Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 1,719

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highlands High School 4

Posted January 12, 2014
- a community member
This school is okay,has a amazing STEM program,teachers are nice,staff okay just need to be a bit better but I think overall it a good school, also it safe environment.

Highlands High School 5

Posted May 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Highlands High School 3

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
Highlands overall is a very good school. The problems that arise here are the own students fault. Its drama. Every highschool you attend will have it. The teachers are passionate if you respect them and allow them to teach. The administration is ridiculously unstructured. They dont care, and are very rude to the students. They adress the dress code more which pushes away students rather than being happy that they are present in class to begin with. I enjoy my classes, and I am looking forward to a great senior year.

Highlands High School 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
The students can have the enthusiasm to do well and contribute all their energy in the organizations, but when one faculty member decides to change the rules and becomes non active , the students follow the instructors attitude. The lack of support from the administration makes it worse. Not having events such as TOP 10 Sr acknowledgment , or class ring ceremony or NHS a part of the graduation ceremony is just outright disappointing to all the students who were driven .

Highlands High School 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a student
It is a very nice school. The staff is freindly. There are a few problems, but they are usually minor.


Highlands High School 1

Posted February 20, 2009
- a student
Very poor teching techniques, staff is very rude and student assistance is poor

Highlands High School 2

Posted December 19, 2008
- a student
The thing i truley can not stand is that they change every freaking thing. Such as the schedule in my freshman year they decided to have an all freashman lunch then after the semester they changed it ( that is stupid in the first place). Then my sophmore year they decided to put the girls athletic period to fourth period instead of our normal first, and then decided to change it the next year. then of course the infamous A/B schedule, which i love due to my demanding classes, but the rumor going around school is that they are going to change it to an eight period a day schedule after the semester. This is the one i truly hate the most. 45 minutes for a class is enough time to get the role done. What can you truly teach in 45 minutes??? they don't ask anyone's opinions on it.

Highlands High School 4

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
I am impressed with the staff at Highlands. I do wish that our school board members get involved with special needs for the teachers and students. Not just in sports but in the fine arts. I feel that there is segregation between the departments (athletics/fine arts) for many years, whereas one is favored than the other. They should be equally supported by the school board and administration financially & academeclly. Thats where everybody counts and making our administration accountable, helping our students become strong supporting citizens of San Antonio.


Highlands High School 4

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
Most of the administrators are good, and only a few are still learning. The principal is a very casual and outgoing woman. She's was very respectable and open to me with or without concerns. Most of the teachers I've experienced or observed are very patient and passionate to the students, yet a few are still learning. The school has a small problem with kids who choose to not go to class, but they have many experimental incentives and consequences that seem to help. I give special kudos to Ms. C.S. (academic dean) for her patience with the kids. Considering this is one of SAISD's largest High Schools, they do a good job overall and offer many educational and athletic choices for their students. Considering no schools can be perfect, I believe that Highlands is above average.

Highlands High School 1

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlands High School
3118 Elgin Avenue, San Antonio, TX  78210
(210) 333-0421
Last modified Highlands High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highlands High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top