Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 694

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Big Country Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2011
- a parent
I agreew ith the last comment. I have 3 kids that attend this school. Every since they came to this school there grades have dropped tremendously. My son was on the gifted and talented at previous schools and since we been here he is failing. What I dont understand is how is he failing a class but he passes his benchmarks with 100's and he passes his TAKS with above avg? Someone tell me what sense does that make. I am looking for another school for my children. I have communicated with all there teachers and no one as yet to help me out. I carea bout my childrens education obvious they do not.

Big Country Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Big Country Elementary School 2

Posted November 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Big Country Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2008
- a parent
The school went from Exemplary to academically acceptable in the last couple of years. The only major change was a new principal and vice principal. I get the feeling that most of the teachers don't want to be there. The new principal seems nice enough but the schools scores have steadily dropped since she took charge. I am very disappointed with the school and its performance. Since I looked at the latest test scores I am looking for an alternative.

Big Country Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Big Country Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
The teachers & administrators are fabulous! The school has several activities throughout the year to help parents get involved & to keep the year fun for the kids. Just because this is a Title I school, don't think for a minute that children are getting anything less than an excellent education!

Big Country Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
Hi, I really like the teachers and administrators at this school. My son has attended here for the past 2 years and he loves it. It's a great school!

Big Country Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
Big Country is the best school my children have attended. We moved from the NISD and I couldn't be happier. My son is a bit advanced for his age and his teacher took extra time to make sure he didn't get bored. I would certainly recommend the school to anyone.


Big Country Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
I also would not recommend this school to anyone. This is the fourth year my child has been there and the worst year thus far. Most of the teachers do not look like they want to be there. This will definitely be the last year my child attends this school and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Big Country Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
I find that the communication betweenschool personnel and parents is limited. Since the switch of administrion in 2005 and 2006, the quality of instruction has declined.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Big Country Elementary School
11914 Dragon Lane, San Antonio, TX  78252
(210) 645-7560
Last modified Big Country Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Big Country Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top