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
Principal is unfriendly to parents and students and is not a good leader. Teachers are wonderful and care about their students.

Locke Hill Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
They should have summer school here at Locke Hill instead of Howsman cause Locke Hill will be a better school for summer school cause it's closer to my house so can it be at Locke Hill this summer cause my kids want to go to summer school and they want it at there school Locke Hill.

Locke Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
After having two nearly grown daughters "make it" through the public scho system, I have to say this is my favorite elementary school by far. I found the principal and vice principal to be approachable and accommodating. The front office staff are friendly and helpful. My son is in Kinder and I honestly didn't know how he'd do because he has been he with me and his sisters his whole life...no daycares, etc. Because of his teacher and the atmosphere he has done very well and exceeded all my expectations. I can speak for every teacher, but my son got a good match. Sadly, we have to move this school year, and I will miss this school terribly! The only suggestion I have for this school is to let parents who want to eat lunch with their child, eat at the table with the class. Right now, you and your child have to eat at separate tables. I stopped eating lunch with him because he needs to bond with his classmates. When my daughters were young, I could eat at the table with all the kids and it was nice being able to talk with all the kids and I truly think it helps the kids get to know my son a little better and that he has a mother who cares.


Locke Hill Elementary School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
This is the first year that my son has attended Locke Hill. So far I think the staff and teachers are professional and polite. I think there is so much more that could be done as far as parent participation and volunteering as a whole. The major concern is campus security. There is little to no security and this school is on a major thoroughfare. The other problem is drop off and pick up is a disaster. There are no traffic patrols (child nor adult) and I feel like its all an accident waiting to happen. If you pick up your child after school, you have to go to a designated classroom. No ID's checked at the door, only once you are on campus and at the classroom. It takes me about 20 minutes to pick up my kid when at his last school, it took about 5 minutes.

Locke Hill Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Starting with the teachers in Kinder, this school is all about the students! It's great to watch all the teachers get to know all the children (not just the ones in their class). I've watched my son gain confidence in self as well as advance in his academics. The teachers adjust to the students' needs by acknowledging that some need more guidance/instruction while others are needing more challenges. The school's strong sense of community pride is evident in its association with the church next door (University United Methodist), Clark high school, and annual Carnival fund-raiser. Our family earnestly looks forward to watching this school continue its tenured position in the district and the community!! LION PRIDE!!!

Locke Hill Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
I would certainly recommend this school! So many great teachers with great energy and big big smiles and warm hearts. Lots and lots of learning and fun goes on here! Very happy with my daughter's experience from K-5. The only negative I would say is the leadership from the principal and her just general unpleasant attitude, kids fear her and i found her to be kind of a bully - and a music teacher who should have retired years ago. If those things were fixed, would be a perfect score. Overall the good from the teachers and the learning environment far outweighs the negative with the principal.


Locke Hill Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Locke Hill! We have been so pleased with our son's educational experience at this school over the past two years. The teachers have been exceptional, and the principal, vice-principal, and school counselor have always been caring and attentive to the needs of children at the school. Despite the fact that the school is fairly large, the staff at the school seem to know every child's name, which always impressed me. The school has a warm, welcoming atmosphere, and I love the school's focus on READING because it's so important to set a strong reading foundation at a young age. I was nervous when we first sent our son to school because he had significant behaviorial issues, but the staff at the school worked with me to address and resolve those issues, and our son is now an excellent student. We're getting ready to move, so unfortunately, our son won't attend Locke Hill anymore, but I would definitely encourage other parents to send their children to this school.

Locke Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
This school has really amazing teachers! I cannot say enough good things about the teachers-we have been at Locke Hill since 2001 and the teachers are professionals, nurturers and do an all around great job. They continue to exceed our expectations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Locke Hill Elementary School
5050 De Zavala Road, San Antonio, TX  78249
(210) 397-1600
Last modified Locke Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Locke Hill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top