Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St George Episcopal School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2007

St.George is the best school ever! You will love it so much. The cirriculem is above average the people real nice and its a wonderful enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2006

My niece has been at St. George since Jr. Kinder and is now in 6th grade. My only complaint is that there is way too much homework. She sometimes has to stay up past 10pm just to finish and she always starts as soon as she gets home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

This school is definitely for parents who want their children to have a balance between high educational standards and creative learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

My child has been attending St. George Episcopal since he was 4-years old. We enjoy the cozy family atmosphere as well as the solid education our child receives. We also enjoy the christian feeling on campus. The teachers are terrific and the parents are very involved in all areas of the school activities. The school makes you feel like you are part of a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Saint George School offers an accellerated curriculum that complies and surpasses the State Mandated curriculum. In addition, the talented staff and faculty use a 'hands on' approach to learning, including school traditions, daily chapel, and a sense of community. Our only regret is that we didn't discover this wonderful school sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Saint George is the best school I have ever seen. Everyone is nice. The academics are great but the art and music aren't very good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2005

Academic programs are average. Extracurricular programs are above average for a small school. Parental involvement is very active.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

My son is in Sr Kindergarten which means he is emotionally and skill ready to participate and do well in school. I have seen a high level of preparation on the part of the administration and the teachers. But above all, the staff has shown the child and the parent lots of love, kindness and patience. What a great beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 31%
Hispanic 33% 51%
Two or more races 13% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 1% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (210) 342-4681

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 West Avenue
San Antonio, TX 78213
Phone: (210) 342-4263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT