Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 513

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Incarnate Word High School 2

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
A mixed bag - some very good teachers others highly unprofessional: significant teacher turnover. Only one poor overworked counselor: minimal college counseling. Non nurturing, high pressure environment. Significant number of girls with eating disorders (no school nurse). Not much funding for extracurricular activities except sports: expect limited options, poor communication and disorganization in extra curricular activities some of which exist in name only. Good choir but the student won't be able to participate in anything else because daily after school attendance is mandatory. If the school wants to improve they need to start listening to student and parent requests instead of blowing them off. ZERO opportunities to interact with boys from other schools. What school spirit? Cheer, dance, pep squad largely non existent in an ALL GIRL SCHOOL.The students RARELY get to do anything fun. Most of the boarding students have left because of the cold, boring environment. I agree that good students are harassed for the slightest things. Graduation exit surveys are largely negative: not a well rounded experience Is anyone in administration paying attention to morale? Does anyone care?

Incarnate Word High School 1

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be great. But Unfortionatley, due to changes in the administration, the school has quickly deteriorated. A once fun, nourishing environment has turned into what will quickly resemble a jail. Might as well send your child to a public school. Not only will they have more options as far as classes, AP, and Duel Credit classes, they will not be put through this schools deteriorating spirit and environment.

Incarnate Word High School 3

Posted February 12, 2011
- a student
I am currently attending Incarnate Word HS. I really loved it freshman year. Unfortunately, the school seems to be changing. The retention rate for teachers seems to be very low. Old faces quickly disappear, and new ones are showing up all the time. They all have one thing in common, though. For some reason, the most well-behaved students are under the closest surveillance. If you are one of the "bad kids," you can get away with dancing inappropriately to worship songs (on a stage), openly copying other girls' assignments, and bullying others. On the other hand, girls who are experiencing real emotional problems, but who generally obey the rules, are met with coldness. It makes me depressed. After failing to find guidance from teachers and priests, I finally turned to the Sisters of Charity. They are wonderful people who show love to the students who look up to them. I do what I can to make the environment better. The administration is clearly interested in improvement as well. Still, there is an understanding at IWHS that the way to thrive is to be irresponsible and disrespectful. They're working on it, but these problems won't go away overnight.

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
This school is outstanding. The students are adminstration are on top of things and enagaged. The mod systme works well and really teaches the girls to actively manage their time. the athletics progeram is well run with nice faciltiies. The spiritual environment is felt and makes an impact in the girls' lives. My daughter remarked on her first day back from summer vacation: "it's good to be back- I forgot how much i love this school".

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Very positive environment overall for both teachers and students and good quality administration. Welcoming students and positive interaction is encouraged as upholding Christ's qualities. The good teachings of the Sisters of Charity and their adherence to humility shows in the majority of the students and far outweighs the few spoiled 'mean girls.' God bless and Praise Be The Incarnate Word.

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted August 01, 2006
- a student
This is an excellent school. I attended it for all four years of high school and I loved it. The classes were great and I was able to get AP credit for college. There were also many wonderful teachers who knew how to utilize the modular system to get the most out of it. IWHS was truly a great preparation for college, and it was fun! Go Shamrocks!

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted January 06, 2006
- a student
Outstanding high school for young women. Highly trained teachers, innovative classroom program with college preparation and credit. This school has had a 100% college acceptance rate for many, many years. Would recommend to any parent in a heartbeat.

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted October 04, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman and she has learned so much in a short amount of time. She loves the extracurricular activities. Most of all she enjoys going to school to learn new concepts.

Incarnate Word High School 4

Posted August 04, 2005
- a student
Incarnate Word High School is the best experience a young lady can ever wish for. Because it is an all girls college prepatory school, one is able to learn at a college level. Not having men influence your learning experience, it is easier to comprehend and ask questions at any given time.

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted June 04, 2005
- a student
Incarnate Word High School is an excellent school. It's curriculum is challenging and the teachers are always willing to help. There are so many extracurricular activies, it's almost impossible to not be involved in at least one. Parents are very involved as well. Incarnate Word High School is by far one of the best schools in San Antonio.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Incarnate Word High School
727 East Hildebrand Avenue, San Antonio, TX  78212
(210) 829-3107
Last modified Incarnate Word High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Incarnate Word High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top