Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Antonian College Prep

Private | 9-12 | 705 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

My son attended ACP for two years. We finally removed him after a series of bad or no teachers. His algebra 2 teacher could only do the problems that were listed as examples in the book. In two years he never had a real English teacher. They were either on leave or fired resulting in a constant substitutes. Honors classes are based on which parent is the loudest there isn't enough room in them for everyone who deserves to be there. He is getting a much better education and more challenging classes at our local public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

There is a good reason that ACP is known as "A Place Called Home". The students, faculty, administration, and families all work together for an outstanding high school experience. The curriculum is rigorous (classes are all at the College Prep level or above), the spiritual element is pervasive and inspiring, and the extracurriculars are open to all. We are so happy to be a part of this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My 4th child will be attending Antonian this year! The faculty and staff are awesome and they are always cheerful and ready to assist in anyway possible! My children have thrived at Antonian and sending them there was the best decision we made for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

Antonian is a very good school and the staff is there to support the students' learning. Like any school, there are soft spots and strong spots in the faculty and curriculum. The really strong part of Antonian is the environment. Students treat each other with respect and kindness. The math department is very strong, as is the Social Studies Department. Science at the higher levels needs some beefing up and rigor put in the program. The band is a bright spot and is an excellent extracurricular. Sports are led very well by the Athletic Directors. Devlynn Lovell is the best track and cross country coach I have ever seen! The comments in previous reviews about the Principal are not correct as he is in a leadership position and sometimes has to make hard decisions that some parents don't like. He is a good leader, and has put Antonian in first place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

ACP is a good school. It has many fine teachers, but it's share of bad ones too. The principal has a reputation of someone you like or hate...don't get on his bad side! He doesn't understand the need for athletics, but luckily the parents carry this load. My kids seem to enjoy the school though too often I see parents having to intervene with petty politics relating to teachers or the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

I have never been happier-attending this school was the best decision I ever made. Teachers are excellent as well as the academics. There are lots of sports to choose from and all have fantastic winning records. Stop by for a visit and see for yourself-this place is the place to be!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2007

The best private high school in San Antonio


Posted January 30, 2005

This school is the Premier Catholic High School in San Antonio. It serves as the Flagship school for the Archdiocese of San Antonio. Antonian has a 70% admission rate and serves over twenty (20)feeder Catholic schools. It is a twice winner of the National Blue Ribbon School of Excelelnce Awards, was recently named one of the top fifty (50) Catholic High Schools in the United States, was a semifinalist in the Twenty First Century Schools of Distinction Program and was twice names by the San Antonio Express News as having the top private school athletic program in San Antonio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2003

Excellent learning atmosphere. Blue ribbon school twice in the last five years. Wonderful environmnet for developing the total student and preparing them for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 78% 51%
White 21% 31%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 344-9267

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6425 West Avenue
San Antonio, TX 78213
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 344-9265

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lee High School
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT