Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
186 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas Episcopal School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 22, 2016
- a teacher
We want to thank the three-year old teacher, Mrs. Sheppard for her loving care of our grandson. He has learned so much, especially a love of books. This very experienced teacher provides a well-rounded preschool experience.

St Thomas Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 22, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers are well-qualified and work hard to provide a positive learning experience. The small class sizes and the challenging curriculum lead to excellent ITBS scores, but more importantly, students learn to love learning.


St Thomas Episcopal School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers at St. Thomas encourage students to do their best and not compare themselves to others. Collaboration teaches children to work together, learn together, and help others learn, too. Students learn that if they don't know something well, their teachers will support them until they have success.

St Thomas Episcopal School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a teacher
Children at St. Thomas are treated with respect, and the school fosters that attitude towards others. Students learn to listen when others speak, to accept differences, and to follow the rules of the classroom and school. The Golden Rule is alive and well here.

St Thomas Episcopal School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a teacher
Because of the small class sizes, teachers have time to model caring and compassion for their students. At St. Thomas, children participate in service-learning activities that teach compassion and outreach into the community.


St Thomas Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a teacher
Students at St. Thomas learn to respect themselves, others, and God's resources. Due to the faith-based nature of the school, children gain a strong moral compass.

St Thomas Episcopal School 3

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
St. Thomas has a number of good things about it - small class sizes, an amazing playground, and the number and variety of extracurricular activities all make St. Thomas an appealing option. However, at least at the lower grades, you should steer clear if you have a child, especially a boy, who is immature or unruly. The teachers in the lower grades do not have the classroom management skills or patience to work well with children who don't delight in pleasing adults and doing seatwork.

St Thomas Episcopal School 5

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
My child attended St. Thomas from age 3 through fifth grade. My husband and I are advocates of both public and private and never expected to stay through the private school years. However, we did continue after preschool. For our family and for several others, private school has provided a family atmosphere and a genuine one-on-one elementary education both spiritually and academically. We are not of the Episcopalian religion, but St. Thomas embraces and respects different religions. My oldest has gone on to the public school nearby and loves it--at St. Thomas she also scores in the grades 13+ on the ITBS test. She qualified for advanced Math, Reading, and Language at the public middle school and is thriving. She learned great organizational skills from her teachers over the years and we are blessed to have had St. Thomas in our lives. Our youngest still attends, and we know it is providing her with a good education. No school is perfect, but for us, this school has been a blessing.


St Thomas Episcopal School 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
My son has transformed since starting St Thomas. IRS a nurturing and academically high standard school. I highly recommend St Thomas to anyone.

St Thomas Episcopal School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is finishing her fifth year at St. Thomas and I wanted to take a moment to share what a blessing the school has been in our lives. I used to teach in a public school and I am constantly amazed at how much personal time St. Thomas teachers pour into the students and school. My daughter has flourished with the smaller class sizes and has the confidence to try new things. Her teachers have been stellar - she scored 13+ in many areas of her Iowa tests. We toured other schools and I've had friends recommend their child's school but I have yet to find one that provides the small, innocence-protecting, faith-based environment we have received at St. Thomas. I rarely put my seal of approval on anything as important as a child's education and emotional well-being, but I would not hesitate to recommend St. Thomas. We love it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Thomas Episcopal School
1416 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX  78232
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (210) 494-3509
Last modified St Thomas Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top