Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Paul Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2013

I love this school and so do my children. Everything has changed for the better at St. Paul's! Teachers and kids are excited! We have a wonderful principal Ms. Hermes and wonderful dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

I drive all the way from helotes to drop off my son! I'm an educator at a public school and I can totally see the difference in education and values the kids are have here . When your child wants to be at school and looks forward to class! That speaks for it self .I hear they are having such high enrollment . New students might be put on waiting list. But if you are totally worth the wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

St. Paul's Catholic School has a wonderful, friendly, highly educated experienced new principal Ms. Hermes. My children have really enjoyed all the new learning techniques and extra school activities. I'm not one to post updates but thought this school has been so wonderful, safe, and my children are learning so much I'd thought I would share. After all I do research reviews and appreciate parents taking the time to write them. If your looking for a spiritual, motivational, safe, with teachers who take that extra time to teach new methods of learning to your children this is the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

It amazes me to read some of these critical, maligning and unfounded comments regarding St. Paul Catholic School. People are entitled to their opinions but much of the posted comments, based on our experience, is unfounded. The Principal has ALWAYS made herself available for discussions. Five of the teachers have been there over 10 years. The curriculum is not lagging and projects are challenging. An overwhelming effort is being placed in Technology advancement purchases and fundraising. There is declining enrollment nationwide but yes, the school can do more to draw students. Overall, a charming institution!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

Congratulations to Sarah Torres in 8th grade! She earned a $300 scholarship toward her education at Antonian College Preparatory High School. Congratulations to Fernando Ruiz, IV in 8th grade! He earned a $3,000 scholarship toward his education at Central Catholic High School. These students had high scores on their High School Placement Test and were recognized for their outstanding achievement. Congratulations to our A Boys Royals Basketball team for winning the AIAL Championship on Friday, Feb. 11th at Antonian College Preparatory High School. The Royals were victorious over the Cardinals of St. Matthew Catholic School. Great efforts and dedication by this fearless team and their coach! The team consists: Andrew Bosquez, Jax Chavez, Christoper De La Rosa, Charlie Lopez, Jaime Nava, Dylan Rodriguez, Joshua Salinas, Coach Roger O. Gonzalez Congratulations to our Speech and Debate winners! The following students placed in the academic contest held at IWHS on Saturday, March 5th. Elexis Narvaiz- placed 3rd in poetry; Cynthia Tomaselli- placed 2nd in poetry & 8th in prose; Ariel Trevino- placed 4th in monologue. Awesome Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Our experience at St. Paul has been wonderful. Our child is happy and loves the different project and programs the teachers go out of their way to offer. Many of the teachers in middle school put in extra hours for tutoring, sponsoring clubs and are available for students anytime.St. Paul is more than the usual school it's loving and caring and has high expectations for their students. We are there to stay and support the school as they have our family in the class and in the church. Come on over and meet our great kids and their awesome tyeachers. No judging hear just a genuine love for educating your child in the class and long after.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I attended St Paul back in the day when the teachers were nuns and the education was excellent. I made the decision not to send my own children to St Paul because of what I hear parents of St Paul students say about the school. Such complaints are:Teachers don't show up, the kids aren't learning, parents transfer their kids to public school to find their child is behind in academics, and the Principal is horrible. No wonder the school is in active decline. Low enrollment proves this. This school needs to clean house starting with the principal! And yes, I do know her and have seen her in action. I just feel badly for the parents that are paying tuition for a good education that their child will not receive at St Paul.


Posted September 22, 2010

The facts are that some teachers that teach at St Paul School also have moved their children out of St Paul. St Paul School while we were there had 400 students, currently 180 students attend St Paul School. Times are tough but other private schools do not have such a decline in enrollment. The Principals leadership is what makes the school or breaks it ultimately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

I agree with comments about the school being in decline. Most prominently, the middle school is of very poor quality. Teacher turn over is very high and the teacher's they do get are usually recent graduates looking for experience. There is nothing new in the middle school--same old boring projects year after year. Compliants fall on deaf ears, teachers are not technology savvy (and they admit it!). Texxt books are soo old. Middle school is not successful. Many students need tutoring from outside resources to catch up to their peers. Very poor in math and English. Defintely not challenging. You definitly do not get your money's worth at St. Paul, but where else are you going to go in that district? Also, no consistency with discipline issues. Handbook very clearly states consequences, but they are rarely enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

St. Paul School....where should I begin! Back to School Night was a huge success!!! The halls were spilling over with wonderful and inviting decorations!! The Principal welcomed everyone so warmly and I am so happy that my family is a part of such a loving and faith filled school!! Kudos to St. Paul Catholic School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I highly enjoyed my time at St. Paul's. I attended all 8 years and felt that I received a stellar education. While St. Paul's did not have their accreditation, that is no longer true. The staff and faculty worked hard to receive it and have always put their students first. Most parents believe that their children's teachers are to blame when their children do not pass a class or fail a test. Parents have to realize that education do not stop at school, it has to be enforced at home, as well. Tell your kids to put down the remote/video controller and read a book!


Posted August 11, 2010

Wow, what a rainbow of perceptions! My name is Mrs. Carla Berryman and I teach 4th grade at St. Paul Catholic School. I have been at St. Paul for nine years; it has been a wonderful experience. It's to no surprise when I bump into parents of prior students; I am told that St. Paul Catholic School did a wonderful job preparing their child for High School. I would just hope that anyone reading all of these perceptions would take the time to come and visit this wonderful, fully accredited Catholic School! This year we will be opening an elementary science lab for our younger students to discover and explore the scientific process! We will also be using a brand-new math program that integrates technology!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 11, 2010

My children have attended school at St. Paul for 5 years and they have absolutely loved every teacher they have had. That says a lot about the quality and character of our teachers. Both my children have excelled at St. Paul both in the classroom and in standardized testing. I am confident that their time at St. Paul is preparing them both academically and spiritually for whatever their future may hold. . I love having my children at St. Paul Catholic School and invite other parents to come take a look at what our school has to offer your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

This is the beginning of a great school year and as one of the middle school teachers, I know a great school is not just the decorated classrooms. A great school is one that has dedicated, fantastic and flexible faculty and staff members. Our school offers students the opportunity to learn in an environment that is both challenging and engaging. I'm excited to begin this school year and I invite you to come check out all we have to offer -- most especially a warm welcome to all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2010

The school's claim to accreditation is no longer valid. Teachers/staff worked very hard to pass the accreditation standards a couple of years ago and I imagine they will work just as hard in another 7-8 years if the school is still open, but the standards are not maintained or encouraged by the administration for the years in between. I have been both a parent of students to the school and a staff member during the accreditation process.


Posted April 24, 2010

This school has been in decline since the arise of the new century. Many teachers and administration are lacking. To be quite honest I question the higher education of these people. As we all know, the lack of care is most prominent in the middle school. Many teachers lack the passion and zest needed to teach. Many seem bored and cease to enliven the classroom. Attention is way too focused on athletics. I find many of the school's fundraisers go towards the boosters. I hate to be crass but it must be said: None of those atheletes have a future in the major leagues! this is ridiculous! Should education be pushed aside for mindless recreational activities? No! St. Paul's seriously needs to get their act together. And another thing, their administration needs to rebuild the structure, organizaton, and adequate communication needed for a successful school.


Posted April 12, 2010

The Principal of this school has the best public relation compared to other Catholic schools in San Antonio. I recently relocated from out of state and I had searched for schools here for my daughter. I had lots of experience trying to find a catholic school.I recommend this Principal to other Catholic schools as representing a good image of God first in our lives.Her communication skill is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My kids have been attending since kinder and my wife and I are very pleased with our experience. The teachers are great, highly educated and properly certified. I question the motives of 'the' unhappy parent and their remarks. That their children attended St. Paul for several years suggest something else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

My children have attended for several years. Recent decline, especially this year, I am withdrawing my children. Administration is not keeping the best interest of the students. Middle school curriculum is poor, students are not well prepared for continuing in a catholic high school. Many of the students who went on to catholic high school are required to take summer school as a condition of admittance. No one is listening at how rapidly this school is declining. Save your money, you get the same education and declipline at a public school for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

This was my daughters first year at this school we will not be returning . Administration is poor, they lack communication and are very disorganized and not very truthful people. I am saddened because my daughter and I have met some good friends that will be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 47%
White 24% 37%
Black 1% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 732-7702

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

307 John Adams Dr
San Antonio, TX 78228
Phone: (210) 732-2741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Monticello Academy
San Antonio, TX




Redeemer Lutheran School
San Antonio, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT