Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Luke Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

I am very satisfied with the principal, teachers, staff and parents. There have been positive changes throughout the campus. Great efforts in making the development of our children's educational, spiritual and personal growth a rewarding experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

As an alumni of St. Luke Catholic School and a proud parent of St. Luke Catholic Child Development and St. Luke Catholic School students, I have found this experience to be outstanding! The high rigor, nurturing culture and catholic tradition has been an integral piece of St. Luke. I would no doubt continue to support this school and the educators at this campus. As a professional in this community, the level and expectations these students are exposed to will groom them into being independent, strong-minded, upcoming professionals, yet caring members of the catholic community. I highly recommend this school to those who are looking for an educational challenge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

What a horrible experience! The past few years have been awful for our two children and we have transferred our them to another Catholic school. The principal and her staff are incredibly rude. The teachers are mediocre at best. Maybe the stress of working for such a horrible administrator makes them so stressed out, but they shouldn't take it out on the students. Do yourself a favor and look at the other catholic schools in the city. This one needs a major overhaul of administration, faculty and definitely the office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

We definitely had to step up our game starting at St. Luke's a couple years ago. The course work is rigorous and your child will grow and be empowered from this environment. We enjoy the continual positive reinforcement and activities for the students keep the students striving for success. Our child has gained so much from the curriculum3,500 and instruction at St. Luke's. Be prepared enrollment is a true investment for each family. This educational endevour requires an ernest committment ment of time and effort on behalf of student and parents alike, an aspect that is required of all families; in conversatikns with friends St. Gregorio's is also an excellent option. We feel very lucky to be a part of the St. Luke catholic school community and are very satisfied with this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

the open door policy ain't any good. Your opinions mean nothing. The principal always knows better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I believe St. Lukes provides a good catholic education. My son has only been there a semester and we moved from another state and so far we have enjoyed the experience. Communication has bee good as there is a weekly newsletter sent home and my boy brings home (it seems) all kinds of update notes. Our teacher communicates well so I have no complaints. Sounds like a lot of parents here are still mad there kid was never nominated for student of the week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

It used to be an excellent school . Statistics and facts always speak volumes. We think that many of the school's problems stem from the principal's poor leadership. Some of the reviews point out to the bad teachers, but in our opinion you can't be a bad teacher under a good principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

We rate this school ZERO stars!!! St. Luke's has the rudest teachers we have ever encountered. The teachers think they are better than everyone else and they treat people badly. We wish we would have known what hypocrites they were before we enrolled my granddaughter there. We have put up with enough.....all the while paying the expensive tuition and all the other fees they throw at you. They are money hungry people. There are no Christians in this school, only heathens and pharisees!!!!


Posted November 8, 2011

The middle school is challenging and that is exactly what I want for my children. They will very prepared for high school. I find the administration to be very fair when it comes to discipline. There are some changes in the teachers but change is good sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

I think the school is alright. The teachers were good, at least last year and the years before. When the principal let some excellent teachers go for no explainable reason we decided it is time for us to move on and find another school for our children. There was a lot of bullying among the students to the extent not seen under the previous administration. We also noticed the teachers were under a lot of stress that must have been caused by the work environment. Perhaps seeing so many teachers gone they were nervous about their positions. Does anyone know what happened to the nice vice principal who every morning with smile was greeting the families at the entrance? She left in the middle of the year too.


Posted May 20, 2011

BAD !!! Thats all i have to say about this school ..If your are considering this school for your child/children look elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

SLES is extremely disappointing! No communication -poor teacher communication, teachers either response 2 days after emailed or do not bother responding at all. Unrealistic expectations... literally 1 day turn around for administering test, with 1 day notice to parents (test on Chapter 1 and 2.) Tuition is not a drop in a bucket, it's pretty expensive to say the least, so we will not reenroll our child. We have decided to look towards another school that can meet our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I have two children at St. Lukes - we've been with the school since kinder so we've been here for about 7 years. My experience has been extremely positive - strong religious identity, great teachers, great administration/principal, exellent academics. Yes, rules are strict, but in my experience, fairly enforced. My kids and my family love St. Luke - we know we made the right decision for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Currently I have a child attending this school Although we had heard nothing but positive feedback we are very disappointed , STAFF and teachers are very rude not only to the children but also to parents. Like other review this school does affect a child self esteem .. Currently looking at other school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

Three of my children attended this school. We spent a total of 11 years getting them through. The academics are good. The students leave with solid foundations and strong skills. Unfortunately though, as we look back, we have decided that the administrators, faculty and staff did more harm to our children than good. After the third grade, the dynamic changes. The teachers are bullies who seem to take a perverse joy in being ugly to the children. This is especially common in grades 5-8. The principal is an unkind, misguided, and quite frankly, unqualified elitest who has no business managing adults, nevermind children. For many years now the school has been resting on old, outdated laurels. Your child can get just as good an education elsewhere without so much damage to their self-esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

We have been parents at St. Luke for many years. The class ratio has always been high, but the academics are excellent. There have been many, many families withdrawing from school during the last 2 years however, due to a change in focus on the administration. The previous principal worked very hard to add programs and improve systems and safety at the school. The current principal (who is also a former principal) demonstrates a much narrower focus. It is ironic and a shame to see the school's reputation for excellence tarnished now as "reputation for excellence" has become the primary focus. Unfortunately, you can not achieve or maintain this focus of excellence when your focus becomes so narrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

In doing research we realized that St. Luke has the worst student/teacher ratio in the city, 30/1. Save your money you can get better ratios in public schools! if you want your child to get a catholic education do your homework because there are several catholic schools out there who offer great ratios and great catholic education. Sadly, since the new principal arrived 2 years ago we lost so many families. She never smiles and is empathetic to the needs of the children when approached by parents. This behavior is the result of the school no longer having a waiting list and therefore the "sleep outside to get your children in" days are over. No waiting list this year and last year!! We truly miss the old principal. He was truly amazing and loved the children and listened to parent concerns and always offered solutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

This is an excellent school.Good Discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

Almost one year later since the last posting on 04/26/10 and the same issues at hand. Nothing has changed, very sad because this is a school who has always had a waiting list at all times and now has many openings. Families will continue to leave if changes aren't made starting from the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

The school and the staff are in major need of an overhaul. The principal needs to listen to the parents concerns and take action. You get the feeling that teachers and administrative staff think if you don't like it leave! The administrative staff has no respect for the families who pay tuition to send their children there for a great education. The principal lacks in personality and kindheartedness. This school has been getting a bad reputation for some years and I hope they make some touch choices and clean it up for the benefit of our precious students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 73% 47%
White 20% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 433-2419

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4603 Manitou
San Antonio, TX 78228
Phone: (210) 434-2011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Glass Elementary School
San Antonio, TX




Baskin Academy
San Antonio, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT