Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit Catholic School

Private | 2-11

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

Can the poster that recently posted on March 31 elaborate on the poor management style and lack of plans by the principal? I'm looking into the school and would like feedback, please. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

I am very displeased about this school. Although the parent involvement community has been good. There needs to be change in administration. The principal talks down to parents and to students. She is arrogant and likes to intimidate parents, students and staff. There are a few teachers who feel entitled and are "cliquish". During carline pick-up there are a few teachers who will not take the kids to their cars unless the parents drive a certain model or have a certain status. I was heartbroken to hear of the infinite issues regarding the principal and her lack of leadership skills and plan of action. She is tactless and has no faith in the children achieving. She is unprofessional, unethical and leads by fear! Did anyone check her previous employer? I think she needs to go back to Illinois!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Not what I expected from a Catholic School. Disappointed with every aspect of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

This school has been disappointing in every way possible from the ineffective administration, to the inadequate curriculum, and the less than mediocre teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

Please keep in mind that if you are on a waiting list, there are other nearby Catholic Schools that have great reviews without a waiting list. My family pulled my niece out because of cliquish (bullying)behavior that would go uncorrected by teachers and administration. God Bless!


Posted September 17, 2013

Why are there no recent reviews? Is someone taking them off? I just think it's suspicious that there hasn't been a review on this school since Feb. 2013!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Just for the record - Holy Spirit Catholic School is having an outstanding year under the leadership of the new Principal - who has 29 years of education experience - 12 as a Principal of a Catholic School and 7 in the Public Sector. (Great combination!)Curriclum allignment and professional Development are two major areas she seems to be focusing on this year. As a parent, it is evident that under her direction, HSCS is stronger today than it has been in the last 5 years. I think if you surveyed the parents today - you would see that the "extremely satisfied" category would be checked for solid academics immersed in our wonderful Catholic faith. I would not even consider sending my kids elsewhere. This community is a place I am proud our family belongs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I have been so disappointed in this school this past year and wish we would not have waited 5 years to leave. Holy Spirit has fallen short in many ways and I am actually worried that our child will be behind when attending public school next year. Don't get me wrong, there are good teachers in every school and I love some of them here, but this school seems to have more than its share of inept teachers. The teachers focus more on what they can find that is wrong with a student instead of trying to discover how they can help them to become better, more mature students. They need to focus more on actually enabling their students. We are so happy to not be returning this next year. They need some direction and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

My family has been attending Holy Spirit school for many years. Yes, the school has been through a lot of changes the past few years. However, change is always good. The changes that have occurred have not affected my family or my children at the school in any way. Academically my children have been learning beyond their grade level. Spiritually, they have been nurtured with love and compassion. Their love for Jesus and one another radiates from their knowledge in faith. Overall, I believe the school is phenomenal. We are very happy at this school and would not go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

So there's a new principal who will replace the previous inept individual. I am optimistic and believe she may just have what it takes to break up the current staff who has led this school to the dump! We shall see...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 26, 2012

For the parent who posted the 4 star comment on 3/22, either you work for the school or have your head someplace else. You seem to have really personalized those comments about the VP and stressed how many hours she works. How do you know this and why do you seem to take the comments so personal? Many,many parents at Holy Spirit are unhappy. What about the multiple families who pulled their children out of the 4th grade mid-year this year? What about the numerous comments about how cold and uninvolved the VP is this year? What about the 1st grade teacher's aid who yells at the children in the lunch room. Really? You don't see any of this? I'm not buying it. These comments and experiences I know for a fact come from highly involved parents which is exactly why they are leaving the school! In addition, your last comment about praying for us. No need. I for one do not need nor want prayers that come from a self-righteous and indignant individual such as your response indicates that you are. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

AHHH! Ignorance is bliss Are you kidding me? I was there for 4 years and only saw nothing but teachers roaming the halls and chatting away while the poor students were losing out. REMEMBER this school was once Blue Ribbon and has now lost that staus due to poor academics. The administration is by far professional. I still have friends who attend and say she is rude and does not respond to parents phone calls or emails. Please don't embellish and say that she is available-- By the way, you are right we were not happy and left your so called "awesome school" a year ago. What a complete difference between the schools--the difference is amazing!


