Advertisement
Advertisement

Providence Catholic School

Private | 6-12 | 350 students

We are best known for 100% college acceptance rate.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2013

While looking for middle schools for my girl, we wanted a school that would nurture our daughter intellectually, socially, in a faith based environment, and develop her into a woman who had self confidence and prepare her well for college. It is great that Providence goes from middle school to high school so a child can gather "momentum" in her development. We find Providence to emphasize academics, nurture the young women with individual attention, and foster a family atmosphere. My daughter has always done well academically but has found a school where she truly feels like she belongs, made many friends, has no bullying, where she can concentrate on academics and feel nurtured in a critical time of her development. We feel Providence provides an outstanding education, has small class sizes, places graduates into excellent colleges, and has an extremely responsive administration from the Principal on down (they constantly look at how to improve with feedback from parents). They compete quite well compared to schools with 3 times their tuition. I would give this school 10 stars if I could and find the tuition we pay quite a bargain given the education my daughter receives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

My daughter was not a lover of school .. we became accustomed to daily battles about 'mean' teachers, 'mean' students, indifferent administrators. We chose Providence based on a friends' recommendation and crossed our fingers hoping that things would be better for her. WE ARE SO PLEASED! She looks forward to school each day, stays late to hang out in the library or for tutoring. She has many friends, and is planning to try out for a sports team. In short Providence changed my daughter's attitude completely. We are very, very pleased with her attitude and motivation. We are very pleased about the academic atmosphere fostered at the school. In short all the elements we wanted for her, academics, athletics, ethics, friendship, respect are available to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

After plodging through a mediocre parochial grade school, my daughter is excelling in Providence High School. She is excited to have so many unique and genuine friends, challenged by the academic regimen, and enthralled by the variety of artistic electives. I am astonished to see how well she has developed in one year, spiritually, scholastically, and socially. She absolutely hates to miss school for any reason since becoming Providence student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

As a former student and alumnae of this institution, I can firmly attest that the education and values that I had received from Providence High School was highly beneficial to my future. I graduated almost ten years ago, and in those ten years I look back and am sincerely grateful to Sisters of Divine Providence for preparing me for my Undergraduate and Graduate work. I will say that even when I was in high school there were bullies that loved to terrorize girls who were different from the rest of the pack. Our graduating class had a major problem with this issue. In short, Providence will prepare your daughter for college, but she will have to develop tough skin in order to survive through graduation.


Posted July 12, 2012

Our daughter is going into the 8th grade she loves it at providence so do we she has learned how take charge of her time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

This is my Fifth year at providence and it is everything i could ever ask for in a school. its not the easiest to get through, but it's worth it. honestly i don't appreciate the comments about the middle school. THERE ARE BULLIES EVERYWHERE!!! and believe me, when teachers find out, THEY ARE KICKED OUT! But, you can't aviod mean people your whole life. this is a place where if you have a problem, you can easily fix it. it is a small school and the teachers are there around the clock to help you and work for you. WE are there #1 priority. Our school is competitive and quite successful. Don't knock it until you try it guys. And if you didn't like it, then you didn't try hard enough.


Posted January 19, 2011

I hear great things about the High school but if you think you are going to get the same experience in the Middle School I am sorry to disappoint you. PPS is not a place for your daughter. The teachers are rude and have no business in a classroom setting when they consistently yell and demean students in front of the class. Teachers do not respect the students and are very comfortable in their positions. The "Mean Girls" of the school are tolerated and terrorize other students while the faculty does absolutely NOTHING! I assure you that the lack of self esteem your daughter will receive attending this Middle School is not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

I just graduated from Providence this year (2010) and I can truly say that this school is incredible. I am now on my way to a prestigious 4yr University and feel fully prepared due to the school. If your daughter attends Providence she will feel immediately at home, everyone is friendly, the staff and teachers are great and willing to spend time one on one if needed, and being located right downtown the school is culturally diverse, welcoming all. DO take advantage of as many AP courses as possible they are rigorous and can possibly save money in the long run for example I don't have to take another english or history course in college. The school also offers great extra-curricular activities and clubs. A band program is also offered and this is the only co-ed class with Central Catholic, I was in band and loved it. <3 PHS


Posted July 6, 2010

My daughter attended Providence Prepatory for grades 6th thru 8th and is getting ready to be a Freshman there. Providence is a great school with a low student to teacher ratio & a faith based education. My daughter attended the ACTS retreat during the Summer & not only wants to go every year until she graduates but has encouraged me to attend one as well. She is on the volleyball team, which has good commoradory. The importants of volunteering in the community is taught & shown to them by requiring them to achieve service hours through out the year. The teachers love teaching there & it shows through their dedication & understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

This school is the worst school and Please be careful because the school has double standards and lots of bulling students and the some teachers will not respond to emails and if your daughter is teachers pet she can be number one no matter what and if you want respect please dont choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

We are proud parents of a 7th grader. This is a wonderful school enviroment. My daughter has being enriched in so many ways, Faith, Service, Love and Dedication. GO PROVETS GO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I'm an alumna of Providence, and I am grateful for the solid education I received at PHS and the caring, creative teachers I met there.


Posted April 23, 2010

I am a 7th grader at Providence. I really love it there because everyone is nice. I also like the fact that we have small classes so in that case we have more time with the teacher. I am so far happy hear and hope that i may be able to attend high school here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2010

Graduates of Providence embody the ideals of a Providence woman: faith, service, leadership.


Posted March 26, 2010

I have worked at Providence for six years in the English department. Our teachers are dedicated, giving countless hours to professional improvement through attending conferences and working on curriculum alignment outside of the school year, developing dynamic methods to teach material, and being present to the students before, during, and after school. We educate, challenge, and nurture girls to reach their goals and the goals they only imagined. Universities such as Stanford and Notre Dame are among the institutions our young women are invited to attend after their time at Providence. It is a fine learning haven for girls to become confident, successful women. I am honored to teach at Providence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 26, 2010

The best Catholic high school in San Antonio ... great education, Religious presence, college preparedness, wonderful culture, diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

It's an great school. My daughter comes home telling me everthing she has learned from the school. I'm very happy with Providence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

Well I am an 8th grader attending Providence Prep. I really think Providence is a great school. The teachers are very helpful and the learning is easy. You just have to put forth the effort to succeed and Providence will do the rest to prepare you for life. At Providence we learn not only academics but morals and how to be a good, natural, excellent person.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2009

I really enjoy going to this school! Right now I am a 7th grader at Providence Prepatory and I never want to leave. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

I graduated from PHS a few years ago and loved the experience. When you first walk through the halls you really become part of a family. My only complaint is they could do a lot better in the college application process. All the counselor did was encourage us to apply and asked to make copies of our acceptance letters. I'm a first generation college student currently in the process of transferring to a 4-year university- I could have used more support than a list of universities under my name in the lobby.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 47%
White 16% 37%
Two or more races 9% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school 33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 224-6214

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have a very active parents' club. they volunteer for fundraising efforts and provide social events for faculty and staff.
More from this school
  • A Providence education prepares young women for college and beyond. Part of that preparation includes a 25 hour per year community service requirement for graduation. Another component of a Providence education is leadership skills development and practice through a myriad of clubs, sports, school government and our distinctive Senior Internship and Broiadcast Journalism classes. We are the only Catholic school in San Antonio to offer these two courses.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
33% from San Antonnio Independent School District
33% from North or Northeast Independent S.D.
33% from 7 other districts in and arounbd San Antonio

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Texas
Texas A and M University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 N. St. Mary's Street
San Antonio, TX 78215
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 224-6651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bonham Academy
San Antonio, TX



Hawthorne Pk-8 Academy
San Antonio, TX


Austin Academy
San Antonio, TX


Christus Santa Rosa
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT