Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
190 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Hermes for the incredible accomplishments she has made in 2 short years. Enrollment is up, teachers are integrating technology and my kids love her. You can tell she loves the kids and it makes a big difference.

St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
I love this school and so do my children. Everything has changed for the better at St. Paul's! Teachers and kids are excited! We have a wonderful principal Ms. Hermes and wonderful dedicated teachers.


St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
I drive all the way from helotes to drop off my son! I'm an educator at a public school and I can totally see the difference in education and values the kids are have here . When your child wants to be at school and looks forward to class! That speaks for it self .I hear they are having such high enrollment . New students might be put on waiting list. But if you are totally worth the wait.

St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
St. Paul's Catholic School has a wonderful, friendly, highly educated experienced new principal Ms. Hermes. My children have really enjoyed all the new learning techniques and extra school activities. I'm not one to post updates but thought this school has been so wonderful, safe, and my children are learning so much I'd thought I would share. After all I do research reviews and appreciate parents taking the time to write them. If your looking for a spiritual, motivational, safe, with teachers who take that extra time to teach new methods of learning to your children this is the school.

St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
It amazes me to read some of these critical, maligning and unfounded comments regarding St. Paul Catholic School. People are entitled to their opinions but much of the posted comments, based on our experience, is unfounded. The Principal has ALWAYS made herself available for discussions. Five of the teachers have been there over 10 years. The curriculum is not lagging and projects are challenging. An overwhelming effort is being placed in Technology advancement purchases and fundraising. There is declining enrollment nationwide but yes, the school can do more to draw students. Overall, a charming institution!


St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a parent
Congratulations to Sarah Torres in 8th grade! She earned a $300 scholarship toward her education at Antonian College Preparatory High School. Congratulations to Fernando Ruiz, IV in 8th grade! He earned a $3,000 scholarship toward his education at Central Catholic High School. These students had high scores on their High School Placement Test and were recognized for their outstanding achievement. Congratulations to our A Boys Royals Basketball team for winning the AIAL Championship on Friday, Feb. 11th at Antonian College Preparatory High School. The Royals were victorious over the Cardinals of St. Matthew Catholic School. Great efforts and dedication by this fearless team and their coach! The team consists: Andrew Bosquez, Jax Chavez, Christoper De La Rosa, Charlie Lopez, Jaime Nava, Dylan Rodriguez, Joshua Salinas, Coach Roger O. Gonzalez Congratulations to our Speech and Debate winners! The following students placed in the academic contest held at IWHS on Saturday, March 5th. Elexis Narvaiz- placed 3rd in poetry; Cynthia Tomaselli- placed 2nd in poetry & 8th in prose; Ariel Trevino- placed 4th in monologue. Awesome Job!

St Paul Catholic School 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
Our experience at St. Paul has been wonderful. Our child is happy and loves the different project and programs the teachers go out of their way to offer. Many of the teachers in middle school put in extra hours for tutoring, sponsoring clubs and are available for students anytime.St. Paul is more than the usual school it's loving and caring and has high expectations for their students. We are there to stay and support the school as they have our family in the class and in the church. Come on over and meet our great kids and their awesome tyeachers. No judging hear just a genuine love for educating your child in the class and long after.

St Paul Catholic School 1

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
I attended St Paul back in the day when the teachers were nuns and the education was excellent. I made the decision not to send my own children to St Paul because of what I hear parents of St Paul students say about the school. Such complaints are:Teachers don't show up, the kids aren't learning, parents transfer their kids to public school to find their child is behind in academics, and the Principal is horrible. No wonder the school is in active decline. Low enrollment proves this. This school needs to clean house starting with the principal! And yes, I do know her and have seen her in action. I just feel badly for the parents that are paying tuition for a good education that their child will not receive at St Paul.


St Paul Catholic School 1

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
The facts are that some teachers that teach at St Paul School also have moved their children out of St Paul. St Paul School while we were there had 400 students, currently 180 students attend St Paul School. Times are tough but other private schools do not have such a decline in enrollment. The Principals leadership is what makes the school or breaks it ultimately.

St Paul Catholic School 1

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
I agree with comments about the school being in decline. Most prominently, the middle school is of very poor quality. Teacher turn over is very high and the teacher's they do get are usually recent graduates looking for experience. There is nothing new in the middle school--same old boring projects year after year. Compliants fall on deaf ears, teachers are not technology savvy (and they admit it!). Texxt books are soo old. Middle school is not successful. Many students need tutoring from outside resources to catch up to their peers. Very poor in math and English. Defintely not challenging. You definitly do not get your money's worth at St. Paul, but where else are you going to go in that district? Also, no consistency with discipline issues. Handbook very clearly states consequences, but they are rarely enforced.

Nearby schools

St Paul Catholic School
307 John Adams Drive, San Antonio, TX  78228
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (210) 732-2741
Last modified St Paul Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top