Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2010

The principal cares about, money only,but now she is going to retire,so the school will have a new principal who hopefully will be better.There is this mentality that the kids are just there to study but not to be cared about with kindness and respect. Teachers don't want to clarify schoolwork or answer questions of the students after school. The after school program's director cares 0 for the kids,she doesn't want to do anything for them. She denies the kids food if they forget to bring money from home and water if they forget to get their water. At times she and her staff refuse to wait with the kids if their parents haven't arrived,and often call the kids names and screams at them when kids are out of control. They can be very cruel. Terrible program!


Posted May 4, 2010

With two major changes this year; both the Vice Principal and Principal no longer present, improvements should begin. Had these changes not been made, we would not re-enroll our child nor recommend Holy Spirit to others. The 'waiting list' mind set gets very OLD and is very disrespectful to the parents and children alike. Parental concerns had been approached in a cold and callous fashion with zero regard for what is in the best interest of the child; truely a very old school mentality. In this case of the changes made, change is a wonderful thing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

TThe house that Father Tony and Father Walsh built needs an overhaul. The school has been losing good teachers in the higher grades, and the (relatively) new principal does not adequately addresse parental concerns. The school's cirriculum lags behind in math relative to NEISD schools, but in other respects is roughly equivalent. If you live in an NEISD school district, then academically you can get at least and equivalent but often times better education, and put the private school tuition $$ towards saving for college. Principal is inflexible, which is not what parents expect in a private school environment, and makes inconsistent decisions with what appears to be a lack of sincere regard for parental concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I must agree with the parent from 9/19. We have seen a change in the administration and after working with children who are struggling, there are more resources in the public sector that are available to assist them with specific challenges. The parents involvement in the school and in your childs life is crucial. Holy Spirit encourages and requires your involvement. They are focused on your child succeding as long as you have the same goal, there should not be a concern. It's a great community to be a part of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

I'm a parent of two in the school and the previous review is completely wrong! The administration and faculty bend over backwards for the kids! However, if your child is constantly disruptive during lessons -- you will be asked to withdraw them. They don't need to put up with the behavioral disorders the public school does and it shows. The kids and teachers are focused on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I would NOT EVER recommend this school, administration and faculty does not consider the best interest of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

Holy Spirit is a fantastic school! This is our first year here (2nd & PK4) and my kids love it! They both have very good teachers and the curriculum is very strong. We came from another catholic elementary school with higher tuition and lower academic standards and are extremely pleased with the strength of the teachers and the entire feeling the school gives off. My children have never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Holy Spirit is a wonderful school. My child attended Holy Spirit and received a wonderful education. She has since graduated from Texas A&M at College Station and is currently working as a chemist for a engineering firm in Austin. While my child attended Holy Spirit I worked as a teacher. The entire faculty and staff at Holy Spirit were professional dedicated people. I felt very sad when I heard that the principal that I worked with was no longer there. I feel that Holy Spirit Catholic School is going to miss Joanne Gawlik in the coming years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

The Academics are well above average-there are some good teachers doing excellent work...there are also some accidents waiting to happen.If your child is a girl she may do well in the middle school but if they are a boy(s) this is definitely not the place. It is run like a girls school and there is no apparent understanding of the functioning of the adolescent brain. The previous review of the principal is on the money.Her attitude is quite clear 'we have a waiting list' so we do not have to listen to your concern, much less work with you! You are very much left to feel like 'if you don't like it, leave'. Your child will get a good education,no doubt, but he/she probably not see school or learning as an adventure or source of fullfilment that it could be. Too bad really, there is a ton of money at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

I love the parent involvment and the volunteer requirements.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 13, 2006

The school tuition seems to be a bit high.. This is my first year sending my little girl she is in Kindergarden She will be going into first grade next year and her younger sister will be starting Kindergarden.. The school itself seems to have a good academic program and my girl has had a chance to learn about music, art, and other extracurricular activities but most of all the cathalic back ground and teachings . The school seems to have and want a great deal of parent involvement, in my opinion this is great... Some times there is so much involvement that a parent may not be able to join in on every thing but it's nice that they ask and encourage the parents as much as they do. In my opinion this is a great school and hope that your children enjoy it as well.. Sylvia Moreno Bulverde TX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

Great school. A little expensive but well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

Poor administration, losing all the good teachers. Families are great, but school is in need of an overhaul. In need of a new principal to turn the school around. Considering the price of tuition, they should have stronger teachers and a better principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Parents tend to be clickish if you are not active in the parish. The school however is first rate. We have had our kids there for 9 years. Very good teachers and admin. staff. Tuition is some what expensive at over $4000.00 for 10 months non-parish rates.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 31%
Hispanic 43% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Black 0% 13%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (210) 349-1247

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

770 West Ramsey Road
San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone: (210) 349-1169

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eisenhower Middle School
San Antonio, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT