Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 53 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


57 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
As my child hopped into the car this afternoon after the first day of school, she said, "mom, this school just gets better every year!" She was nervous to change levels but as I drove off this morning, I thought of the Montessori three-year cycle and how this nervousness only comes up every three years! The other two are just "coming home" after a long summer break. Montessori has a way of taking the nervousness and stress out of school and instilling the joy and excitement to learn. It's refreshing and I just had to share that today! Have a great school year!

The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
MSSA has been the most remarkable and rewarding experience for our family. Every day our children are thrilled to go to school. Our children feel safe in their environment, surrounded by nature, respect, courtesy, and the encouragement to ask questions, explore new realms, and think outside of the box. Everywhere you look, there is a real sense of joy in the learning environment. MSSA is strong in so many ways, but I think its greatest strengths are the individualized educational plans for each student, the genuine love of learning fostered in each child, and the caring and compassionate environment of the school community. The children are taught at the very beginning to have respect for themselves, to respect others and to be courteous to everyone. Such an environment fosters creativity and allows children to explore all avenues without recrimination. We have been at MSSA for many years and choose to stay at MSSA because it is the best environment for our children to explore their curiosity, reach their full potential, and master subjects at their own pace. Our children have thrived at MSSA and are thrilled to go to school every day.


The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
Our two very different children continue to exhibit the benefits of their many years at this excellent school. Dedicated, flexible and knowledgeble teachers and a unique campus combined with strong Montessori priniciples were certainly worth the tuition. The School allowed our kids to learn, not memorize material. Each child transitioned to different public schools without any bumps and received college scholarships which the School certainly played a part in. Many of our friends enrolled their kids, based in part on our enthusiasm for the School. Concerned parents with similar priorities have become long time friends. Years after leaving MSSA, we continue to support this unique local resource.

The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
2 of our children attended the Montessori School of San Antonio from age 4 through 8th grade; their transition to high school was seamless and they were more than well-prepared for not only their high school advanced classes, but also blew the standardized tests out of the water. The reason? An incredible middle school program that built upon the foundation of the previous years and solidified their leadership and critical thinking skills that will help them for the rest of their lives. Had they transitioned out of the school without completing 8th grade, their experience would not have been as rich and well-rounded, both academically and socially. The current head of school and administration are approachable, forward-thinking, and continually striving to improve all aspects of the student's experience. All schools go through periods of transition with teachers and staff; we have had our ups and downs with MSSA as well, but are confident in the end result. Our youngest child is in 5th grade at MSSA and will stay though 8th grade; the entire environment of the school contributes to her success as a well-rounded and productive member of society.

The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
I am proud to say that all 3 of my children have attended MSSA, and my wife and I have been active parents in the school for the past 12 years. Never have I encountered a more caring, nurturing, respectful educational environment that fosters a love of learning and celebrates cultural diversity. My older two children attended the school for 10 years and have now graduated 8th grade and moved on to wildly successful high school endeavors largely to the myriad of skills honed in the MSSA environment. In particular, the Middle School program gives students hands-on opportunities in all areas of the curriculum and requires them to be comfortable speaking in front of large groups. The Mo Ranch retreat in the beginning of the school year bonds the children together, allows them to know their teachers on a more personal level. We have been impressed with our numerous teachers at MSSA who have a patient, respectful way of presenting the Montessori curriculum. The method of learning is simply more "sticky" than the memorization and regurgitation often found elsewhere. We have been extremely impressed with our experience and rest assured our 10y.o. will complete 8th grade at MSSA.


The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
2 of our children attended the Montessori School of San Antonio from age 4 through 8th grade. Their transition to high school was seamless; not only were they prepared for their advanced public high school classes but blew the standardized testing out of the water. The reason? An incredible middle school program that built upon their previous years and solidified their leadership and critical thinking skills. For me, middle school is NOT the time to transition your children to a public school; the community of respect, teamwork, inclusion and encouragment of public-speaking are the crown jewel of this school. The current head of school and administration are approachable, forward-thinking and continually striving to improve the student's experience. All schools have their ups and downs with teachers and staff; we have had a few bumps in the road over the past 12 years but are confident in the end result. Our youngest child started at age 3 and is currently in 5th grade; it is exciting to see her blossom and fulfill her potential as we have seen happen with our two older children. We believe in this awesome school!

The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
This school has been an amazing home for my children to flourish and grow into wonderful young adults. They are not only given a wonderful base in education, but taught how to be positive, conscientious leaders in society - something that so many schools are lacking nowadays.

The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a teacher
I have worked at this school for over 10 years. I have worked for two very different administrators and the school is better than it ever has been! A wonderful place to work!


The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
MSSA provided both of our children an incredible experience. The combination of the Montessori education with committed experienced teachers who care so much for the students is so powerful. Our two children spent 10 years at MSSA and now are enjoying success in high school and college.

The Montessori School of San Antonio 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
MSSA is an amazing school! My daughter has learned to love to learn and to be excited about challenging herself. She has grown so much over her first two years at the school! MSSA fosters creative thinking and a genuine love of the educational process. I can't imagine a more perfect place for her to learn and grow.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Montessori School of San Antonio
17722 Rogers Ranch Pkwy, San Antonio, TX  78258
(210) 492-3553
Last modified The Montessori School of San Antonio is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Montessori School of San Antonio Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews.