Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Catholic School

Private | 6-12 | 350 students

We are best known for 100% college acceptance rate.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2009

Providence is an outstanding school! The school has assembled a first rate faculty, they are challenging, nurturing and truly care about our daughters. A wonderful school for girls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

The environment that they create for you to learn and to grow in faith along with your friends that soon become like sisters to you. They provide you with discipline and allow opportunities to go to college and to make your future what you want it to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2009

At Providence the teachers are great, we are able to connect with them, they treat is with respoect. They challenge in our studies, but at the same time make it easier for us to learn and maintain our interest. They do all of this to help us be better prepared for the challenges in meeting our future goal. All the girls at Providence are great, we are all one team, no competition just acceptance!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

Ever since freshman year, I have felt loved and welcomed among my sisters at Providence. Now I'm a senior and getting support from everyone (teachers included) in everything I do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Providence is the heart of San Antonio's top notch schools. Providing the leadership for young ladies in becoming and representing our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Providence does a great job preparing young women for the future. There is a special caring atmosphere that is established where many students feel it is their second home.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2009

Providence is the only college prepatory all girls school for grades 6-12 in San Antonio. Single gender schools are absolutely the best environment for girls to learn and grow into strong young women. Providence graduates are confident, articulate, and powerful young women who are ready to face the challenges of their college education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

I love Providence because a girl can really blossom into a young lady without the fear of guys thinking we're weird.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

Great classes to help prepare me for my college education. Friendl and welcoming!!!


Posted October 15, 2009

Great preparation for the future and excellent religious/spiritual formation!


Posted October 15, 2009

The best team of teachers, staff, student -- all working together!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Because my granddaughter attends this school. And she loves it. They teach the student mind, bocy, and soul. They are well prepared to go out into the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Great school, helping to develop San Antonio's young ladies into our future leaders.


Posted October 15, 2009

Great tradition - great academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Focused on traditional values, encouraging San Antonio's girls to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

A wonderful school focused on education, & empowering our girls to become exceptional leaders for the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Grat school with great staff and alumni. Large parent participation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

It is a challenging school that focuses on providing a quality education while building a strong spiritual life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I graduated from PHS and the friendships and connections I have made in this school communited have lasted a lifetime.


Posted October 15, 2009

The best All-Girls Catholic School in San Antonio! The teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 51%
White 18% 31%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school 33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 224-6214

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have a very active parents' club. they volunteer for fundraising efforts and provide social events for faculty and staff.
More from this school
  • A Providence education prepares young women for college and beyond. Part of that preparation includes a 25 hour per year community service requirement for graduation. Another component of a Providence education is leadership skills development and practice through a myriad of clubs, sports, school government and our distinctive Senior Internship and Broiadcast Journalism classes. We are the only Catholic school in San Antonio to offer these two courses.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Texas
Texas A and M University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 North Saint Mary's Street
San Antonio, TX 78215
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 224-6651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jja
San Antonio, TX


Hawthorne Pk-8 Academy
San Antonio, TX


Nisd Bexar County Jja
San Antonio, TX


Bexar Co J J A E P
San Antonio, TX


Austin Academy
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT