Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Atonement Academy

Private | PK-12 | 502 students

We are best known for classical, Catholic education.

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $252,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2008

Well above average school. We are not Catholic but we wanted a solid college prep program for our son and he is getting it. He does not like mass each day and as Lutheran's do not feel he should be forced to go, but it isn't going to hurt him. This school has excellent honor system, very good academics, a student body of kids who have parents who CARE at it shows. Uniform and rule enforcement outstanding. Boys and girls have separate classes until 9th grade; makeup rules, hair cut rules, moral behavior rules excellent. This school's administration KNOWS how to effect learning. Some teachers are outstanding, others a bit young and naive. Students are taught personal responsibility and 'blame game' is not acceptable, which is the way it should be. If you are a parent who wants to blame teachers for your kid not learning, don't bother to apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

This is a fantastic school -- we have been here for eight years and see incredible development and growth with each subsequent year. It is interesting to see and read the applause as well as the criticisms. Obviously, people (parents, students, and teachers) either love the place or hate it! Obviously, it is NOT for everyone -- best bet: drop in for a visit at the weekeday 9:15 student sMass, then ask for an impromptu visit! Rather than believe too many glorious reviews or ignorant, ill-informed opinions, you should see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

What can we say, Atonement is a fabulous school, all the effort put into the way it looks, all the PHD faculty, Wow! It is a great school, but, for very intelligent children. Our kids tried it for a while, but, our kids are just average. It is sad that this school is not equipped to handle 'regular' kids. One would need to exceed in music or academics, that is about it. If you have children who want to excel in sports or other, this is not the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Please think carefully before putting your children in this school. Music program is the only good thing about this school. The hallways and lobby are decorated beautifully and that seems to be their main focus: outward appearances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

I am so happy and relieved to be out of the Atonement Academy. It's been going downhill for the past three-four years. All they focus on is their music and they brag about how fabulous their choir is. Which may be sort of true, but they hardly seem to care quite as much about other, more important areas of learning, like, science for example. Their curriculum is shaky and inconsistent. They have zero fine art classes besides music. Their selection of extra curriculars is lacking. They boast about having teachers with PHD's, but these teachers seem to have trouble communicating with students who aren't as smart as them. They also like to talk up the fact that they have Daily Mass. This nearly is the only good thing about the school. Thankfully, I was able to leave and go to another private school and was overwhelmed by the differences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2007

My children attended AA for three years, with each subsequent year being more disappointing than the last. Originally, we bought into the school's concept of a classical education, where children are taught to think and not learn by rote memorization. This goal was not realized as each year the curriculum changed and many core subjects were not the focus of the administration. The school excels at music and religion. Science and Social Studies were at best taught once a week. Math and English are slightly better than average. Without parent or teacher purchases, teachers are not necessarily supplied with all the tools needed to support the curriculum. ie full Science Labs, use of computer labs, more current/variety books. While my family made many wonderful friends and my children experienced spiritial growth, AA is not what we would recommend for families looking for academic consistency and challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

It was refreshing for our kids to spend the last three years around kids who love the Lord, their teachers, their studies and each other! We attend a different Catholic Church across town, but we have always been made to feel welcome! And the PTC loves its volunteers! I don't know what 'Dissappointed' (sic) was talking about -- maybe gossip and rumors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

The Atonement Academy is a school where they strive in excellence of the spiritual physical and intellectual development of the student. i am a student and member of the student council here at the atonement. this school does exactly what it says they do. yes they strive for excellence and even though they may not do it in the manner we want their overall intentios are good. the development of this school has grown drastically. edcuation and religion comes first followed sport which are not doing to well. as said before their intentions are for our benifit but the manner in which they are doing it may not be the best. sports are lacking, hours have been extended and with ten periods a day homework takes most of the students time. from previous experience students would like more time after school to do things they love and not homework.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2007

This school/church provides a deeply Catholic environment for my children. It is also not ashamed of our rich heritage in classical western culture as evidenced in the classically based curriculum. If you want a place you can trust to enrich your child's Catholic faith and appreciation of our great western civilization. On the other hand, it has had its growing pains. The curriculum and faculty are stabilizing and improving with each year. Extracurricular options are minimal and the sports program is still small but growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

Sports and other extracurricular activities are not a priority. Parent involvement is scarce and its always the same people helping and getting credit for helping. Events are very unorganized. Unless you give time or money your voice is not heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

Education is a priority at Atonement Academy. Our son is in Kindergarten there and we are continually impressed by what goes on at AA. He is learning to add double digits, reading above the first grade level, learning Spanish, and learning far more than I expected about the Catholic faith at his age. All the children participate in choral. There is also art and our son participated in the soccer team this past fall. We plan to enroll our daughter this fall for Pre-K and another daughter will follow the year after. We are VERY satisifed with Atonement Academy. Be expected to be an active participant in your child's education. There are many, many family events to attend and while attendance is not required, it is expected. We have yet to go to any function that we have felt has been a waste of our time or money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

The school has been perfect for my kids. The school takes a non nonsense approach to education. They go to mass daily, have a very active music program and the level of work they do is well above what I ve seen at the local public school. My oldest has a measured IQ of over 135 and by the looks of it there are plenty of others equally capable or better. The school is not for everyone however. Discipline problems are not tolerated. If you are a parent looking for a school to straighten out your child s academic or disciplinary problems, this is the wrong school. If a student cannot behave and is disruptive the school will quickly take action. The school seeks to provide the produce students that are of sound mind, sprit, and body. It does exceedingly well at the first two and moderately well at the other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

I put my son in the PreK program. He had never been in daycare and I knew he would need time to adjust. I mentioned this to his teacher on orientation night and she said she understood. I had to withdrawal him after less than a week because they could not handle him and they didn't have time to let him adjust. There were 28 kids in his class and one teacher and one aid. The attention and patience my son needed to adjust could not be given. It was extremely disappointing. I lost a lot of money out of that. If you know your kid may need time to adjust don't send them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

The much touted 'Classical Education' is deteriorating. The curriculum has changed 4 times in 4 years. However, it's the only private school in the area and public is worse.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 11, 2006

The lower grades are doing very well and the education is great for them. However, as a former student, I can say that the middle and high school are terrible. They decided to begin the high school too early, resulting in a loss of interest in the older students. I served on the student council and it was an uphill battle trying to get anything approved. We asked for hallway decorating, dress down days, spirit week and class t-shirts, but alas all were rejected. But that was not the only problem. The principal did not know what was required for the classes in high school. We ended up learning something competly different from the required ciricullum.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 22, 2006

This school [is] not interested in any views other than thier own. They are not interested in the well being of the children or the education they recieve. I would think long and hard before enrolling my child at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

The quality of education is absolutely outstanding and challenging. The facilities are beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Our children have just completed their first year at The Atonement Academy. They were in PK and K. We are very pleased with their progress over the school. Our children are further along in their education than other children in our neighborhood of the same age. My kindergarten child can read books rated at 2nd grade. Her math skills are also exceptional. A college friend of ours who has a daughter in kindergarten at another private school cannot even read or do math past single digit addition. Our PK child can already do that. We are very pleased with the school. Our only complaint is that even though many parents get involved in the school, it would be nice if all parents would give a minimal effort in helping out when help is requested. This is not a public school where you dump your children and forget about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Atonement Acadamy is not only wonderful academicly, but the care and concern for the children is above and beyond. Teacher's at the Academy are there not for the money,but for the love they have for God and his children. If people feal that this is not what the Academy stands for they have the option of choosing another school for their child and allowing one of the other numerous children on the waiting list an opportunity that will be appriated for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

The Atonement Academy is a Wonderful school. My daughter is in kindergarten and is doing extremely well. I love that they have an advanced curriculum and that the incorperate religion every day. I think God is one big factor that is missing in schools today. The teachers and higher ups are very well qualified and truly care about the school and its children. Music and spanish are taught several times each week. They have athletics each day and a few extracurricular to offer. You can tell that the parents are involved and aware of the things going on in their children's live. This is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 31%
Hispanic 34% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school The Atonement Academy
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Notre Dame
U.S. Naval Academy
Tufts University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2006)
  • Top Fifty Catholic High Schools in the Nation (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ralph Johnston
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (210) 695-9679

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Daily Mass, rigorous college prep curriculum, disciplined environment.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
The Atonement Academy

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Notre Dame
U.S. Naval Academy
Tufts University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15415 Red Robin Road
San Antonio, TX 78255
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 695-2240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garcia Middle School
San Antonio, TX



May Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


Brandeis High School
San Antonio, TX


Stinson Middle School
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT