Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burbank High School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Burbank was a good school for my daughter, who graduated this past year. I feel my daughter received a good education, and more importantly she had excellent teachers that taught her to believe on herself and her dreams. She is now attending college and doing great on her first semester..

Burbank High School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
One of the best school in san antonio, might not have the greatest scores, but teachers do care for the students.


Burbank High School 5

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
Burbank is a great school and it is one of thegreatest in the south. It houses the brightest smartest student. There magnet program are excellent IB, prepares students for higher education to compete in prestigious colleges around the world.

Burbank High School
no rating

Posted August 28, 2009
- a student
Burbank, is an acceptable insitution, and I'm proud to call it my home. Yes there are a couple of fights here and there, and administration may be difficult to deal with at times, but overall 'change is a good thing'' and it was just what Burbank needed. The school year is just beginning and I get a good attitude from all my teachers. Most of the kids there are respectable and trustworthy. Though there are remnants of peer pressure stil bugging around, it is a great school and I like being here.

Burbank High School 4

Posted February 23, 2009
- a student
Burbank is a great school. I graduated from there and was also in the IB program. The IB graduating class of 2008 ALONE raised over 7.5 million dollars in scholarships. And that was only from one program. Many of my friends went to prestigious schools such as Vanderbilt, Brown, and Incarnate Word. Burbanks TAKS scores are also very high in all grades. Also the athletics are not too shabby. (Except football). Basketball, Baseball, Volleyball, Tennis, Swim, Golf, Soccer, Softball all have outstanding achievements. For Burbank Being an Inner City School it performs well and out does all of the other schools in its district.


Burbank High School 4

Posted August 29, 2008
- a student
I myself am in the IB program at this school (in fact I think I recognize who the first comment is about). There are some problems. A high amount of pregnant girls. Still even the pregnant girls are treated well with parental classes and many ways to get them their high school diploma. We seem to have a bad reputation even though our groups of Acadamic Decatholon, AP, IB and such all do extreamly well, which I suspect is because of our not too great football team (we do have good soccer, baseball and other teams...just never football). Even our cosmo group is great, giving people the chance to graduate with a beauty degree. All in all we do pretty well. New administration is making things tricky, but it is a good school for any type of students. (and the IB is pretty good giving opportunities to anyone)

Burbank High School
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
This school has many internal problems they need to deal with. principal does not run the school but a few over-zelous woman whom are power hungry uncaring and are tearing the very fabric of this institution to the ground. teachers are being forced to cover there behinds and not care about the children. which scares me since the check the block attititude is the very reason our society is going to crap.

Burbank High School 5

Posted August 06, 2005
- a parent
My son is Black and is having a wonderful experience at Burbank. He is taking Spanish and in the International Baccalaureate Program, which I endorse 100%. The accelerated classes are earning him college credit as well as preparing him to be accepted at 95% of colleges here and abroad. The teachers are very supportive and have gone above and beyond to give him exposure to academic opportunity while allowing him the flexibility to participate in sports. There have been no fights, no racial slurs or overt exclusion by his classmates.

Nearby schools

Burbank High School
1002 Edwards, San Antonio, TX  78204
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (210) 532-4241
Last modified Burbank High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top