Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Pius X Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $279,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

St Pius X is a fine elementary with a nurturing and competent faculty. Educational standards are above satisfactory and the focus is on providing each child with a solid foundation for academic success. The middle school however is disappointing. The academic standards are not much better than what one might expect in a public school and the teachers do not demonstrate a concerted effort to communicate with all parents equally and appear to favor certain families. It has the potential to offer a much more cohesive and professional environment but lacks leadership. In addition it's focus on the arts is poor if not missing entirely, which is unfortunate for those students that may excel in this area and not sports. It needs new leadership and a fresh perspective. To increase enrollment and become more competitive with other schools, start focusing on nurturing inclusion of all family members treating all children the same based on their unique interests and talents. If your friends with the students parents that's great but don't forget other parents are paying you to educate their child and expect a professional approach that doesn't succumb to nepotism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

I had high hopes for this school but having to run a gauntlet in choosing which teacher is qualified and or actually nice is exhausting. Most teachers ignore parents, don't say hello or even acknowledge them when they see parents in the halls or during pickup. This attitude is driving people away. Only a select few families seem to matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

Nice campus. Great gym if sports are your most important area. Declining in educational quality. Principal can't keep up with the issues that seem to be worsening. The best kids are leaving. Shop around, there are better Catholic schools in the area that are actually doing a better job. Lots of drama..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

Great elementary school, but the worst middle school! Parents and students are wonderful! All of our kids went there through elementary and thoroughly enjoyed it. The teachers and parents seemed to work as partners for the good of the children. Now we're experiencing middle school. Totally disappointed! The teachers are either: (1) incompetent (2) bring baggage from home to school (3) gang up on parents and students for minor infractions. The problem stems from a lack of good hiring practices. Core subjects such as math and science are taught by what seem to be public school rejects who have some sort of connection with the principal, so they're hired on. We're looking at moving our kids to another nearby school which is affiliated with St Pius X, but seems to be doing a better job with middle school. It's a shame since the campus is very nice, especially with the new gym and classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

Wow!!! What a fantastic school, and it's only getting better and better! The new gym is absolutely amazing!! The administration and staff are wonderful, the academics are great, the athletic program and extra curricular activities are growing! I am truly blessed to have my child at St. Pius X. New and wonderful things keep happening at this school, come see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

What a difference a year makes. Last year SPX was in turmoil, the ship was sinking, rats were abandoning ship. Discontented parents were running amok & some teachers, now gone, weren t teaching but playing basketball & playing with students. This summer, a dedicated group of staff and members of the community went looking for new leadership. They hit the jackpot . Mr. Deming came in with fresh exciting ideas, a wonderful moral value system & the belief that people should be put into positions where their passions & abilities allow them to blossom. The staff is outstanding & dedicated. The students are happy & challenged. SPX has broken ground & the new gym is coming alive. Hallways buzz, the negative has been replaced with SPX is becoming the example that all other schools should aspire to be. The Core Knowledge curriculum is amazing, new Athletic Director is passionate & has energized students. Making Spanish a core class is great. We considered leaving St. Pius X but made the right decision, it s the best thing we ever didn't do. Discontented families & staff who have left , we wish you well, hope you find happiness at your new schools. We are happy & excited about the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I have been a parent at St. Pius for many years and I love it! And my children love it! We have awesome teachers, academics and community. The principal is a strong leader and a good person. Keep up the great work St. Pius!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

What can I say about St. Pius X? It is an amazing school. I have been here for 3 years and on the first day I fell in love with this community. The teachers that are here are always helpful and have a strong Catholic identity. The new teachers that we have received are willing to go above and beyond and want to make this school the best it can be. I have truly enjoyed the Core Knowledge curriculum we teach. The children enjoy it and they learn and retain so much. Every year parents continually tell me that their child comes home telling them so many things that they didn't even know about History or Science topics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2010

Saint Pius has a brand new spirit and lots of new faces. The teachers and staff are working hard to improve every aspect of the school. It is a positive enviroment for any family and incorporates a challenging academic program with a sound virtue program. The prinicipal, Mr. Deming, is an incredible leader with the potential to make the school grow in spirituality, academics, and enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

I have been a parishioner for 20 years. I have been envolved in REP Program as well as the school. I love, love both the Church and School. The staff is friendly, helpful and inviting. The children form both the church and school are very happy. It makes me smile everytime I walk in the doors of the school. I believe the children are happy because of the involvement of the Pastor, Principal, Teacher and Staff.


Posted July 30, 2010

I am enrolling my daughter into the P3K program this fall. I was actually impressed by the administrative staff and the elementary teachers that I did meet. You could tell there were engaged and happy to be there. Everyone was very open and willing to speak with us and overall it seems like a great school. I was surprised to read the recent reviews. I am happy and eager to join the St. Pius X family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

I notice new reviews on here concerning the "betterment" and turn around this school is making....well do not believe them. Their "new administration" submitted his letter of resignation last month...not even a full year after being hired to lead this failing school. Most of the "new, fresh" middle school teachers they speak about are also job searching having been fired or are sorry they took a job in such a terrible place and are searching for something better! This school will never fix it's problems unless a total cleaning is done starting at the top with the priest of the parish! How can anyone rate this school with anything decent when current numbers speak for themselves. High teacher turnovers, a principal that resigns after less than a year and a dramatically declining enrollment (less than 150 after this year!) Research it FIRST...you will see!!!


Posted May 8, 2010

My son is attending the preschool program at St. Pius, and I am a new parish member. St. Pius is not a perfect school. I am inspired by the level of parental involvement. I believe St. Pius offers a great alternative to other preschool programs and highly recommend it. As families leave, it leaves more opportunity for new voices to be heard and a different approach to be taken, and I believe St. Pius has a great future in front of it and am excited to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Not so long ago, St. Pius had over 400 students. Currently, the number touted is 260, although it is difficult to tell if that is accurate since no one is allowed to view records or see financial information. The recent incident involving severe bullying has proponents on both sides up in arms. The reality is that if anyone here took the time to actively listen and even pretend that there was genuine concern on the part of the administration and priest, much of the hoopla could've been avoided. Sadly, this is a school whose spirit has been broken by a priest and administration that has continually failed to put children and teachers first. If you are looking for a school that places emphasis on preaching values, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a school that lives Christian values and demonstrates it daily, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I am a long time parent and currently have 3 children attending. All three have excelled academically, socially and are great examples of a solid catholic education. While there have been problems in the past and no doubt will have problems in the future, I have been mostly pleased that the parties involved have tried to resolve the issues in an honorable way and have tried to set examples that our children can learn from. I believe that learning how to work through issues in an honorable way is an extremely important life lesson that some people evidently have not learned. Recently, it seems that there have been some parents that have left that do not feel the same way and are actively trying to wage an extremely negative smear campaign against the school. Take this into account when reading these reviews and make up your own mind by personally visiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

Honest review (updated) for families exploring on this site. Unfortunately SPX still broken, so many parents and teachers unhappy. Not a 4-5 star school, how can these reviewers honestly say that? Enrollment has declined by over hundred kids last few years, most went to other private schools. Not due to economy, that is common lie. Too many agendas and private decisions driven by priest and select people (non-educators). Massive egos at top, don t be misled by awards they solicit for one another. Established teachers have no say. Middle school improved but still has serious problems, teacher turnover is unacceptable. Elementary school has issues but still has handful of good teachers. Some good families still remain but dwindling. SPX will always have potential due to location, large church and facilities, but inexcusable to be in state it is in and fallen so far. Ask hard questions, demand complete and honest answers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I have had my children enrolled at St. Pius for many years. In the past, we have had some problems with administration, parents and with our middle school teachers. This year we have had a complete makeover. We have new administration and we have new middle school teachers, and a great community of parents. The middle school teachers have a positive energy and are doing a fantastic job. I have never seen the children so excited. The changes and the energy I have seen so far this year have been huge. The elementry school is also phenomenal. People care, and are working together. I love the new community feel at St. Pius.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

St pius x is a great school, my children are really happy there I strongly reccomend you to enroll your children and be part of our great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

My daughter has been at St. Pius for the last six years. She has had the best experiences at this school. She actually looks forward to attending school every day. The teachers are willing to work with the parents to solve issues. I highly recommend this school. The Core Knowledge is incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

this school has the worst teachers you can find, and the past 8th class was the best class they could ever go there, but since they are gone this school will go down the drain.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 37%
Hispanic 36% 47%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 824-7454

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7734 Robin Rest Dr
San Antonio, TX 78209
Phone: (210) 824-6431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Garner Middle School
San Antonio, TX




George Gervin Academy
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT