Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mt Sacred Heart School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2008

I'm so blessed to have found this wonderful school. The closeness of the community, the spirituality, and the academics are superb! From the Montessori thru the middle school, I continue to be impressed with all the parents, teachers and staff who share the common goal - each child's potential! My children have been at Mount since Montessori...when they go to summer academic camps, etc, the teachers from the other schools always comment on their advanced skills and grace/courtesy. I give the credit to Mount!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

Their Montessori program is good. Unlike the rest of these reviews I disagree about the quality of the education. There are many parents who would agree that the teachers in the school are discriminitory, unprofessional and disorganized. Many use old school techniques and the ones with ideas are pushed out. As a parent I had terrible experiences with the teachers and their treatment of my children. Parents in this school form a click, many who are alumni. They get special treatment by the faculty and staff, to the highest level. Their complaints and belly aching comes first. I would not recommend this school at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

From fundraisers to school events to daily classes, MSH is organized, efficient and does it all with a smile. Everyone on staff is very helpful and welcoming. I'm so happy to have found this little school and the cost of tuition is just the icing on the cake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

MSH has a true Montessori program for children 21/2 until 1st grade. The teachers and staff have been remarkable in dealing with my son who is tall for his age(is 3 looks 5-6) vs. his emotional state, a toddler. The older students are paired with younger ing the school to help them understand that the little ones look to them for guidance. We love the fact that the children attend mass weekly and the school activities are numerous. Parents are highly involved and it shows in the character of the children. What originally sold us on MSH was the yearly fall carnival where the children dress up in costumes and the 7th and 8th grade girls were dressed up in costumes such as cheerleaders and Dorothy. There's an innocence in the children that you don't see very often in this day and age, the children were allowed to be children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Quality of academic programs is very good. I would highly recommend. Great experience. Many programs to sign up your child for. There are several academic programs for all levels. Piano, Spanish, French, music, art, dance, sports for all levels. Parent involement is very high. Parents volunteer for all activites and events. Great parent support group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Excellent Montessori program. We have absolutely NO complaints. The teachers are fair, nice, competent and overall wonderful with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

The staff is friendly and helpful and they made the transition very eay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

This is my son's third year at MSH and he loves it. The quality of teachers, the parent participation, the buddy system really works!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We spent 10 great years associated with this school. The families and kids were wonderful to be around. Teachers are very good and dedicated. The admin staff is helpful and motivated toward quality. The school has great tradition especially for boys. Test scores are consistently high. The tuition is a steal compared to other area private schools. Some classes still taught by nuns. The building may be old but the education and friendships the kids get will last forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 51%
Two or more races 12% 2%
White 12% 31%
Black 2% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 342-4032

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

619 Mount Sacred Heart Road
San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone: (210) 342-6711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Nimitz Middle School
San Antonio, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT