Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concordia Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 452 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2007

Teachers are great and continue to strive for all to have Masters degrees. Great Campus and Christ centered environment. Overall excellent teachers, staff, pastors, campus and kids. Highly recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

If you re looking for a school where faculty are allowed to make decisions regarding your child's education and discipline, this school is not for you. A change in church/school administration about five years ago resulted in a decline in the overall quality of the school,some faculty turnover, and a change in principals. I can say that despite this, the remaining faculty are still great. Application of discipline is a major problem at this school. It isn't applied evenly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I am disappointed in the discipline of this school.It appears as if certain children are exempt from expulsion,detention,etc. The administration never puts the correct personnel needed to chaperone children. My child was at a school dance & they informed me of the vulgar way a student was dancing & when a teacher tried to break it up, she was hit in the face by a student. I thought children of a private school would have better respect. I intend to pull my child out of this school because this is not the first time this has happened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

Teachers are wonderful! Principal lacks leadership and discipline. The classes sizes for a private school are pushing the boundaries, would like to see better control over the numbers per class room setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

I have both of my daughters at this school and we absolutely love it. The class ratio is wonderful and the teaching and education my children are receiving is tops. I work in a public elementary school and have the option of briniging my children with me to school and have elected not to because of all the lack of discipline and education I see in the public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

Concordia has been nothing but a blessing to my children and our family. The academic quaility is absolutely wonderful and they know how to encourage the student's to be the best they can be. They are stern but loving and have an open door policy for the families. Their music instructor absolutely mesmorized my child and he loves to practice keyboard at the age of 6. The parents are the coach for soccer in the lower grades but it is really great. There are plenty of extracurricular activites and of course the church has even more to offer. The parent involvement is wonderful and everyone really makes an attempt to connect. What more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

Having had children in public and private schools across the country,this is the finest school we've ever come across! I feel the teaching staff are outstanding in all areas. Christian values are expressed daily. I couldn't be more pleased with the outstanding education my son is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

This is an excellent school! I did not realize just how superior it was until moving from the San Antonio area to Seattle. We have been unable to find a school that compares--an excellent academic program that is completely Christ-centered. The principal is completely just, fair, and passionate about the school as well as the students and their families. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2004

Great School Teachers dedicate themselves to teaching and jesus
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

I have been involved with Concordia for many years and truly value the solid Christian based foundation it has provided for my boys. The teachers and staff are outstanding and the extracurricular programs are great. The education is challenging and based on good Christian principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 31%
Hispanic 12% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LEA
  • PSIA
Fax number
  • (210) 479-9416

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16801 Huebner Rd
San Antonio, TX 78258
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 479-1477

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Rolling Hills Academy
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT