Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas More Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2013

Principal can't keep up with the issues that seem to be worsening. Teachers are incometent at all levels. Does not live up to or demonstrate Christian values. The staff and most of the teachers are unfriendly. There is favoritism towards certain students. Students are harrassed verbally & emotionally by students & teachers never seem to take notice. If you confront the principal about certain issues she will just tell you what you want to hear and do nothing about it. It is a shame that a student can go there for so many years and leave defeated...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

With the perspective of a few years gone by, I will say that after graduating from STM my children went on to 'elite' Catholic high schools and then got great scholarships at selective private universities where they did well. I give STM some credit for preparing them. Were there teachers that were on the cold side? Yes. Were there teachers that wanted to beat my children? At least one. Were some teachers behind the technology curve. Yes. Was Catholic uptightness prevalent? Yes. There were also very good, caring teachers who made an extra effort to help the kids as individuals. They all had their own style. And, there are plenty of parents who expect the school to do their work for them and who have unrealistic expectations. I heard many complaints from parents and my own wife that I thought were unwarranted. 'Excellent' may be too high of a rating. My daughter rates it 'Very Good'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

Leadership is everything and sets the tone for the school in a positive manner. We've enjoyed the school for 7 years and think that any reasonable person knows that issues occur everywhere; but the staff, teachers, and children are at their best when they are a member of the St. Thomas More Community. I will be responsible..I will be caring..this is who we are; this is how we act even when no one is looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

I love this school!!!! My children have gone to this school for three years, and have learned a great deal. My oldest daughter attended Walzem Elementary for two years with a very poor outcome. The classes are small. The teachers are well educated, and love their students. The staff all care about the parents and students. It is a very warm atmosphere. The parents are involved in their childrens education, and know one another. Most students start off in Pre-K and stay until 8th grade. It is a very close community. Only one class per grade level. My children are crying because we are moving, and they will no longer be able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

One difficulty is that decisions are made about principals and teachers, without parents or students ever knowing why. Frequently, it seems the one you like best, that are innovative and breathe 'life' into the school that they seem to let go. On a positive side, there are small class sizes, the kids wear uniforms (less competition and fighting over appropriate clothing, and they supervise the kids closely. I would NOT describe it as one big happy family though. There seems to be some in-fighting among the staff and while some of the newer teachers are very good and seem to enjoy and encourage the students and the profession of teaching, others seem tired, irritable, and as if they do not like students (or children) at all. Thank heavens the principal helps set a positive tone, but it seems that is changing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

I have been very disappointed with this school. The teachers do not keep the students interest, they complain about the students and other teachers. It really isn't any different than public schools. You can get a better education elsewhere without having to pay for it.


Posted June 15, 2007

I love this school it is a very good school. I love all the kids that go to the school. It is like one big family. All the teachers are great. All the staff is great too. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2007

When we decided to relocate in the city, I made sure it would not affect us being able to keep our son at St. Thomas More. My son (and most all of his classmates) could read after finishing Kinder after a great foundation in Pre-K and Kinder. The curriculum is sound, and I know my son is in a loving environment that supports our values. The school is growing its music curriculum, offers a great after-school program, and a summer program that is very fun and educational. Teachers keep us informed and involved; and the office staff is warm and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

Teachers - hear a lot of complaining from teachers about each other and the students. Academics - really frustrated with Math program. Not every student learns material as quickly as others do. Parent Involvement - there is none - it's the same old parents helping over and over again. Extracurricular activities - what is available is fine if that is what you are looking for. Office staff - overall office is unfriendly. Ever hear of the Christian Radio Station?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

STM's faculty and staff are committed to providing a quality education to their students. There are tutors and teachers available well after the regular school day is finished. Numerous parents and church parishioners provide personal time and financial resources to this school of only 200 students. There are some facility shortcomings in terms of not having a gym, but this is offset by having a strong link between the STM students and the Catholic Youth Organization for extracurricular athletic activities. The Principal is energetic and focused on improving teaching techniques and overhauling portions of the curriculum. Test scores are some of the best in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

School has come a long way in the past three years. The School was on the verge of closing three years ago but is now on a sound financial bases. The school has a waiting list in 9 of the 10 grades offered. New administration has brought a focus to the school that emphasizes both academic excellence and Christian environment. School meets as a community each morning for prayer to solidify the idea that the school is made up of all members of the community. PTC is strong and representative of the entire school community. Over the past summer, the physical facilities were refurbished, 24 computers were added to the classrooms, and new Language Arts, Math, and Science books were purchased. School is small and intends to remain at about its current registration of 210. School council has just completed work on a Strategic Plan extending to 2012.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 7, 2006

This school does not offer enough diversity in their programs. Most of the lower level books used are outdated. Since you are paying for your child's education, extra attention should be given to each child that needs it; it is not. The school is very cold and un-friendly. Consider spending your hard earned money on another catholic school before this one. When looking, consider how much attention your child will get, the nurturing affect your child needs, and what else your child learns besides book knowledge. Children need to learn respect, good ethical behavior and moral values in people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 47%
White 23% 37%
Black 12% 14%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 655-9603

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4427 Moana Dr
San Antonio, TX 78218
Phone: (210) 655-2882

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Krueger Middle School
San Antonio, TX




Legacy Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Walzem Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT