Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Child Montessori School

Private

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $222,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2012

The teachers are wonderful. My son was in the bilingual preschool room and we thought the teacher was very professional and caring. The classroom was rich with activities and I like how the children are able to choose the work as my son really likes math. He is leaving the school knowing multiplication and division at 6! The two primary teachers and elementary teacher are all fantastic! They truly care about the children and always keeps the child's best interest in mind when discussing your child's needs, shortcomings and strengths. I am very impressed with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This is my child's last year attending this school. It has been a very positive experience. This is the only school in town I found that is a real Montessori school. The teachers there have exceedingly great credentials and can teach. The teachers are caring, loving, and know how to teach using the montessori method. The primary and elementary teachers are exceptional in their knowledge of content as well as caring and understanding the needs of each individual child. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

This school provides a truly superior Montessori education, in my opinion the best available in San Antonio. Both of my sons went through the entire program, from age 2 through 5th grade. They graduated performing well beyond grade level, especially in reading, geography, and science. The teachers were always available for consultation, as was the principal by appointment. The classroom environment is friendly, non-competitive, and safe. Another commenter complained about her son being asked to leave due to three incidents of biting; whereas, to me, as a parent, this is a fully appropriate way to protect the children -- human bites present a significant risk of infection. Furthermore, the rules regarding biting are clearly stated in the policy manual provided to all parents at enrollment. The staff and administration of CHILD Montessori truly care about the development and well-being of all of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

My child has gone to this school since she was 2 years old. She began reading at age 3. The teachers are wonderful and caring. The director is the one who founded the school and has always been supportive any time I have had a concern. I am extremely impressed with the school and its program. My child is now enrolled in the Duke University TIPS program. My child went there through the 5th grade and we loved it. I also like the school because children are allowed to be children. Children are accountable to their actions and those children who are disruptive and aggressive and hurt other children are dismissed. As a parent, I applaud a school to have such high standards as well as allowing my child to follow her interests and dreams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

Last year we enrolled our 2 year old son. He was kicked out after 6 days. Their policy is 3 incidents and out. My son bit a first time, a second time they thought he was going to bite, a third time they said he tried. When I went to pick him up the teacher was waiting for me at the Curb and told me that I could not bring him back. Even though, that morning we went to talk to her about the behavior and agreed on a plan to work with the school. I am not going to justify my son's behavior but the teacher suggested we seek help from a pediatrician, the obvious implication was that we medicate him. Another day she mentioned she didn t have time to work with my child since she had 11 other kids to attend. Another day she told me to take him to a Psychologist. After explaining the situation to the Psychologist, she laughed and indicated that biting was common for kids this age when in new environments. Most shocking was when my husband called the director. She began discussing another child which they kicked the same day, she didn t even know who my child was. She told us to bring him back the next semester. We decided not to. We took him to another Montessori and he is doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

School has good teachers but no one is really in charge of the academics. Lots of children just like in public school but with a >$7700 in tuition price tag; Little to no supervision on the playground. Almost pulled my child out due to bullying and inappropriate contact. Was told that my child didn't fit the montessori mold. Maria Montessori would turn over in her grave if she saw this school operation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

School was just o.k. It fell below my expectations due to lack of supervision and interest in my child's learning. Facility is very cramped and anyone off the street can come in since there is no front door supervision. No IDs are checked upon entering the facility. Wouldn't pay for private school prices for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

This school is great! I enrolled my son in first grade after having a very poor reception at the public school across the street. They have helped him to catch up in weak areas and to polish his strengths. I look forward to him continuing his great education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 31%
Hispanic 35% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2829 Green Run Lane
San Antonio, TX 78231
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 493-6550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eleanor Kolitz Academy
San Antonio, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT