Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
350 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Luke's Episcopal School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
This is the first school that I do not feel I have to supplement my children's education.The curriculum is very competitive. My children seem to be very engaged in their school work. Every morning my children are excited to go to school. The choir is great. The after school activities are great. The lunches are covered in tuition. This school provides after school "office hours" which provide any child extra assistance for classwork. This is at no extra charge.What I have noticed that true sets this school apart from others is that while every school talks of teaching autonomy, this school actually does. If you are looking to enhance leadership qualities in your child, this school will be a real nice fit for you.

St Luke's Episcopal School 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school. We have had an incredible experience in PreK3. Our son loves it and is learning so much. Our parent teacher conference was the most thoughtful experience we have had of this kind. The teacher was very prepared and offered very insightful observations about our son. Five stars!


St Luke's Episcopal School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
St. Luke's Episcopal school is a wonderful place. They teach kids from a young age to love Jesus, education, and community. They teach children to respect themselves and other people and their children have impeccable manners. The previous post about the headmaster couldn't be further from the truth. I am not sure how someone could have a negative opinion of the brand new headmaster just weeks after he aquired his new role. Especially when the review was dated before the school year started. Thomas Mcgloughlin is of high moral standards, ethical, and he cares the world of the children he oversees.

St Luke's Episcopal School 1

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Unethical, immoral and greedy. Steer clear of this institution. They put money before children. The new headmaster, Thomas McLaughlin is of atrocious character.

St Luke's Episcopal School 5

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
I have two young children at St. Luke's and couldn't be happier with the excellent balance of rigorous academics, character development and leadership. The school is preparing students not only to successfully compete in the 21st century but to thrive thru community engagement, a tolerant faith and a lifelong love of learning. The school is implementing a 1:1 laptop program this year for grades 5-8 that will be the first of its kind in the city. There are other good private school options in San Antonio but if character, kindness and tolerance for others are as important to you as academics, then St. Luke's is far and away the best choice.


St Luke's Episcopal School 1

Posted April 06, 2010
- a community member
As a former student, I can attest to the blunt fact that St. Luke's is a school that is quite frankly under-par. The education is just bordering on satisfactory and many of the teachers truly do not care about the students, rather, they just want to get paid. I was not a student who was severly excluded from cliques but I saw it happen all around me. If you are not wealthy your child will be excluded. I then left that group of friends to make others outside of school. When I was first enrolled at St. Luke's, the enrollment was quite high. The amount of students began to decrease as the quality decreased however and if my sources are correct this year's graduating class is of about 30! The tuition is much to high for what they have to offer and I strongly discourage you from applying to St. Luke's.

St Luke's Episcopal School
no rating

Posted November 24, 2009
- a parent
We recently moved to San Antonio and looked at a number of schools for our boys (pre-K and 1st grade). St. Luke s has far exceeded our expectations and we are thrilled with the experience our boys are having! The teachers are fantastic and do a wonderful job of blending moral and values based education with challenging and exciting academic work that is engaging without being stressful. Small class sizes allow the teachers to really get to know the children and have an in-depth knowledge of how the boys are doing. Dr. Reford, the new headmaster, is implementing an exciting new vision for St. Luke's that has us very excited about the next 8 years for our boys. This is a great community to be a part of and we are extremely satisfied with the strong academic preparation our boys are receiving. We cannot speak highly enough about St. Luke s!

St Luke's Episcopal School
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
St. Luke's is a woonderful school. Very family oriented. It seems like everyone knows each other, the teachers are very well trained and enthusiastic and treat the children with respect. The curriculum is excellent and they have very high moral expectations for the children...the 'St. Luke's Way'. If you want your child to be in a challenging environment, with excellent teachers and small teachers to student ratio...this is the school for you. Your child will be academically prepared for anything, with a strong moral background.


St Luke's Episcopal School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
We just moved to San Antonio last year and our 2 girls, in K and 1st grade, love the school so much. Everyone, from the teachers, administrators, parents and of course, the kids, are friendly and very warm. As a newcomer, we never felt excluded. The school has a new headmaster, Dr Reford and he is very forward looking and has great vision for the school. I am very pleased that we chose this school vs the others. We compared this with 3 other top private schools in SA and this is the one that has a balance of academic achievement, Christ-focused and yet fun. My kids transited easily in St Luke and have been making lots of new friends. The teachers were dedicated and well-qualified. This school is conveniently located and in a very nice neighborhood. My girls look forward to school everyday ! They make learning really fun !

St Luke's Episcopal School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
I'm a graduate of Saint Luke's. I had been attending Saint Luke's since I was in diapers. It took me going to high school to realize how superb Saint Luke's really is. Everyone knows everyone; it truly is like one big family. Even in middle school, there aren't cliques. Every student is always included, and no one ever feels left out. That is very rare in schools these days! The teachers get to know the students extremely well. Every teacher knows the strengths and weaknesses of each student. Daily chapel sets a tone for the rest of the day. Morality is held high, and 'The Saint Luke's Way' is a way of life for every student. I am very sad to not be attending Saint Luke's anymore. However, I have a strong foundation on which to build, and I have Saint Luke's Episcopal School to thank for that. -Elise Anderson ('08)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Luke's Episcopal School
15 Saint Lukes Lane, San Antonio, TX  78209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (210) 826-0664
Last modified St Luke's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top