Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rudder Middle School 4

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
My students attend Rudder. I believe that it is a very high quality school. The teachers put forth great effort to teach the students and to hold them to high expectations in their academics. The coaching staff is awesome and the band directors push the musicians to become the best they can be. I have notices that there is a wide variety of students at Rudder and my students love getting to meet all types of people. When I have interacted with the administration, they have had the safety and care of the students as their highest priority. In fact, I have heard them say multiple times that I a child doesn't feel safe they cannot learn. Rudder is a great place to send your students and I am proud that my children had the opportunity to go there.

Rudder Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2013
- a community member
Teacher quality is sometimes good. They care about teaching you but that's about it. When it comes to bullying, they only send the person they assume is the bully to ISS and/or alternative school. They only send the student to the counselor if that student is crying all day or if they complain about wanting to kill themselves. The principal rarely gets involved and if she does it's only about threatening to send the student to lunch detention if they wear a blue sweater with a logo even though it's 40 degrees outside. They have lockers everywhere even though they are banned to use. The worst thing is probably the "populars." Teachers never notice this. Heck, they even treat the populars better! What I mean by populars is those who wear skin-tight khakis, XS polo shirts, dye their hair every 2 weeks, and get new boyfriends/girlfriends every other day. They only use non-populars to ask for homework answers. Other than that, they treat them like trash. If you are thinking of putting your child in this school and are not willing to buy them khakis and polos that are 3 sizes below their regular or bring them to the salon to dye their hair every other week, this isn't the school for you.


Rudder Middle School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
My daughter went there all three years never had a problem they are strict, but i guess its a good way to control teenagers the officer at the school very friendly and helpful. The past principal Mr. Zolinski was the best. Got parents involved which is good for kids to see there parents there.This principal is new havent really seen her. But overall GREAT SCHOOL.

Rudder Middle School 5

Posted January 21, 2010
- a student
i think rudder is awsome! they have great food, nice teachers, but the students are only mean to you if you mess with them.

Rudder Middle School 5

Posted July 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Rudder Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Rudder Middle School 4

Posted December 20, 2008
- a student
I go to rudder nad i in the 8th grade i went ther for 7th and 6th grade so i went there for all three years and ther is really nothing worng with the school they need to be a little less strict on the tardy and on the dress code.

Rudder Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2007
- a student
This is a great middle school to attend. The teachers really know how to teach and they will do anything to help you learn.


Rudder Middle School 4

Posted April 19, 2006
- a student
I went to Rudder from 7th to 8th grade, and it was pretty cool except for the partent involvement. They got too involved and made the student dress code change to uniforms.

Rudder Middle School 4

Posted March 21, 2006
- a student
Pretty good school, very good teachers. My son is in band, and the band director is very outgoing and exciting. 10 out of 10!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rudder Middle School
6558 Horn Boulevard, San Antonio, TX  78240
(210) 397-5000
Last modified Rudder Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rudder Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top