Posted March 22, 2012

Holy Spirit Catholic School is a wonderful place for children to attend school and acquire a foundation for education. I have a child in high school who went throughout HSCS and is excelling in academics as well as being a well rounded child. We have a middle schooler attending this year and could not be happier. The assistant principal has stepped in and demonstrated excellence and professionalism where there was none due the inefficiencies and mistakes made by the former principal. She works countless hours, is available to staff, students and parents. Many parents today don't want to work "with" educators. They do not teach responsibility and everything is someone else's fault. They then lash out and post derogatory comments and blame the school......after all....it could not be their misbehaving child that is preventing EVERHYONE else from learning. No, it is much easier to blame the priest, principal, and teachers. If you are so unhappy at our awesome school....you can leave. We will pray for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

for the person that posted February 1, 2012: what is the school that you transfered from last year? I'd really apprerciate your response since i'm trying to find a good catholic school for next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

We are a family who transferred this year from another "troubled" catholic school with a principal that was "very qualified"; however her qualifications and yrs of experience still DID NOT make her a good principal. Every family has their own experience depending on their child. Ours has been amazing starting with the interim principal; whom I think is highly qualified and cares about the school. The staff is also commendable; we have worked closely with the elementary counselor and our child's teacher and both have been "absolutely phenomenal." They have been nothing but professional, caring and friendly w/ every experience we have had. I've had lunch w/ my child and the teachers get after the kids because they play more than eat and they have a limited lunch time. Don't we get after our kids for playing too much and not eatig when they are supposed to? Every experience is different so you have to see for yourself and not take the advise of everything written; including myself. We LOVE this school, the staff, the teachers and the families. You make what you want of every experience you have. If you get involved and effectively communicate you get good results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

We have been with the school for 4 years. We are very happy with the school. We have to respect everybody s opinion even though we do not agree with parents that have rated the school low. My son could not be happier. Academics are strong. Teachers are very good. The environment is great for the kids and as the result, the school has great kids. There have been changes in the administration and there is still a search for a principal. Having said that, the current staff has done a great job running the school this school year. Nothing is perfect, but bottom line Holy Spirit is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

I have been very disappointed with the academics of the school as well as the administration. I know many people that have left due to the administration but have been trying to 'wait it out" in hopes that it will get better. I know that all schools have politics but this one seems at the top of the heap. There is a lot of secrecy. The search committee consists of several staff members (have you ever heard of hiring your boss?!) and others that state that they have strict requirements for a new principal yet the current vice principal has been allowed to put her hat in the ring even though she isn't qualified according to these strict guidelines. Although a lot of aggravation revolves around the administration or lack thereof, my biggest concern at this point (one that will weigh heavily on my decision to return next year) is the lack of good teaching. My children are often yelled at, aren't challenged and very bored with busy work, and disciplined for silly things like talking in the lunch room. I pray that they get their act together in the very near future or we will be forced to look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

First year here with two children. Teachers are good, academics seem to be decent but not to the level I would expect, and we have mixed feelings about the community. The kids like the school, but there are cliques (parental) that can be silly to deal with. It is pricey, and there is an almost constant demand for more money--sports, uniforms, meals, activities, presents, yearly registration, yearly commitment fee, monthly tithe to maintain "in parish" status etc. The volunteer program is managed loosely, at best, and some parents refuse to do their share--they sign up, for sure, and probably claim the hours, but don't show. The reasons to stay--outstanding teachers, good religious based education, and the relative safety of a private school education. Hopefully the administration will become more responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I really give the after school program of this school a rating of 0 because they do not care at all about the kids and the lady that runs the programs keeps saying she is not responsible for the kids .. so basically she just wants the parents money. Plus she even hates kids herself and has no college nor schooling as a teacher and does not want to have kids so why the heck does she work there in the first place?The kids are treated with no compassion nor sympathy and they don't realize that. I feel very bad for the children that have to go to that afterschool. Parents do not know tmost of these afterschool teachers have no good intentions with the children,and I believe no changes will take place not even with a new viceprincipal nor a new principal.


Posted May 30, 2010

The principal cares about, money only,but now she is going to retire,so the school will have a new principal who hopefully will be better.There is this mentality that the kids are just there to study but not to be cared about with kindness and respect. Teachers don't want to clarify schoolwork or answer questions of the students after school. The after school program's director cares 0 for the kids,she doesn't want to do anything for them. She denies the kids food if they forget to bring money from home and water if they forget to get their water. At times she and her staff refuse to wait with the kids if their parents haven't arrived,and often call the kids names and screams at them when kids are out of control. They can be very cruel. Terrible program!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 37%
Hispanic 35% 47%
Two or more races 19% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (210) 349-1247

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

770 W Ramsey Rd
San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone: (210) 349-1169

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT