Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Life Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My daughter attended NLCA for PreK4. What I liked about the school was my little one was responsible for turning in their own homework, which she had nearly every day for at least 30 minutes. Their challenging curriculum adequately challenged my student with learning cursive and beginning reading. All the students, including the older ones up to grade 12 were very respectful and displayed the kind of class you just don't see in public schools. My SIL graduated from this school and when I went to her graduation we witnessed the camraderie between teachers and students. The teachers really seemed to care about each student and were fully aware of each one's plans after graduation.What I didn't like about the school was the lack of communication. I never knew about upcoming events or I would hear about it last minute or there would be some sort of mixup on dates or times. I believe overall though, the school was good for my daughter. After we moved her to a public school for her Kinder year due to loss of income, she was pretty far ahead of her peers and was invited to apply for the GT program. She got an amazing foundation at NLCA and I would do it again in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

To the "parent" with so much negativity, just a couple of things. The copastor has a doctorates which qualifies her to be a superintendent. Most superintendents have law degrees not educational. Secondly your spelling and grammar is exactly why my child will be attending this school. The school is privately funded I dont know if you comprehend what that means, but you invest in YOUR child. No school is perfect but I appreciate the stand that they have taken to educate our children in a Christian environment. The public school system here in San Antonio is one of the worst in the US. Im the product of.public school and these kids are learning more things than I know now and I am grown. So its always easy to be bold negative and anonymous right? Check your facts before you come on here talking out of.your feelings.


Posted July 16, 2013

This is a terrible school...The tuition is extremely high and the return on investment does not compare. The teachers aren't qualified in the areas they are teaching. The school operates under a cloud of secrecy, they want input from parents in the form of monetary giving .When parents attempt to add or suggest ways to improve the suggestion are ignore ..The school superintendent is not credential, she is the co-pastor of the church, no formal training on the roles and responsibilities of being a superintendent. The superintendent doesn t work a normal performing the task of superintendent. Because of a lack of teachings students are learning primarily from computer generated lessons with no instructional inputs from the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

New Life Academy is a great school! My child has attended this school for over 4 years now, and loves it. The staff is very supportive, and understanding of my military schedule. They have really worked with me this year. I have been deployed and they really stepped in to help my family adjust. I am a single parent and the FREE tutoring they provided was a God-send for me. I highly recommend this school for any parent who really wants to raise a Christian child in these troubled times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

Instead of making the negative comments about public schools and what you think they don t provide, how about having the common decency to consider the administrators and teachers in the congregation and more importantly the children that don t attend the academy. Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity. 1 Timothy 4:12. This is why children leave and don t come back .and the children who go to the school call you all hypocrites Let s talk honesty .last year graduating class had members grades change to ensure they would graduate ..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

Now i'm continuing the school, academics are not up to scale they do not have fine arts, which colleges are looking for when they. Ohh and on the teachers, some of them hit your when try to get their anger out and i really don't think that the superintendent and chancellor know what's really going on in that school. Currently this school had about 5 highschool teachers how get fustrated because they are low on staff, I personally would not send my child to this school, and would not recommend this school to any parent.


Posted August 3, 2009

My child attended this school and I learned a little about how the school functions 'behind scenes.' I do not recommend this school. It is a lot of pushed paperwork with very little teaching! It is not hands on nor are Christian principles even presented. Their is very little communication and more attention toward neatness and cleanliness than education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I go to this school and I very much dissagree with the parent that is trying to say that it is not that good. I am not downing her opinion but there are two sides to every story and I would like to give mine. This school may have high prices but if you want your kids to have a quality education and a relationship with Jesus Christ then send them here to learn how to. We're not perfect, and if your looking for the perfect school then your child will be deprived of knowledge for the rest of their life. I attend New Life Christian Academy and of course there are things I would like to change but thats how every school will be. There is no such thing as a perfect school. But there is such a thing as a school striving towards excellence, and thats New Life Christian
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2007

My daughter attended this school for pre-k3 and I have to admit, she did learn alot but the downfall to that is, she is still a toddler and NCLA does not allow the children time to be children. My daughter stated many times that they never go outside to play all they do is learn all day. Children need time to be children. Another thing I don't like is that, you can't come and check on your children during the day because the school is a closed campus. I would like to stop in and check on my child very once in a while. One more thing, the school fees along with tuition can get very pricing. Finally, I don't feel a connection with the teachers or the staff when I pick her up or drop her off, is it because I am not a member of their church?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

My daughter attends NLCA, it's a great school. However you are required to pay for everything tuition, lunch, afterschool care, textbooks, and uniforms. I don't agree with all the fees required. Again as I stated before this is school has a wonderful curriculum and my child looks it. But why do I have to pay a fortunate for my child to receive a good education?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

It's an upcoming school, with more parents needing to get more involved and promoting ideas,suggestions and improvements for the school. Overall,staff is great, school is diversified and teaching of spirituality a plus esp. in todays world, my children love this school! -Parent -A Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

Wonderful place for a child to get an education and develop lifelong friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

I am a student who used to go to new life christian academy and this school is one of the best schools I have ever gone to. This school is awsome! Olivia silva class of '07
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2005

This school uses the Abeka curriculum, which is an advanced-progressive academic program. The staff is exceptional, nurturing and proactive. The school offers limited music and sports programs; however, it does address the needs of the complete individual, mind, body, soul and spirit. Parent involvement is welcomed and encouraged. The school supports and encourages community outreach and good citizenship of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

I believe that NLCA has a great program. Children from the ages of two and up can attend. The teachers for the Pre-K and Kinder classes are well trained in the teaching field and your children will gain a lot from attending.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2005

This school is full accredited. It has great over qualified teacher who bring the curriculum to a new level. Plus all the teacher care and are willing to help us with our school work and our personal lives they are always there for us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2005

New life is a christian base school withclasses from pk-3 to 12grade. They have frienldy staff of teachers. Convient for resides of lackland base.They very resaonable tuition fees than dont inculde meals. Have a high gradtuiton number.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 13%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Two or more races 22% 2%
White 8% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ICAA
Fax number
  • (210) 679-6080

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6622 U.S. 90
San Antonio, TX 78227
Phone: (210) 679-6001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cable Elementary School
San Antonio, TX





Hull Elementary School
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT