Advertisement
Advertisement

Incarnate Word High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2013

A mixed bag - some very good teachers others highly unprofessional: significant teacher turnover. Only one poor overworked counselor: minimal college counseling. Non nurturing, high pressure environment. Significant number of girls with eating disorders (no school nurse). Not much funding for extracurricular activities except sports: expect limited options, poor communication and disorganization in extra curricular activities some of which exist in name only. Good choir but the student won't be able to participate in anything else because daily after school attendance is mandatory. If the school wants to improve they need to start listening to student and parent requests instead of blowing them off. ZERO opportunities to interact with boys from other schools. What school spirit? Cheer, dance, pep squad largely non existent in an ALL GIRL SCHOOL.The students RARELY get to do anything fun. Most of the boarding students have left because of the cold, boring environment. I agree that good students are harassed for the slightest things. Graduation exit surveys are largely negative: not a well rounded experience Is anyone in administration paying attention to morale? Does anyone care?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

This school used to be great. But Unfortionatley, due to changes in the administration, the school has quickly deteriorated. A once fun, nourishing environment has turned into what will quickly resemble a jail. Might as well send your child to a public school. Not only will they have more options as far as classes, AP, and Duel Credit classes, they will not be put through this schools deteriorating spirit and environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

I am currently attending Incarnate Word HS. I really loved it freshman year. Unfortunately, the school seems to be changing. The retention rate for teachers seems to be very low. Old faces quickly disappear, and new ones are showing up all the time. They all have one thing in common, though. For some reason, the most well-behaved students are under the closest surveillance. If you are one of the "bad kids," you can get away with dancing inappropriately to worship songs (on a stage), openly copying other girls' assignments, and bullying others. On the other hand, girls who are experiencing real emotional problems, but who generally obey the rules, are met with coldness. It makes me depressed. After failing to find guidance from teachers and priests, I finally turned to the Sisters of Charity. They are wonderful people who show love to the students who look up to them. I do what I can to make the environment better. The administration is clearly interested in improvement as well. Still, there is an understanding at IWHS that the way to thrive is to be irresponsible and disrespectful. They're working on it, but these problems won't go away overnight.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2010

This school is outstanding. The students are adminstration are on top of things and enagaged. The mod systme works well and really teaches the girls to actively manage their time. the athletics progeram is well run with nice faciltiies. The spiritual environment is felt and makes an impact in the girls' lives. My daughter remarked on her first day back from summer vacation: "it's good to be back- I forgot how much i love this school".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Very positive environment overall for both teachers and students and good quality administration. Welcoming students and positive interaction is encouraged as upholding Christ's qualities. The good teachings of the Sisters of Charity and their adherence to humility shows in the majority of the students and far outweighs the few spoiled 'mean girls.' God bless and Praise Be The Incarnate Word.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

This is an excellent school. I attended it for all four years of high school and I loved it. The classes were great and I was able to get AP credit for college. There were also many wonderful teachers who knew how to utilize the modular system to get the most out of it. IWHS was truly a great preparation for college, and it was fun! Go Shamrocks!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2006

Outstanding high school for young women. Highly trained teachers, innovative classroom program with college preparation and credit. This school has had a 100% college acceptance rate for many, many years. Would recommend to any parent in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2005

My daughter is a freshman and she has learned so much in a short amount of time. She loves the extracurricular activities. Most of all she enjoys going to school to learn new concepts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Incarnate Word High School is the best experience a young lady can ever wish for. Because it is an all girls college prepatory school, one is able to learn at a college level. Not having men influence your learning experience, it is easier to comprehend and ask questions at any given time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2005

Incarnate Word High School is an excellent school. It's curriculum is challenging and the teachers are always willing to help. There are so many extracurricular activies, it's almost impossible to not be involved in at least one. Parents are very involved as well. Incarnate Word High School is by far one of the best schools in San Antonio.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2005

I graduated from Incarnate Word in 2003 and I'm currently a college sophomore with a 3.7 GPA. Incarnate Word High School prepared me for college very well and enabled me to achieve my best. It is a well worth investment and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2004

I graduated from IWHS in 1997, and continue to recommend it to everyone. College (at Trinity University) was a breeze after mastering my classes and the modular system at IWHS. I truly feel that the modular system is a hugely positive component of the IWHS education. Go Shamrocks!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

It's the beginning of a new school year and our daughter is just 'busting'! The staff and student body has accepted the freshman class as sisters and equals compared to the traditional belittling of the incoming class. Great curriculum (college mods) and super extra-curricular activities! Go Shamrocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 47%
White 26% 37%
Asian 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 14%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • ABS
  • NCEA
  • NCGS
Fax number
  • (210) 829-3120

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

727 E Hildebrand Ave
San Antonio, TX 78212
Phone: (210) 829-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Keystone School
San Antonio, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT