Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 510

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bonham Academy 3

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
Bonham Academy is within San Antonio ISD, so it will be limited by the school district's mandates to drill, teach to the test, and to do just the minimum to ensure enrollment and funding. The principal has been at this school for three years and has failed to show leadership and creativity. Her actions are dictated by the district's anxieties and fears, due to its "unacceptable" rating, because of low test scores in the school district overall. It is not a true dual-language school, since there are few actual Spanish-speaking children in each class. So much potential there. Frustrating.

Bonham Academy 4

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
the Dual Language Program is fantastic. My kindergartener is able to speak and read in English and Spanish!


Bonham Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Great community school, most active parent group of ANY school. Parents helped raise over $60,000 in ONE year (and this school just serves 500 kids) through multiple fundraisers, grants, festivals, community events, and more. Kids are more than test scores, they are real people. School is a community charter, emphasizing pillars of Cultural Arts, Environmental Education, and Dual Language.

Bonham Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Bonham Academy is a happy place for children - children are learning in two languages and sometimes three, they come from all backgrounds and work constructively together, teachers are positive and nurturing and they have a wonderful network of parents and community members.

Bonham Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
My daughter started Kinder last year at Bonham Academy and she loves it! She has learned so much in English and Spanish. She comes home speaking spanish and has even learned some chinese and german! I love this school! There is a lot of Parent involvement and my daughters teacher is always available to answer questions and concerns.


Bonham Academy 3

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
Bonham became an Academy (Pre-K -8 grades) about two years ago. The jury is still out, though it doesn't look good! There are good reasons to have good solid Middle Schools with rigorous and varied programs instead of Academies which only tend to hide, temporarily, the lack of good Middle School programs. Looking at my kids homework I wonder about the Science and Math instruction at Bonham. When my kids are Middle School aged they will attend traditional Middle Schools elsewhere. Art is great and so are Dual Language programs, Math and Science programs should not however suffer to have these. It would be nice to see this District and Community make serious financial commitments to rigorous Science and Math offerings in solid Middle Schools. Children should be well rounded, but they should also be prepared to work in areas requiring Science and Math.

Bonham Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
My daughter started school this year at Bonham. But I don't seem to get communication with her teacher. Even though I asked her teacher. I don't get good feedback on whats going on in class. I wonder if other parents feel this way

Bonham Academy 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a student
Bonham rocks they have the latest stratagies and make learning so fu this coming from fifth grader that used to hate school


Bonham Academy 4

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bonham Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2005
- a parent
I have to say that I am very impressed with this school. My children attended Bonham for two years and this is an all around excellent school. Both my children ended both years with honor roll all year long and I contribute that to the awesome teachers and the great principle and of course to the great staff. And to all the parents who put in so much effort into the programs there like Art Smart, Pta, Boy and Girl Scouts, Music, and the Secret Garden. Working all together they made my children love to learn. Special thanks to Mr. Medina, Mrs. Vardiman, Mrs. Schwab, Mrs. Pacheco, Mrs. Samsel, and Boy Scout leader/ PTA President/ and wonderful role model to all children Roger Garcia. Without all you great, outstanding people this school would go down in flames fast. God Bless.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonham Academy
925 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX  78205
(210) 228-3300
Last modified Bonham Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bonham Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top