Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 470

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 0
no rating

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
TMI is a great school. We have been extremely pleased with the academics and close knit community of parents, faculty and students. The are growing because of the success of the academics and college placements; but the students are still encouraged to be involved with sports, clubs, and lots of community service.

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 2

Posted January 03, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 2

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school, with great academics and a great ethos. The teachers here really care about the students and do all that they can to help them succeed. The school is really a hidden gem, known only to a few but truly excellent in all aspects. I heartily recommend it.


TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a community member
Like the previous poster, I am an alumnus of the school and have the fondest memories of it. The school is a very special place for me and, I think, a very special place in general. TMI is an institution at once deeply traditional and highly progressive. It is traditional in the fact that its basic ideals draw from a long history of Western thought, prominently including Plato, Cicero, Christian Scripture and Theology and Renaissance Humanism. It is a progressive institution in that it does not view this tradition in the light of dusty antiquarianism, but as a means to remedy real problems in the world of the 21st century. I really do feel that TMI sets out to prepare young men and women to lead and to serve others. In the meantime, we got a great academic education and enjoyed a great community.

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Let's face it: San Antonio is a provincial city. One might reasonably expect, therefore, that its schools would be provincial schools, bland, passable and without pretensions of greater things. TMI is not like that (I dare not comment upon other local schools). The academics are very good, arguably world-class, and the school has a strong and distinctive ethos based on the twin concepts of service and leadership. We had considered sending our son to boarding school in Austin if not on the East Coast to get the education we thought that he needed, but TMI far exceeded our expectations. Don't be put off by the website, which changes frequently and is generally badly designed. Here is a school with much to offer, not only to the local community, but to the nation and the world.

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a community member
I am an alumnus for the school and can scarcely recommend it highly enough. Having known and worked with alumni of many very prestigious private schools on four continents, I feel that I am justified in saying that the school's academics are truly world-class. Furthermore, the school community is a very close-knit one, in which students are all but forced to develop close relationships with both their peers and the faculty. The school is by no means religiously dogmatic, but the Christian tradition of service to others is taken very seriously. If you are looking for a school that combines rigorous academics and a great community in the best traditions of boarding pre schools, then TMI is not only your best (and only) option in South Texas, but a viable option when compared to schools across the country and the world.


TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 2

Posted August 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas 1

Posted January 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas
20955 West Tejas Trail, San Antonio, TX  78257
(210) 698-7171
Last modified TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
TMI - The Episcopal School of Texas Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top