Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Incarnate Word High School 2

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
A mixed bag - some very good teachers others highly unprofessional: significant teacher turnover. Only one poor overworked counselor: minimal college counseling. Non nurturing, high pressure environment. Significant number of girls with eating disorders (no school nurse). Not much funding for extracurricular activities except sports: expect limited options, poor communication and disorganization in extra curricular activities some of which exist in name only. Good choir but the student won't be able to participate in anything else because daily after school attendance is mandatory. If the school wants to improve they need to start listening to student and parent requests instead of blowing them off. ZERO opportunities to interact with boys from other schools. What school spirit? Cheer, dance, pep squad largely non existent in an ALL GIRL SCHOOL.The students RARELY get to do anything fun. Most of the boarding students have left because of the cold, boring environment. I agree that good students are harassed for the slightest things. Graduation exit surveys are largely negative: not a well rounded experience Is anyone in administration paying attention to morale? Does anyone care?

Incarnate Word High School 1

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be great. But Unfortionatley, due to changes in the administration, the school has quickly deteriorated. A once fun, nourishing environment has turned into what will quickly resemble a jail. Might as well send your child to a public school. Not only will they have more options as far as classes, AP, and Duel Credit classes, they will not be put through this schools deteriorating spirit and environment.


Incarnate Word High School 3

Posted February 12, 2011
- a student
I am currently attending Incarnate Word HS. I really loved it freshman year. Unfortunately, the school seems to be changing. The retention rate for teachers seems to be very low. Old faces quickly disappear, and new ones are showing up all the time. They all have one thing in common, though. For some reason, the most well-behaved students are under the closest surveillance. If you are one of the "bad kids," you can get away with dancing inappropriately to worship songs (on a stage), openly copying other girls' assignments, and bullying others. On the other hand, girls who are experiencing real emotional problems, but who generally obey the rules, are met with coldness. It makes me depressed. After failing to find guidance from teachers and priests, I finally turned to the Sisters of Charity. They are wonderful people who show love to the students who look up to them. I do what I can to make the environment better. The administration is clearly interested in improvement as well. Still, there is an understanding at IWHS that the way to thrive is to be irresponsible and disrespectful. They're working on it, but these problems won't go away overnight.

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
This school is outstanding. The students are adminstration are on top of things and enagaged. The mod systme works well and really teaches the girls to actively manage their time. the athletics progeram is well run with nice faciltiies. The spiritual environment is felt and makes an impact in the girls' lives. My daughter remarked on her first day back from summer vacation: "it's good to be back- I forgot how much i love this school".

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted March 01, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted February 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Incarnate Word High School 1

Posted October 06, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Very positive environment overall for both teachers and students and good quality administration. Welcoming students and positive interaction is encouraged as upholding Christ's qualities. The good teachings of the Sisters of Charity and their adherence to humility shows in the majority of the students and far outweighs the few spoiled 'mean girls.' God bless and Praise Be The Incarnate Word.


Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted August 01, 2006
- a former student
This is an excellent school. I attended it for all four years of high school and I loved it. The classes were great and I was able to get AP credit for college. There were also many wonderful teachers who knew how to utilize the modular system to get the most out of it. IWHS was truly a great preparation for college, and it was fun! Go Shamrocks!

Incarnate Word High School 5

Posted March 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Incarnate Word High School
727 East Hildebrand Avenue, San Antonio, TX  78212
(210) 829-3107
Last modified Incarnate Word High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Incarnate Word High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top