Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Keystone School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2009

This is our second year at this school, and we love it. What a breath of fresh air - the diversity is great and the program is demanding but is a wonderful preperation for college. They are choosey on who gets in and it is not for everyone, but if you can get in, and you enjoy a unique atmosphere with a challenging program, this is SA's hidden treasure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

I am currently a freshman at Keystone School. I have been attending the school since 4th grade. When I first came I realized the school was excellent, with many unique ways, and great students and teachers. It is academically advanced and has taught me wonders. Upon entering high school I've realized it is not anything like what it used to be, and has a poor social enviornment. The sports teams are not so great and there aren't many outstanding social clubs. So if you want your child to have good people skills and experience a good social life, then Keystone is probably not for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

I am a student @ Keystone, and i think that Keystone is a very good school academically, but socially it is not as strong for the school has a mere average of 36 kids in every grade. I have been going to this school since kinder, and now i am in 9th grade. One other downside may be the expense of the school, but as long as you have the money, and make sure your child does activities outside of school to help their social abilities Keystone is right for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I went to this school, K-12 as did both of my older brothers and to be honest, it ain't what it used to be. A child no longer has to be gifted to be accepted; as long as his parents are willing to pay, anybody can get in. I can't rate the lower or middle school teachers since most of the teachers that taught me have left, but I can say that most of the high school teachers are very, very good. Keystone used to be awesome because it was so laid-back and unique and it still it is, kinda. The current administration has been pushing to make it more mainstream which I feel is ruining the unique atmosphere that makes Keystone great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

Have been a parent at this school for over 10 years with experience in lower, middle and upper. School recently has undergone some major revisions, which have upset and alienated some, but stasis and stagnation invite sub-par performance. The teaching staff are gifted, the curriculum is strong. The weakest link right now is the middle school, which has very little flexibility for the extraordinarily gifted student. Overall, one of the strongest schools in the entire country for college prep. Currently also NOT a school for the wealthy, encouraging matriculation for students who are capable and not just with big bankrolls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I am current parent at Keystone (2008) and I am more than pleased with this school. Other reviews of teacher turnover and headmaster issues are off base. For the 2007 school year all teachers that were offered a contract accepted, same with 2008 except for an upper school teacher who decided to retired. The headmaster had to make some difficult choices and the current teaching staff is gifted. The new head of lower school is from Vermont, and she has brought good ideas to the school. There are 14 kids in our class and he loves to go to school everyday. My daughter is at Saint Mary's Hall and I prefer Keystone in all aspects except performing arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

It could be a wonderful school. This school is for those that can afford it, not the academically gifted anymore. It does not address the gifted students needs within the lower school. Once you are in, it is difficult to get out...we have no other options in SA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

The best school I have ever attended at which I am encouraged to learn everything I can. You compete with your fellow classmates for good grades. This would never happen at any ordinary school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2008

Keystone used to be great but the headmaster forced out too many excellent teachers and alienated many devoted alum and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

I am a current student at Keystone and it is an incredible place. It has a true community of students, their families, teachers, and administrators. We get a lot of rigorous work, but our teachers are always there to help us with anything we might need. We also have so much freedom as well as opportunities and encouragement to develop ourselves as individuals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

This is a school for the elite group of people in San Antonio. Three of my children have attended this school from kindergarten through 12th grade and have already graduated and are currently attending Yale, Princeton, and UCLA. I highly recomend this school. I do agree that the school is very harsh and puts alot on your plate at once, but I know that it is all worth it in the end. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

Good place for academically-minded students, but no mechanism to move students ahead in a subject in which they excel. New headmaster can be unpredictable and seems inexperienced in dealing with children. The teachers are very good overall. The children are welcoming to new students. Class size is smaller than at public schools. Math program is behind the accelerated math in public high school as well as at least one other private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

The headmaster hurts this school greatly. It lacks good leadership. The turnover is incredible with administrators, teachers and kids in the lower school. The headmaster does not deal with problems. Instead he targets the teachers, parents and kids for elimination. This once was a nice place, but it is no longer. The lower school does not do a great job teaching highly intelligent children. It's basically just like a good public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

Academically the school is great, but I question its lower elementary program. Since, my child has been at this school each academic year came with a new teacher, different learning strategies for handling the core subjects, specifically, math, and changes in the Head of Lower Elementary. There is no flow of the subject matter from one grade to the next with each teacher focusing on the core subjects in a different manner. Although, my child is striving academically with all the turmoil, I highly recommend you monitor your child s academic progress specifically in math, reading, and writing, and wait until middle school to come here and get the most out of your dollars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

Teachers are excellent with few exceptions. Our children thoroughly enjoyed the kindergarten program and there were many opportunities there for us to be involved and participate. The academics can't be beat and the small number of students makes for a wonderful community. The new administration does not seem to fully support the staff and the school has lost good teachers due to this. Buildings could be better maintained and discipline handled by administration more strictly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

Quite simply...the best school; for the brightest and most driven kids. Parent involvement is uniquely inviting...no pressure;very welcoming. Everyone at Keystone is part of a wonderful community. If you have a child that does not respect education and learning..this is not the place for him/her. Students,faculty along with parents have a great mutual admiration and respect for one another. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

Academically very rigorous, but dedicated teachers assist students who are motivated enough to hang in there and keep trying. We know our children will be well prepared for any academic experience and will have a strong work ethic. We also love the diversity of the student body and the richness it adds to campus life. No school like it in the STATE, and the best education available for dedicated and/or gifted students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Excellent academic programs! Superior teachers and activities available. Small enrollment allows parents to become involved in many aspects of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

Great school. This school is not for the average student. Don't send your child there unless they are very dedicated to homework and learning. Your child will struggle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Excellent curriculim taught at an accelerated pace. Great sense of community between parents, teachers, and administrators. Small class size allows for personal attention to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 22% 4%
Hispanic 16% 51%
Two or more races 11% 2%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Hugh McIntosh
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (210) 734-5508

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

119 East Craig Place
San Antonio, TX 78212
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 735-4022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hawthorne Pk-8 Academy
San Antonio, TX




Austin Academy
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT