Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Catholic School

Private | 6-12 | 350 students

We are best known for 100% college acceptance rate.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2009

Young women begin a path with goals and dreams of a bright future. Providence facilitates this in a atmosphere of unity and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Best of the best in preparing you for the real world


Posted October 14, 2009

Small school with awesome fine arts program, and awesome teachers and staff. College counseling without comparision - bunches of AP and Dual Credit Courses - they educate the whole young lady!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

l love Providence High School because the teachers care about you, they want you to do your best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2009

It allowed me and is allowing my daughters to blossom into intelligent, assertive, faith-filled, women who are equipped and ready to give back and attend to the needs of her community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I think Providence is a fantastic school. Providence provides an excellent education, academically and socially, within a safe and fun environment. Our Fine Arts department is outstanding and offers many options other schools do not. Providence is the way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love the encouragement as well as challenges my daughter receives from teachers & staff. Providence is helping me to raise a beautiful, educated, confident young woman. There is no doubt in my mind we made the right choice for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love Providence because it embraces young women and their abilities!(Besides, my daughter goes to school there!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Providence has provided my daughter with the skills, education, and spiritual guidence to succeed in college and beyond. Best all-girls school in SA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

i love phs because it has allowed me to grow as an individual and discover my potential. also, i feel that i can attend any university and excel because of the preparation i am receiving as a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school helps to transform girls into Intelligent Ladies with Christian values who want to make a difference in our society!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Great education system and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This is an excellent college prep school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

As a graduate of 2009, Providence High School prepared me for the challenges of not only college, but also life. I have learned so many study skills, which I apply at Univ. Notre Dame and people skills as well as cooperation applied in the summer at NASA. Providence High School is the place where opportunity comes knocking on classroom doors and talking on Provet TV. It has definitely prepared my graduating class as a whole for the 'real world' getting into top universities as step one and accomplishing dreams as step two.


Posted October 14, 2009

I love Providence because i can be myself all the time. The academics are wonderful and the sports are so much fun. Everyone is so nice and welcoming, i feel at home all the time. I wouldnt go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Because I am a graduate of Providence and they taught me how to become a great leader and have also taught me great values, and a sisterhood that cannot be replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love working at Providence! Over the years I had the opportunity to teach/coach many young ladies. I am always excited to come across a graduate and hear about their success after they have left Providence. Be on the lookout for those Provets!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

I love the togetherness and caring that turned me into a successful and responsible adult.


Posted October 14, 2009

Wonderful school that cares about a catholic girls education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

It cares about the students, not about just test score rankings.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 51%
White 18% 31%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school 33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 224-6214

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have a very active parents' club. they volunteer for fundraising efforts and provide social events for faculty and staff.
More from this school
  • A Providence education prepares young women for college and beyond. Part of that preparation includes a 25 hour per year community service requirement for graduation. Another component of a Providence education is leadership skills development and practice through a myriad of clubs, sports, school government and our distinctive Senior Internship and Broiadcast Journalism classes. We are the only Catholic school in San Antonio to offer these two courses.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Texas
Texas A and M University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 North Saint Mary's Street
San Antonio, TX 78215
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 224-6651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jja
San Antonio, TX


Hawthorne Pk-8 Academy
San Antonio, TX


Nisd Bexar County Jja
San Antonio, TX


Bexar Co J J A E P
San Antonio, TX


Austin Academy
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT