Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-2, 4-12|Private
570 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
109 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 136 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atonement Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
You have to have strong determination in order to succeed ANYWHERE, and that is especially true at Atonement.

Atonement Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
The community is small but tight-knit as well. It is well worth the strict curriculum, because it teaches me to be a better scholar... and more importantly, a better person.


Atonement Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
There are rules, just like at any other school. The difference is that Atonement ENFORCES those rules. Some people might complain that this is "too harsh" or "unfair", but the truth is that REAL life is not going to be easy on you when you are dishonest. This school not only promotes honesty, but it also proves that there are consequences when you cheat or are unfair to another person.

Atonement Academy 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
My child was a September baby entering Kinder in 2015 we started the year thinking we would just be keeping up with public schools. At the end of the year my daughter was reading the books, doing math at a high level such as add, subtract and a lot of deductive reasoning, telling time, counting over 100 and most importantly constantly asking questions and giving her opinions of how God affects your file on a daily basis. The school, administration and the teachers are Exemplary! If you want to be below average, not have a family environment nor god in your life you have other options. The ATONEMENT is about disciple, leadership, God in your daily life and Exemplary Education! Not for Everybody! Sincerely, Rudy Lozano Banker

Atonement Academy 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The Atonement Academy is a fantastic Catholic environment. My children have attended the Middle School and Upper Schools for the last 3 years, and I would have them attend no other Catholic school in the San Antonio area, because we are focused on a few things that are our priority: 1. Daily Mass, 2. orthodox Catholic teaching integrated into all studies and school life, 3. rigorous academic standards and top tier results, 4. a safe and loving environment with students who are good Christians to one another 5. small class sizes which allow teachers to really know and care about your child's progress; those same teachers, in the vast majority of cases, are also very willing to work with parents to help kids adjust and succeed with the course material If these are your priority for your children, then you would love Atonement. Now the difficulties. While these are not ideal, they were not a reason for us, considering our priorities, to put our children somewhere else. 1. Athletics are a low priority, and there is little investment, recognition or support of the athletic programs and coaching staffs, relative to other private schools in SA 2. There has been some turnover of teaching staff that has disrupted the learning experience of students, particularly in the Middle School 3. Most of the teachers and administrators are top notch, but, just as in any school, there are occasional duds, some of which were let go, it seems, during last year's school year, which was described in #2. 4. There is more homework assigned than may be necessary, and it is generally not coordinated between teachers. The handbook limits homework on weekends, but that is generally not followed or enforced. My kids and I love Atonement. One of them mentioned, after a few months of attendance how much she loves going to mass every day! Another child has become so much more of a scholar, who enjoys learning, more than he ever did before attending Atonement Academy. It is an adjustment, for sure, and will instill a new level of discipline that would not exist at any other school, but that discipline will carry your child through the difficulties of High School and University success. It will also prepare them to live a joyfully Catholic witness as adolescents and young adults in the secular culture we face today. I, for one, would not want anything less for my kids.


Atonement Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Mrs Kennedy, MS administrator, is a wonderful person who truly cares about students. She ought to be commended for her exceptional work.

Atonement Academy 1

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
To quote the founding priest "In the end, any educational institution which cannot engage its students in that question cannot be educating the whole person. It is the fatal weakness of public schools, including charter schools. Truth can never be something that is only talked about." In NO WAY does the administration do anything other than talk the talk. They and the faculty do not walk the walk of classical or liberal education. The school has a few good families who are the minority. Charter schools can educate the whole person in ways Atonement never will.

Atonement Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Really, the teachers here have no credentials. Most of them have BA from UTSA which is a bottom level university. It is shameful for a college prep school to have such teachers who plagiarize power points and make multiple choice tests.


Atonement Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This school pretends to be difficult and suffers from severe grade inflation. It does not cultivate grit or persistence.

Atonement Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The students here have a cheating subculture. The administration plays favorites as well. The school only cares about appearances,

Nearby schools

Atonement Academy
15415 Red Robin Road, San Antonio, TX  78255
(210) 695-2240
Last modified Atonement Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-2, 4-12
Top