Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Catholic School

Private | 6-12 | 350 students

We are best known for 100% college acceptance rate.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2009

As a Providence graduate I have always believed that the education I received prepared me academically and morally for the future. I have many cousins who were Providence women, and now have my younger daughter attending as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Excellent school. Great teachers and staff. My daugther is really happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Small classes; emphasis on education; great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Provets are awesome! We made the right choice with Providence for a great education and great friends and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love Providence because it academically challenges my daughter as to where in public school she would just do enough to get by. The friendships that she had made over the past year have been very good the young ladies at Providence build a bond that stay with them, they don't forget about each other and someone to always there to lend a helping hand. The staff are the best I have ever come in contacted with. You have find teachers like the ones at Providence they care for these young ladies as if each and everyone of them were one of their very own. Alicia Martinez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Allows young women in our area the chance to reach their goals in a very positive atmosphere.


Posted October 14, 2009

providence is a wonderful educational school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

It is my favorite school, I've been too, the teachers and students are great, they make me feel comfortable
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

I attended there and value the girls only high school for my recognition of the deeper values of life, and the opportunity for leadership training for young women


Posted August 28, 2009

This is the first year that our daughter was anxious to return to school. She had a wonderful summer but missed her friends and teachers, yes - I wrote teachers. Providence truly is a wonderful place for young women - challenging curriculum and empowering enviroment! Give your daughter the Providence advantage, it is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Although my daughter left her senior year to go to a public school. (She wanted to be in the top 10% so she can get into UT) she had met life long friends at Providence. In fact every so often several Provets get together and just chat. Providence not only has prepared my daughter for UT, but also to cherish her friends from Providence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

Providene High School is the best kept secret in San Antonio Texas. It's college work and ethic at a high school setting. The traditions and school spirit at PHS are incredible and the pride of being a 'Provet' is passed down through each class. I sent my oldest daughter to the other all- girls school in San Antonio, and she did not like it at all. She and her younger sister then went to Providence and found that it suited them better. I would honestly say that it is the better of the two all-girls schools in San Antonio, with all due respect to that other school. The staff truly cares about your daughters and they empower her to succed in a superior male society. When you walk through the front doors, you feel at home. Everyone here is truly a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

I attribute my success in college to my years at Providence. While I was in high school I longed to go to public school but as an adult I realize I wouldn't have developed such a strong foundation anywhere else. I now thank my parents for shelling out the extra cash to send me there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

As an alumni of Providence High School I can assure any student or parent that the experience and education of an all female school is definetly worth the tution and time. I loved the small classroom size, the personal attention I received from the fantastic faculty and the positive values that were instilled in every student that are carried until and after graduation. As a soon to be college graduate and a prospective medical student I am forever grateful for my parents for sending me to such a great school.


Posted December 30, 2005

A great education in a great environment. Small classes with lots of individual attention given to each student. A well rounded academic curriculum with experienced teachers who have life experience. (Living abroad, etc.) Limited honors/advanced courses available unless taken at Central Catholic HS. There are a number of extracurricular activities available for those intersted in sports but a limited selection for those interested in other things; drama, art, music etc. While they are offered, the extent and resources dedicated to these other programs is not as great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 26, 2005

Providence offers great academic programs. The teachers are very helpful and are available to tutor. My daughter started Providence as a freshman on an academic probation. She was able to learn and improve her grades to be removed from probation with the first 4 months. She is now a junior and is in honor roll. The study skills that she learned while a freshman have helped to continue to succeed and maintain her grades. Providence also offers many extracurricular activities, including sports, music and art. My daughter enjoys art and has been pleased with her teacher. Parents are involved. There is communication between the parents, faculty and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 51%
White 18% 31%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school 33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 224-6214

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have a very active parents' club. they volunteer for fundraising efforts and provide social events for faculty and staff.
More from this school
  • A Providence education prepares young women for college and beyond. Part of that preparation includes a 25 hour per year community service requirement for graduation. Another component of a Providence education is leadership skills development and practice through a myriad of clubs, sports, school government and our distinctive Senior Internship and Broiadcast Journalism classes. We are the only Catholic school in San Antonio to offer these two courses.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Texas
Texas A and M University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 North Saint Mary's Street
San Antonio, TX 78215
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 224-6651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jja
San Antonio, TX


Hawthorne Pk-8 Academy
San Antonio, TX


Nisd Bexar County Jja
San Antonio, TX


Bexar Co J J A E P
San Antonio, TX


Austin Academy
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT